We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Descent Place, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel
Ranked #113 of 342 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I stayed at this hotel during Allstar weekend Feb 24th - Feb 26th 2012, and I enjoyed my stay even thought I was barely in my room as I was out shopping, hanging out, and partying.



This is no fancy luxury 5 star hotel, but it is also not a dirty roach motel either. The hallways were a little worn down looking, but my room was clean. The room was a little on the small side but it was clean had a nice flat screen TV with basic cable, a mini fridge & freezer, a iron, and a comfy bed. I did not like that fact that they do not provide complementary breakfast. The hotel is in a great location right across the street from Wet and Wild, Universal Studios, and City Walk. The Outlets, Florida Mall, and Millelia Mall is only about 5 miles away. There are also a bunch of restaurants, fast foods places, gas stations, and 2 WalMarts by the hotel, so I did not have to travel far at all during my stay at the hotel. Even thought I did not use none of the hotel's accommodations, it does have a tennis court, pool, bar & restaurant.
If you are a upscale, fancy boojie person then you probally won't like this hotel, but if you are just looking for a inexpensive descent clean room then this is the place for you. I definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeMarcus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatBWOrlandoGateway, General Manager at Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

I want to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. Your comments are certainly appreciated and I will pass them on to our staff. You are right, we are not a 5 star property but we do pride ourselves in providing, clean, comfortable and affordable accommodations right in the heart of all that Central Florida has to offer.

Again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Sincerely,

Bill Jones, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,848)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,510 - 1,516 of 2,848 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

Within walking distance to parks, however, we drove. Room was very clean housekeeping was great you only knew they were in your room because the bed was made and you had clean linens. Buffet was average (nothing but carbs could have used a bit more fresh fruit).
There were 2 restaurants and a Walgreens located in the same parking lot, everything was within a few steps. Front desk was very friendly when cheking in and out. We will be staying again soon!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatBWOrlandoGateway, General Manager at Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Thank you for your commetns, I will ceratinly pass them on to our staff!

I am gald that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Bill Jones, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

i was very surprised at how nice the hotel was because when i checked in the lobby was very noisey so thought i wouldn't enjoy my room i couldn't hear anything in the room on the tv it tells you beware of pizza places that delievers to your room that's because they sell pizza there a no soda vending machines you have to go to there store, so expect to pay $3 dallors a bottle and if they are closed oh well. go to the walgreen's around the corner. i liked the room but when you come out it's another world the staff was very friendly i will stay there again the rooms has microwaves and fridges.

Room Tip: ask for first floor trust me
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daddyrich45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatBWOrlandoGateway, General Manager at Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your room and that you will stay with us on your next trip to Orlando.

Just to let you know, we do have vending machines on each floor they are centrally located next to the "14" rooms on each floor. The price for a 20 oz soda is $2.50 which is that same as you would pay in Shades Deli which is located in the lobby.

Again, thanks for your comments and we hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Bill Jones, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We had stayed here a few years ago when it was The Clarion and it was awful, the only thing which has changed is the name. The lobby is bright and clean but when you get onto the corridors it is dark and shabby and really needs re-painting and new carpet. The room was pretty basic but the bathroom had gaps in the floor tiling which meant it was constantly dirty. There was never any hot water for the shower, and when I told them at the front desk I was told I was showering 'at the wrong time of the day' (I did try at 4am but still no hot water and despite comp). The TV had been messed with and so 3 channels were the same, not that there was much choice anyway. The hotel was noisy, there was someone in the basketball court at 10.30pm constantly banging with a ball every night we were there (14 nights) and despite complaining to the front desk nothing was done about it. I also complained twice about a nasty sticky black patch on the carpet near the bed and nothing was done about that. Will not stay here again

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatBWOrlandoGateway, General Manager at Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

I want to apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our bathroom tile project that has been started will alleviate the issue you had with your bathroom. I will be honest and say that we ceratinly had an issue with hot water last month and we have replaced two boilers and added circuit setter valves on each floor which controls the returning flow of the hotel water and the problem seems to have been rectified.

I appreciate that fact that you have stayed with us previously and I certainly hope that you will give us the opportunity of regaining your trust in our product in the future.

Sincerely,

Bill Jones, CHA
Genral Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I booked a room here while my family and I were going to Disney. I chose the best western plus as opposed to the standard best western a couple of milesmdown the road, thinking to get a better hotel. At first look, it is a nice hotel. The lobby is nice. We had a room on the top floor. Elevator is super quick. Pleasantly suprised by that. After first stepping off of the elevator though, you immediately notice the difference in the quality of the appearance. Hallways are not nearly as nice as the lobby area. Like a different hotel. got into our room and was happy to see we had been switched to a double room instead of the king that we had to book due to limited availability. That was much appreciated. However, it only went downhill from there. On the way there, one of my kids started getting the stomach flu. first thing apon getting in the room, my husband said something was wrong with the toilet. I checked and it seemed to just drain slow. but fter taking a shower and the drain in there not draining, the toilet started not drain at all when flushed also. The next day, I called and let the front desk know I was having major problems with the bathroom. They were very rushed on the phone and said they would call back. I waited 20 min and called back. When they answered, they started with the standard greeting and then stopped when noticing my room obviously and just said, oh has anyone been there yet? I said no could I please just get a plunger. Ok, someone will be up. Another 30 min, nothing. I call back. Finally get a plunger sent. It does nothing for the water flow. Promise, we are not filling toilet with tons of paper either! Ok, so I call back and say it's not helping, is it possible to move. Told they would call back when rooms were clean. This was at 5pm. 30 min...no calls. I call again. Finally I have to leave for dinner and go by the desk and say just forget it. We will keep the plunger and they can deal with whatever happens. Throughout the whole thing, everyone was just so rude and rushed like they had much better things to do. For the price of the room, I was not happy with a $10 breakfast. You can go to golden corrall up the road for that price and get 10 times the food. My dad stayed at the best western on i drive and for half the price, they had a great breakfast. The beds in the room were very small. Most hotels now have 2 queens and these were doubles I believe. Not enough room for my husband and I. I have serious back problems and need a lot of pillows and that was not possible in these beds. The bar was nice and the karaoke guy was very cool. I received a bogo free drink coupon for my diamond status and that was appreciated. But overall, I was very disappointed in this hotel and would rather stay on I drive next time. As a diamond member, I obviously stay a lot and this should not necessarily be a plus hotel. As a standard best western, it would be expected. Still not the breakfast though. That's just ridiculous. $6 would get you coffee and a piece of bread and that's it. Insane there. I wasn't there for just a hotel, so it served it's purpose anyway. Didn't notice any mold problems and the rest of the room was fine. Clean and had a good view.

Stayed: March 2012
4  Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatBWOrlandoGateway, General Manager at Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. As a Diamond Best Western Member I ceratinly appreciate that you stay with our chain on a regular basis. I do want to apologize for the inconveniences you had with the plumbing. There can be no excuse as to why we did not fix your problem when it occurred and that you had to make more than one call to the desk. I will be passing this information on to our management staff so that we can get whatever issue we seemed to be having regarding communication fixed.

I do appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness of the room and that you enjoyed the view. Again, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and I certainly hope that we do get to see you in the future.

Sincerely,

Bill Jones, CHA
General Manager

i cer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Within walking distance of both parks, free shuttles (not a lot, but free), clean room, breakfast buffet for 10$, I must say it was a pretty good deal. Got 4 nights for 50$ each through Hotwire and was not disappointed. There's a Walgreen nearby where you can get ANYTHING you need, and also a IHOP and a Red Lobster. After an evening at CityWalk, it will cost you around 6 $ to get to the hotel with a taxi cab.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Khalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Please consider the reviews about mold if you have allergies. Our room has mold. It was from a leaky valve beneath the sink. Apparently the leak has been fixed, but the mold is still there. If management cared to, they could simply wipe the area with a piece of cotton soaked in bleak every day for a week. To keep it away, they could mix bleack and water, put it in a spray bottle, and spray the affected area every day.

Watch your step when you enter the room. Local pizza places will slide their flyers bebeath the door, and if you are not careful, you will slip on them. I managed to not fall.

The free shuttle is awesome. The eleven dollar breakfast is adequate.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatBWOrlandoGateway, General Manager at Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I have sent you a message asking for information regarding the room you stayed in so that we can get the mold issue in your room taken care of. I have allergies as well and definatley want to get that problem cured.

Thank you so much for your feedback, we do take what our guests say about us seriously and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Bill Jones, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.6 km away
Rosen Inn
Rosen Inn
#105 of 342 in Orlando
3,036 reviews
1.4 km away
Best Western International Drive - Orlando
1.1 km away
Rosen Inn International
Rosen Inn International
#117 of 342 in Orlando
6,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Floridian Hotel and Suites
2.2 km away
Avanti International Resort
1.7 km away
Quality Inn at International Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel

Address: 7299 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-8353
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
#122 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $98 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this stylish Orlando, Florida hotel situated close to SeaWorld(R), Universal Studios(R) and the Disney(R) Theme Parks. Welcome to the Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, the "Gateway to Orlando Attractions" in Central Florida. This full-service hotel offers the best in customer service for both business and leisure travelers. Guests will be minutes from Universal Studios, the Islands of Adventure theme park and the Hard Rock Amphitheatre where visitors can enjoy local concerts. Each well-appointed guest room and suite at this Orlando hotel features cable satellite television with HBO(R) and free high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests will find great dining onsite at the hotel's restaurant or cocktail lounge. The hotel is also ideal for group travel with full-business services and meeting facilities, perfect for conferences, family reunions and other events. The Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel also features a fitness center, guest laundry and tennis and basketball courts. Guests staying at the Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel will be less than ten miles from local attractions such as the Walt Disney World Resort and Theme Parks, SeaWorld, Discovery Cove and Disney's the Wide World of Sports. Corporate travelers staying at this Florida hotel will be close to the Orlando/Orange County Convention Center, Coleman Aerospace, L-3 Communications and Lockheed Martine Missiles and Fore Control. Hotel guests will also enjoy sky diving at the indoor Sky Venture, less than one mile away.The Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel is proud to offer superior customer service and a convenient location in Orlando. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Best Western, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel Florida
Clarion Orlando
Clarion Hotel Universal
Orlando Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing