We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place to stay at a great rate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Orlando-Nearest to Univ Studios
Ranked #60 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Three adults just back from staying at the Homewood Suite nearest Universal Studios. We had a suite with a pull out bed in the living room. The room was very nice and very clean. Was very comfortable.

Service/staff were very helpful and satisfied our every request. We had a few extra requests (extra night being one of them) and they accomidated without a problem.

Was very convenient to have breakfast served every morning.

The only thing I would warn about is that if you don't have a rental car it may be a little costly getting to all the parks. Shuttle only runs to Universal and only in the morning.

High recommend staying at Homewood Suites.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fly2ofus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,628)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,030 - 1,036 of 1,628 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2012

My family just returned from a 5 night stay at this hotel and can only give it positive marks in every category. With a location in the heart of International drive and just a couple of minutes from Universal Orlando, it couldn't have been more convenient. High marks for the hot breakfast buffet featuring eggs, waffles/pancakes/french toast, bacon/sausage, and a variety of breads and muffins. There was also a complimentary light dinner offered Monday-Thursday, including beer, wine, and non-alcoholic beverages. While we did not sample it, it seemed more than ample enough for a full meal. The pool and hot tub area was very clean and quiet for guests, and there was a basketball/tennis court for anyone to use. Our room featured a full kitchen, living room, and dining room table, and were well-maintained by the staff. We couldn't have asked for a better stay and look forward to returning in the future.

Room Tip: Request a pool-side room for less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank waxmbordz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We just returned from a week long stay at this hotel. We chose this hotel for its proximity to Universal Studios, the free breakfast (every day) and manager's reception (Monday - Thursday), and price. We are a family of 5 with three boys ages 9-11 and usually stay at Homewood Suites or Residence Inns.

The hotel was fine for its price. It is not the best Homewood Suites but given the traffic and the range of clientele the hotel experiences more wear and tear. The breakfast staff, especially Maria, are very hard working and we appeciated their efforts. I was embarrassed for some of the guests who left garbage and plates on their tables instead of cleaning up after themselves.

My only complaints concern maintenance, laundry, business center, and housekeeping in general. It just seemed like someone wasn't monitoring basic amenities or common areas.

(1) Our room was missing a light bulb in the bedroom. This doesn't seem like a big deal but my son almost reached his hand in the socket when trying to turn on the light (he thought maybe there was a switch closer to the bulb). The maintenance guy was friendly but this should have been caught/known before.

(2) The laundry rooms are unkept. It is clear that they are rarely cleaned given the dirt/dust on the machines and in the rooms themselves. The 5th floor facility had garbage bags, garbage, etc. all over so I used the 3rd floor laundry. That had lint and old clothes on the floor. I commented about their condition to the front desk and they said someone would be there to clean them. In the 2 hours that I did laundry no one came to clean.

(3) The phone was pulled off the wall in the business center and one of the printers was out of ink. The light was blinking when I arrived and my guess is that it had been out for a while. We reported it and had to start all over on the computer (boarding passes). No one came to replace the toner while we were there.

(4) The room was clean when we arrived but not really cleaned during our stay (the bathroom floor had a shoe print all week). That didn't bother us too much but housekeeping threw out shampoo, conditioner, and soap every day. This meant we had to ensure that we had all these things before getting into the shower. It just seemed like a waste and I've never had a hotel do this every day.

The room itself has the bathroom off of the bedroom. While the sink is outside of the toilet/shower, there are no doors or curtains separating the sink area from the bedroom. That was a little tough. The bathroom also does not have a fan. Depending on your family, this means all your clothes changing, etc. is done in a hot, steamy bathroom.

In all, you can't beat the price and location. We walked to Universal (10-15 minutes) and also took the shuttle (usually back to the hotel -- its the first stop back). Its a quick drive to restaurants, the mall, etc.

If we didn't stay here again it would be because of the room configuration and the lack of attention to areas like the laundry room.



  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank farmview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBeears, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Orlando-Nearest to Univ Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2012

The purpose of this is to convey to you my sincere apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay. I have directed our Engineering and Housekeeping department to keep their eyes open for issues like the one you had mentioned and to make the necessary changes to ensure proper functionality.

what happened during your stay is not typical of Homewood Suites.

We continue to be committed to providing you and all of our customers with the highest standards of service in the industry.

Sincerely,
Rafael Del Rio.
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

My family and I stayed here in late February while we went to Universal Orlando. The hotel was beautiful and well kept and the staff was great and always friendly. We ate breakfast there each morning and then attended the "welcome home" dinner at night. The food was always good and plentiful. The staff was attentive and helpful.

I loved that there was a full kitchen and we were able to prepare snacks and a lunch to take with us to Universal the next day. I'm sure we saved quite a bit by doing this. It's nice to have a separate master suite too. We put the kids on the pull out couch and took the master suite. There were two TVs so I was happy not to have to watch cartoon network the entire time. Oh, and the quality of the TVs were amazing. Crystal clear picture on about a 42" flatscreen. Nicest quality TVs I have ever seen in a hotel room.

I just can't say enough good things about this hotel. The location is great for proximity to Universal Orlando. We have stayed at the Homewood Suites before (in San Diego) and we will surely stay at Homewood again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool and away from the busy freeway. We asked for this and they were happ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cyberbabe76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBeears, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Orlando-Nearest to Univ Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your very valued opinion with everyone, we are glad that we were able to served you and make your stay more enjoyable.
Rafael Del Rio
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We liked how this property wasn't right in the middle of everything, but near things we were interested in. We rented a car from Dollar at the airport because we wanted to use this hotel as a homebase. There's just too many things we wanted to see/do while in Orlando...Space Center, Cocoa Beach, the parks, celebrate a child's birthday at Golden Corral, etc.
If you don't rent a car, they have shuttle service to Universal ( they dropoff a few times in the am and pickup a few times in the eve.) and U could walk if U wanted. There is a 24 hour Walgreens a couple blocks away as well as other restaraunts and stores.
The staff was professional, friendly and helpful...they gave me good advice on where to gas up the car, travel tips and times as well as local places to eat and shop. Our family of 4 had the daily "free" breakfast and got a plate of whatever they served for the evening meal (M-Th). We bought some of the kid's favorites (mac n cheese, chicken nuggets, treats, soda, juice, etc.) and stored them in the ref. in the kitchen area (it was also nice having a little stove and microwave).
We used the fitness center and pool areas daily and found the other visitors to be respectful and friendly. We'll be going back next year :)

Room Tip: We had room 118 on the lower floor looking out on the parking lot. Room had two double beds and a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank family4Moriah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBeears, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Orlando-Nearest to Univ Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Dear family4Moriah:

Thank you so much for your glowing review of our hotel. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and look forward to seeing you again on your next trip. I have shared your comments with my team regarding their friendly demeanor and helpfulness. Feedback such as yours really helps to keep morale high. Also, thank you for your helpful information about the area as this helps our future guests to plan their stay.

Again, thank you for your positive feedback. We'll see you next time!

Sincerely,
Keith Beears
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

This is our second stay at Homewood Suites (nearest to Universal). We enjoyed it so much last year we brought our friends with us this time. As we were booking in the Manager approached us, said he could remember us from last year and welcomed us back! I cannot fault this hotel at all. The staff are always very friendly, approachable and happy to help. The breakfast menu changes slightly daily so you have a variety. The evening meals are lovely and the free evening beers/red wine/ white wine are always great after a day out (Mon-Thurs). The rooms are cleaned well daily. The location is great - walking distance to Universal Studios, International Drive, Denny's, 7/11, Walmart, etc. The free shuttle bus is fab. The pool is always quiet and the area always clean. Free tea, coffee, hot chocolate etc. 24 hours a day. Free internet and use of computers. I would recommend this hotel completely and cannot wait to stay there again! Sending a HUGE thank you to all the staff @ Homewood Suites + Kimi who was so helpful when it came to choosing our park tickets. See you all soon! xxx

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank LadySouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBeears, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Orlando-Nearest to Univ Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Dear KristynWales:

Wow! Thank you so much for your glowing review of our hotel and team. Feedback such as yours is what makes our jobs rewarding, and everybody was so happy to hear your comments. A copy has also been forwarded to Universal to be included in Kimi's file, she was absolutely thrilled. We certainly look forward to seeing you again on your next visit. Thanks again!


Sincerely,

Keith Beears
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Was encouraged to come here because we know Orlando and this is a perfect base, good for I-drive, good for getting out of town East and West. Big rooms, really clean, loads of towels, staff for whom nothing is too much trouble. Rooms are nice and quiet too. Don't hesitate, I have recommended to friends and family already!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank glastywyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Hilton Garden Inn Orlando International Drive North
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Florida Center
Homewood Suites Orlando-International Drive/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
The Point Hotel & Suites
#20 of 340 in Orlando
4,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Orlando-Nearest to Univ Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Orlando-Nearest to Univ Studios

Address: 5893 American Way, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#38 Business Hotel in Orlando
#55 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $172 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Orlando-Nearest to Univ Studios 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Orlando-Nearest to Univ Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest To Universal Studios Hotel Orlando
Orlando Universal
Suites Orlando
Homewood Orlando
Homewood Universal Suites
Orlando Homewood Suites
Homewood Suites By Hilton Orlando-Nearest To Univ Studios Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing