We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful "island retreat" after a long day in the parks.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
Ranked #152 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This was our very first time visiting WDW and staying at a WDW resort. The Caribbean Beach Resort was more than I expected. It really felt like an island getaway and it was a nice break from the parks.Our room was located in Jamaica, the yellow section of the property. It's approximately a 5-7 minute-outdoor walk from the food court area. To get to the food court, you will need to cross over an outdoor bridge. We were pleasantly surprised to reach the middle of the bridge and hear caribbean music. This really added to the Caribbean feeling and the nippy air sure added to the Disney magic at Christmas. There was a variety of meals to choose from at the food court. The beverage center was also a joyful experience for my boys. You will also find a Disney store near the food court. I was relieved to find that the Disney store sold luggage as I had purchased too many items in the park. So the $200+ large luggage came as a necessity and a memory & vacation saver the night before our departure. The colors of the room interior and exterior also added Caribbean flavor to our experience. The rooms were comfortable and clean. No complaints about the room at all. The bright bedding was a perfect fit to the island feeling. It had everything we needed after a long day. Cute Mickey toiletries were also provided. The closest laundry room was located at the nearest pool and a small walk away. If you will be utilizing the WDW bus service, Jamaica is perfect. We were the first island to be picked up (seats always available) and the first to be dropped off when returning from the parks (wonderful with tired kids). Disney does list this resort as a Moderate resort and to expect an extravagant resort with luxury fixings would be foolish. Overall, if you're looking for a tranquil island getaway with a HIGHCLASS "motel" vibe without the boring hotel hallways and with a splash of Disney magic with vibrant colors, the Disney Caribbean Beach Resort is the perfect place to call home while in the World.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ItineraryJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,495)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,660 - 4,666 of 7,495 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2012

One big plus for this resort was the size of the room - it was the biggest room we have ever had at Disney, however they are slightly outdated and show their age. It was quiet even though there was a LARGE group of cheerleaders there - my teenege son though that was great and they loved his Aussie accent and kept chatting him up lol.

The grounds were nice and clean and the transport was easy to use and relatively quick.

The down size was the food court, we weren't all that fussed with the variety or quality of the food, but Americans might like it as it seemd to be normal fair for everywhere we went in the USA. Everything is fried and greasy, almost nothing healthy to be seen anywhere.

Room Tip: We stayed in in Martinique area and it was fantastic - it was within easy walking distance to Old Po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smurfette64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

This was an amazing vacation! My husband and I along with our 11 and 8 year old son and daughter had an absolute blast at this resort. I was a little concerned reading some of the reviews before we came but all it did was add stress that was completely unnecessary. I don't have one bad thing to say. We checked in online and had no problem at all. We didn't have a balance so check out was basically just leaving our room. The room was average size but Disney always has a great way of making the most out the space they give you. We stayed in Martinique which was not far from Old Port Royale. The beds/pillows were comfortable. The sink area had storage space underneath where we kept all of our toiletries so they were out of the way and not on the counter. I did bring a soap dish due to one of the tips I read and that was handy. I brought a bunch of breakfast foods and snacks (4 grocery bags) and was able to fit them all on one of the shelves above the clothes rack. The other shelf we used for our "beverage buffet" . We bought a 1/2 gallon of milk and kept it in the fridge with no problem. There were hooks on the shelf as well so that was great for towels and hats to keep them out of the way. The shower has a clothes line that pulls in and out of the wall which was great for wet swimsuits. The bench in the room had storage space under the seat so we put all of our dirty clothes for the week in there. We also brought a cooler and stocked it with beer, pop and water. My kids like the Crystal Light packs so I brought those too. This saved a ton of money. We used the plastic dry cleaning bag from the room to get ice everyday. There are ice machines on both levels at each village. We opted out of the refillable mug because that seemed pretty inconvienent. The mug was pretty small too. We brought our own big mugs from home and made our own drinks :-) We also had a collapsable cooler to bring to the pool and a beach bag with snacks. If you fly then obviously won't be able to pack as much but we drove and had the space. We did spluge on a couple of Tiki Bar drinks at $9.50 each but it's vacation so who cares. Cheers to not being at work :-)

If you want to have a quiet, relaxing time at the pool then don't go to the main one, stay at your village. We did both and had a great time at each one. Our kids loved the slides, games, movies at night and my daughter also got a wrap put in her hair. They do have an arcade but it doesn't take quarters, you have to buy a game card. One night from 9-10pm they did have some games for free, not sure if this is common but my son loved it.

We took morning walks and enjoyed the beautiful grounds. We drove down from Michigan so we had a vehicle but we did utilize the bus to Hollywood Studios, Epcot and Typhoon Lagoon and didn't have any problems. This resort is definitely not for people who don't like to walk much or can't walk very well. We rented a 4 person Surrey bike which we thought would be a nice leisurely ride but the bike is very heavy and there are a few hill around the resort so in 90 degree weather it was a challenge. Still a neat experience. It was $22 + tax for a half hour which will get you twice around the lake. We did not rent any boats. Your vacation is what you make it and ours was fabulous. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Don't believe the negative reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Shawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Stayed 8 days in March at the resort. Had pirate-themed rooms for 5 and 7 y.o. boys. They loved the room! These rooms are the farthest from the main building. I drove over to the food court a couple of mornings to get a good cup of coffee. It was just too far to walk, but not really a big deal to us. The pool area is really good. A couple of water slides and a separate kiddie pool were perfect for the boys.
Housekeeping was just ok. It took a couple of days to fulfill our request of a top sheet over the blanket on the beds. Also, there was evidence that the sink area was not wiped down very well prior to our arrival.
This resort is not one of the newer resorts in the Disney collection. However, I have read/heard that they are doing some remodeling. We would stay there again, but we will definitely try other resorts first. This was our 3rd trip to Disney, and this was our 3rd different resort.

Room Tip: Select a preferred room to be located closer to main building; however the pirate rooms are awesome...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank southMSfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We have stayed at this resort twice - once in 2009 in a Finding Nemo room, and most recently in fall of 2011 in a Pirate-themed room. If your family is a Pirates of the Caribbean fan - the pirate room is excellent! The decor is very "piratey" but also understated so it's not an eyesore for discriminating adults. It's very helpful to have the mini fridge (cleverly disguised in a barrel in the pirate room). Our rooms both times contained two double beds. Our room in 2009 was on a corner on the second floor and seemed a little bigger with extra windows. Our room in 2011 was on the second floor but not on a corner. We never had any problems with housekeeping. The resort is a lot of fun and the main pool is excellent for kids with preschooler-friendly slides. The kids loved walking around the lake and seeing the wildlife (bunnies, ducks, etc.). One night the staff was roasting marshmallows on the beach and we all had some! The food court and sit down restaurant are good, but nothing special. We rented a car so we can't comment on the bus system. One nice employee chatted with my children for several minutes and let them each pick out a Disney pin! We actually enjoyed walking around the resort as the lake and beaches are very relaxing and the landscaping is beautiful. I also liked the secluded feeling - though the resort is huge, it never feels packed (except at the food court). However, I can see how people with limited mobility would not like the long walks - the resort is very spread out. Check in and check out went smoothly and we used the concierge to book dinner reservations and they were friendly and helpful. Overall, we were very pleased both times we stayed, but if you have limited mobility, you may want to choose a more consolidated resort.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room on the second floor for more windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LaurainPCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We traveled with our 9 year old son. The property grounds were lovely & very relaxing. Great theme, wonderful service, lots pf things to do at the reosrt. The food was fine, not great. Tried the restaurant Shutters, food & service was pretty good. Able to get a reservation. The rooms are average & the channel choices limited. But as you are staying at Disney staying onsite this is a huge plus. Transportation to any park at whatever time was never an issue. Housekeeping did a great job. The pool area was fantastic. Recommend this property. Really felt totally in a different world. A little pricey which is a shame since the prices have really gone up& up. But free wi-fi, no resort fee, free parking which are nice. Also loved the charging to the room all over the parks. Very easy to keep track.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pandora174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I have been to Disney 18 times and stayed here 16 of those times. This place has the amazing theme of flordia. The rooms are all standard to Disney. The pool is super super fun and kids love it. Great place to relax after leaving the parks.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gingerriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort

Address: 900 Cayman Way, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8411
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#112 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#129 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $214 - $441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical paradise built around 45-acre Barefoot Bay, this Resort hotel brings the Islands to you with swaying palm trees, white-sand beaches and colonial architecture. Six villages-Trinidad North, Trinidad South, Martinique, Barbados, Aruba and Jamaica-host colorful Guest rooms, some pirate-themed! "Island-hop" as you explore 200 lushly landscaped acres, or simply enjoy lazy days soaking up the sun in a hammock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disneys Caribbean Beach Hotel
Disneys Caribbean Beach Resort
Caribbean Beach Resort Florida
Disney Carribean Resort
Disney World Caribbean Beach Resort
Disney Carribean Beach
Disney Caribbean Beach Hotel
Disney Caribbean Resort
Caribbean Beach Resort Disney
Caribbean Beach Resort Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing