We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clinicians are great, but facility facelift is way behind schedule”

Mandara Spa at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel
Ranked #26 of 77 Spas & Wellness in Orlando
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover Mandara Spa at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando®, a 13,000 square foot sanctuary located by the Piazza Ponte between the Beach and Villa pool. Rooted in the Balinese tradition for the healing arts and combining this rich knowledge and spirit of generosity with European techniques, Mandara’s spa therapies offer each guest luxuriously-healing experiences: signature massages, award-winning facials, indulgent body treatments, the latest in hair, nail care, and waxing. Retreat in a haven that harbors 14 treatment rooms, co-ed lounge, co-ed hydropool, separate men's and women's sauna and steam rooms, a full-service salon, and Fitness Center. Let us send you to a place where calm and serenity exist every moment.
Reviewed February 21, 2017

My spouse & I were both impressed by our massage therapists. Like many other reviewers, we were disappointed that the spa facilities were under renovation and I had to go back out to the front desk to find things since there were no locker room attendants around, but I look forward to trying out the facilities once the reno is finished.

Ultimately, we were there for the massage and we were more than satisfied by our therapists.

1  Thank cdngolfergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina S, Marketing Director at Mandara Spa at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2017

Thank you for visiting us and the great review.

At Mandara, we strive to help immerse yourself in a Mandara moment and escape to a temple of relaxation. We do apologize for the inconvenience our renovation may have caused. However, we are so excited for you to visit us once the newly renovated spa is open.

Namaste
Mandara Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

20 - 24 of 83 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2017 via mobile

We had excellent massages here, but I would echo recent reviews about the lack of any additional spa amenities currently or spa ambiance. The jacuzzi and steam room are under renovation (we were told about this in advance), and in general the lighting is dark and does have a basement-like feel. There is no outdoor space or light from the outside. While the shower area looks new and is very pretty, the water was lukewarm and so basically it was impossible to take a shower afterward. This means that in total, there was just one working sauna room. When I mentioned the lack of hot water, the concierge was apologetic (but not surprised) and did adjust the bill for the inconvenience. I did appreciate this gesture given that the prices of the services equal those of resorts in Hawaii. Perhaps the spa should consider offering a discount in advance to acknowledge their current limitations. The therapists are very skilled so if you only care about the service itself you should be fine, but I definitely wouldn't choose this spa for a special event.

4  Thank ardenp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina S, Marketing Director at Mandara Spa at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2017

Thank you for sharing your Mandara Spa experience.

It is wonderful to hear you were pleased with your services and that the massages were excellent. We are very proud of our spa therapy team -- both massage therapists and estheticians as they are among Orlando's best.

We understand our renovations take away from the spa experience and apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. Our goal is to provide not only amazing services, but also exceptional facilities. To achieve this, we have been renovating the spa in phases. Once complete, the design will place each guest in a state of calm and peacefulness, soothing all the senses.

Because of the renovations, we have had issues with the water temperature at times, but can attest this is not the norm. Our staff addresses renovation issues once reported to minimize any disruption to the guest experience.

Your feedback is invaluable to us. Our Spa Director Bill Toth appreciates guest comments, especially during this time in which the spa is undergoing renovations, and would like to speak with you should you have the time. He may be reached at 407.503.1244.

We certainly hope to hear from you and look forward to the possibility of serving you during your next visit once our renovations are complete (scheduled for February 2017).

We wish you a healthful 2017.

Namaste.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 31, 2016 via mobile

I have been coming here for years and I loved the Jacuzzi and sauna.About two years ago they tore everything out. Two years later and they still haven't fixed it. Everytime I come they are just a few months away.If you want a massage they are good,if you want a spa try somewhere else.

2  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina S, Marketing Director at Mandara Spa at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2017

Thank you for sharing your Mandara Spa experience.

We are delighted your massage therapies have been consistently good. We pride ourselves in having Orlando's best therapists who provide caliber service to our guests.

Regarding the review, we would like to apologize for any inconvenience during your visit and provide clarification on our renovations. Two years ago, the Jacuzzi was not being fixed, but the timeline may fall within a period in which we were repairing the sauna as well as renovating a greater portion of the ladies’ facilities. It seems your visits have fallen within our renovation plans, which have been executed in phases.

Since August 2016, we have been undergoing a second round of renovations in which the Jacuzzi, men's facilities, and some rooms have been partially unavailable to guests.
We fully disclose our renovations to guests and advise what facilities are available at the time of their visit. We expect renovations to be complete by February 2017.

If by any chance, you were not advised of these renovations at the time of scheduling your appointment or should you wish to speak with our spa director regarding your experience, you may contact Bill Toth at 407.503.1244.

Mr. Toth appreciates feedback as it is invaluable to our continued growth and to provide excellent customer service. Any insight you may provide from a guest perspective is appreciated.

We wish you a healthful and wonderful 2017, and hope you will afford us another opportunity once the renovations are complete.

Namaste.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 12, 2016 via mobile

My husband and I both had the two hour "ritual for hands and feet" which was excellent.

One of my favorite things to do at the spa is to use the steam room and hot tub, but the men's locker room area was under construction and those things unavailable. Which was fine because they warned me in advance. But many of the other areas were really lacking too--the waiting lounge was weirdly lit, uncomfortable and felt like an underground storage unit (also mostly due to construction). The main entrance (which was not under construction) was not warm and welcoming. It was flooded with fluorescent light and loud, sterile tile. The treatment area also had lots of fluorescent light and felt more like a strip mall nail salon than an upscale spa.

But the staff really made up for the poor ambience. Ryan at the front desk was attentive and warm. Our clinicians, Jeanette and Jessica were superb. They crested a pampering, delightful experience. They were both clearly talented and experienced.

Even with the way below average spa facilities, the staff made the treatments well worth the visit.

1  Thank Tyryearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina S, Marketing Director at Mandara Spa at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2017

Thank you for the great review!

At Mandara, we strive to help immerse yourself in a Mandara moment and escape to a temple of relaxation and we apologize for any inconvenience our renovations may have caused. We are thrilled to know our staff was able to make your stay memorable. Thank you so much and we hope you will be visiting us again soon once the renovations are complete.

Namaste
Mandara Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2016

I visited the Mandara Spa for the Coconut Poultice Massage. It was one of the best massages I have had! I really enjoyed the pool and spa area. They gave me the full time for the message even though I had a coupon for it. I did not feel slighted at all and left feeling refreshed!!

Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina S, Marketing Director at Mandara Spa at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2017

Thank you for the great review Lauren!

At Mandara, we strive to help immerse yourself in a Mandara moment and escape to a temple of relaxation and it seems we have achieved that. Thank you so much and we hope you will be visiting us again soon!

Namaste
Mandara Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mandara Spa at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Mandara Spa at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing