We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great upscale hotel with a small disapointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes
Ranked #70 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great upscale hotel with a small disapointment”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Stayed here in February of 2012 on points for one night, paid a pretty penny on points (30,000 + 20,000 to upgrade to a suite)

When we arrived at 1pm they said they had upgraded us to the presidential suite for being a gold Marriott member, but that our room wasn't ready. They asked us to go enjoy the resort and that they would call me phone when the room was ready. At around 3pm we received a call asking if we would like to get an original booked suite or wait for 30 minutes for them to finish the cleaning of the presidential suite. We chose to wait, who wouldn't?

By 4:30 pm my wife and I were starting to get agitated as our kids had not napped yet and I wanted to shower and eat something. So we went to the front desk to complain. The room was still not ready. They apologized and after much complaining they sent us to the restaurant with a 75.00$ credit for us to eat and relax. During dinner they told us our room was ready and that after dinner someone from the front desk was going to escort us to our room. After dinner they greeted our kids with some free stuffed animals and rather large cookies for the kids to enjoy and brought us up to the suite on the 21st floor. They offered to extend out check in until 6pm the next day so we could at least enjoy ourselves before our flights out of Orlando.

Valet Parking was 25.00$ a day as adverstised before hand and did not receive any free breakfast as part of Marriott's frequent guest programs. (resorts are excluded in the terms and conditions and this is a resort)

Hotel was great, except for out little incident with check in. Grounds were well kept, lazy river/pool was fantastic. Staff all looked happy to be there overall was a great hotel, wished we stayed longer than 1 night.

My first time staying at the upscape JW and will definately be staying again at others.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Klove007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,864
    872
    272
    108
    71
See reviews for
1,157
516
76
999
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (769)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grayslake, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

I spent 5 nights and 6 days at the JW Marriott Grande Lakes near Orlando. The property was very nice and met the standard that I expected for such a property. We had a large group attending a sales/training meeting with many diverse requirements that the hotel met well. In terms of specifics, I found the staff to be very helpful and pleasant. My room was very spacious, quiet, the airconditioning/heating system worked well, the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was in great shape and the shower worked great. The maid service was excellent and never intrusive, e.g. nobody was trying to clean my room at 7:00 AM. In fact, when I asked for an extra chocolate from the turn down service, I was offered an additional 1/2 dozen. The work out facility was available at no extra charge and was fantastic. Many machines of different types, free weights and an exercise studio where they had high end spin bikes available for use. I didn't really have time to use the pool, but the pool area looked very nice. Finally, the hotel bar area was a great gathering place with attentive service from the numerous bartenders and waitresses. You can imagine the amount of use it got from our sales team each night!
The only negative I can cite is related to the mediocre quality of the food at the group dinners and buffets. That being said, the meals that I had in the hotel restaraunts while not spectacular, were very good quality and featured excellent service.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gad38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dortmund, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

I stayed at the JW M. for a week during our business meetings in Orlando.

The hotel offers a wide range of activities including a great pool area. The pools are not very deep (3 to 4 ft) which is nice for kids but for someone who want to have some swimming exercise it is not sufficient.

The huge conference area clearly shows the focus of this hotel and I'd expect times that the majority of the guests are attending a conference - for good and bad.

The hotel rooms are well equipped and as mentioned in the headline, it is a JW M. and meets the expectations you have.

The hotel itself is huge as well (and the Ritz-C. is right next as well) but it does not feel to be crowded (except the bar area here and there).

There are a lot of rooms with a small balcony but non does offer chairs or table to sit outside. Be aware that some rooms just offer windows to open rather than sliding doors, which is much nicer at certain weather conditions to have the room opened.

All in all there is nothing wrong to book the hotel, good service, great outside and public area and good rooms.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tokoeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millis, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

The grounds of this hotel are amazing to walk or sit in but the rooms are just good ole Marriott rooms. Nothing special in the rooms but area in and around the hotel are pretty amazing.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ItalyFirstTimer10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

This property is very luxurious. Stayed here for one night and it was awesome.

I'll start with the pool area. Simply amazing. Lazy river, was pretty cool and the whole outdoor area makes this hotel. Wait staff is very courteous and nice and always willing to help. Will even bring drinks to you while you're in the pool. The outside bar / restaurant has very good food. Definitely a great way to spend an afternoon.

The rooms are very nice as well and comfortable. Bathrooms were awesome.

The gym is located a good walk away in another building.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coloradical13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I don't even know where to start. This is hands down the best Marriott property I've ever laid eyes on. Enter the lobby with marble galore and griffins representing the JW Brand. I've stayed at a lot of really great places, but this was jaw dropping. I had to double take and say..."this is a Marriott?" Note, this property is shared by the Ritz Carlton Hotel & Golf Club...so you'd expect it to be luxurious.

The location of the hotel is very good. For my trips to Disney, I really prefer to be as close to the parks as possible. The property is about 10 minutes away from the gates, however it's worth every second of travel time. We used valet, they were nice and very quick. There is self parking somewhere, but I really didn't feel like tromping who knows how far back and forth. It's a nice hotel...treat yourself to some valet parking.

As mentioned before - WOW...this place is downright amazing. Our room was great. Very good sized, nice accommodations, bedding was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was large and quite opulent. We had a pool view room with a real treat. If you are in a pool view, you also overlook the Ritz Carlton Members Only Golf Club.

#1 FAVORITE at this hotel....THE POOL. Holy Cow! You've got at least 4 or 5 pools all of which are connected by a lazy river. I'm bald headed, so the following comment is really important to me....the river is almost completely covered in "jungle canopy". Very well shaded and the river actually moves at a good clip. Hop on your tubes and enjoy the ride. During peak seasons, like when we visited, they serve drinks to people in the river from the side. Some of the pools are for sports, one for babies, one quite and etc.

Additionally, the group activities for kids was OUTSTANDING! We had a smore campfire, coloring activities poolside, lemonaides and frozen juices during the hot of the day. They did a bang up job and you didn't have to pay for every kids activity...some that included you walking away with a physical object like a painted coconut or something.

We were there for Memorial Day and had no clue they did a special celebration in conjunction with the Ritz. WOW!! A fireworks display that was a least 15-20 minutes long and presented by the hotels for our private viewing. The entire weekend of this holiday was just remarkable.

NOTE: We have already booked this hotel for Memorial Day 2012. Hands down this will be our family tradition for Memorial day.

Room Tip: High Level - Pool View - Concierge Level if Possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jeff_Cantrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWM_Orlando, Manager at JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Thank you very much for the detailed review of the JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes! We're excited to know you've already booked your stay over Memorial Day Weekend this year. Our associates are looking forward to your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

What a beautiful Site! I was there to speak at a conference last month and not only was the hotel beautifully decorated for Christmas, the staff was friendly and very professional! Every question I asked was answered and assistance freely given to make my stay a very pleasant one! Would love to go back!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank livlovlaf8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.4 km away
The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes
11.6 km away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#25 of 339 in Orlando
4,336 reviews
3.7 km away
Hilton Orlando
Hilton Orlando
#54 of 339 in Orlando
5,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Marriott's Grande Vista
Marriott's Grande Vista
#60 of 339 in Orlando
4,035 reviews
11.5 km away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
9.7 km away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 339 in Orlando
1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes

Property: JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes
Address: 4040 Central Florida Parkway, Orlando, FL 32837-7662 (Formerly JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes)
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#16 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#17 Green Hotel in Orlando
#20 Business Hotel in Orlando
#27 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#32 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes 4*
Number of rooms: 1000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a truly memorable luxury hotel experience at the JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes. We welcome you to our resort in a superb location just moments from Orlando's best-loved attractions. Each of our nearly 1,000 hotel rooms and suites feature elegant decor and luxury amenities, including marble bathrooms and 24-hour room service. Onsite dining options, including fine Italian cuisine at Primo and fresh sushi at the Sushi Bar, are sure to please every palate. Pamper yourself at the onsite Ritz-Carlton spa, or tee off from our Greg Norman-designed golf course. Children will enjoy our Lazy River outdoor pool, as well as a host of special programs created just for them. Though you might be excused for not wanting to leave the resort, you should certainly take advantage of our prime location near Orlando's legendary theme parks. We offer shuttle service to SeaWorld, Walt Disney World, and Universal Orlando Resort - making it easy for your family to enjoy the best of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes Hotel Orlando
Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes
Orlando Marriott
JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing