We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“$$ Good Experience $$”

Gilson's Brazillian Restaurant
Ranked #352 of 4,160 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$29
Cuisines: Brazilian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: At Gilson's Restaurant the food is served on self-service buffet style with the brazilian's special spice. Serving you in english or portuguese to give the
Reviewed February 15, 2016 via mobile

We were unfamiliar with Brazilian food, so welcomed the opportunity to try multiple things via a buffet. 2 small pieces of steak and a cheese empanada were given to each of us in addition to the buffet offerings. I don't eat beef, but they let my husband have both orders of steak with no issues.

There wasn't a lot of variety, yet everything we tried was very good and we left full, which is good because this is not an inexpensive place, and you don't see the price until you're ready to pay (The lunch buffet was $19 per person, so I imagine dinner is more). There are a couple vegetable dishes, a small salad bar, a few nice pre made salads (tuna and pasta, potato and a couple of grain-based salads), fruit, fried fish, ribs, a beef stroganoff-style dish, yucca, plantains, rice, mini chicken quiches and a couple types of beans. You can purchase pricey desserts for extra or you can have fruit or a selection of 3 different small dessert cups as part of the buffet.

The food was all very good and the service was good. Because of the price though, we probably won't go back.

Thank BeagleHQ2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
upnarede, Proprietário at Gilson's Brazillian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2016

Hello Beagle, thank you for your visit to our restaurant. We hope to return in new opportunities, despite having found the price a little high.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (875)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

134 - 138 of 875 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2016

I've eaten here twice and can't wait to return. There are plenty of choices in both hot and cold items. I thoroughly enjoyed the steak and found the amount and size of the steak to be just right.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank reid41999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
upnarede, Proprietário at Gilson's Brazillian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2016

We are pleased that our goal has been achieved: to satisfy you with our savory cuisine, inspiring atmosphere and quality service. Is always welcome in our home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 10, 2016

I'm usually don't eat beef but I tried the steak here and it was incredibly delicious. I was also impressed with the salads. The dessert selection included in the price was sparse (fancier desserts cost extra).

Thank EMVBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
upnarede, Proprietário at Gilson's Brazillian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2016

Thank you for your evaluation and visit, Elaine. We hope that in future visits to Orlando, you come again in our restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 4, 2016

Ate here for dinner after a long day in the parks. Staff very accommodating to families, particularly with small children. Essentially a salad buffet with large servings of brazilian style steak.

Plenty of food with good selection and quality of dishes.

Quite expensive for what it is - we paid $100 for 3 people with minimal drinks and no appetizer or sweets.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank myoc2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
upnarede, Proprietário at Gilson's Brazillian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2016

Hello Myoc. Thank you for your visit! Check back often!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 29, 2016

Gilson's is a stylish buffet restaurant that is reasonably priced, across from the Premium Outlet Mall. If you are looking for a relaxing, but upscale contemporary environment with a nice variety of Brazilian dishes, you will not be disappointed. In addition to the buffet, each diner is offered steak, cooked to order, and it is included in the price. I couldn't help thinking that with the large, tasty, varied offerings at Gilson's, why would anyone want to eat next door at Outback and have the same food you can eat anywhere in the US? The wait staff is also stylishly attired and very professional. Of note, this is not the type of Brazilian restaurant that is very expensive and offers a variety of meats carved at your table. Still, for the price, this restaurant offers a great variety of buffet dishes including salads, steak, fish, pork ribs, pasta, plantains, empanadas, rice and beans, and so much more. The one slightly disappointing aspect for me was the desserts. They were a selection of what I would call puddings, including passion fruit, caramel, dulce de leche and rice pudding. The passion fruit was quite tart and the caramel seemed too thick. I would have preferred something different such as flan. Everything else was so satisfying, though, that I was not really put off by the dessert. Of note is that there is plenty of parking, and for tourists and locals, the lovely outdoor Premium Outlet Mall is only a very short distance down the road.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 381ddh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
upnarede, Proprietário at Gilson's Brazillian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2016

Hello, thank you for your visit to our restaurant. We hope to return in new opportunities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gilson's Brazillian Restaurant also viewed

 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Gilson's Brazillian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing