We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly, accomodating, perfect location”
Review of Ocean Crest Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ormond Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ocean Crest Motel
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Ormond Beach
Fayetteville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“friendly, accomodating, perfect location”
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Let me start by saying if you are a Princess and the Pea--keep looking because you won't be happy. This motel is older and shows signs of its age. If you do not smoke, smoke bothers you, or you have allergies (smoke/pets) go elsewhere. The location is right on the A1A, so with pets or little kids, you need to pay close attention.

However, the location (if you are in Ormond) is perfect! Sit outside the room of a morning with your coffee and watch the dolphins swim in the ocean. The rooms are clean. The beds are comfortable. The rooms are large. Everything is functional (appliances, a/c; etc.). The owner is VERY friendly. Dogs have a large yard out back to do their thing. There are brick walls and could not hear what was happening in the next rooms. Free wi-fi. Few outlets in the room and cell reception is poor (one bar for Verizon).

The next time we go to Ormond, we will definitely stay there!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tee29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    11
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2010

We recently found ourselves visiting Ormond Beach on our way home from Orlando and landed at this wonderful Pet-friendly motel. The man that runs the place was really helpful and full of hospitality. We had a bad experience in St. Augustine a few days before because we had our little dog with us. He welcomed our dog. The room was perfect size with full kitchen and nice upgraded bathroom. We enjoyed sitting on the porch having our dinner and listening to the waves. This is exactly the way beachfront motels should be, great service, great price and wonderful view. It was a really relaxing experience.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sdwalker71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2010

We went to Florida on business but took three of the grandchildren along to squeeze in a "mini" vacation during their spring break from school. We had hoped to find a quaint little motel on the beach like we remembered as kids for them to enjoy for the last night of the trip. Being on a limited budget, we stopped in, the price was great and we were even shown the room before checking in, just to be sure! What service, what a great location, comfortable beds and lovely place. We did not want to eat out, so we visited the local (new) grocery store's deli section for a wonderful "picnic" dinner, all to the sound of the ocean waves. We even slept with the windows open, the kids slept sounder than they had all week! If you are looking for an older style motel, not a fancy high rise - this is the place. We will definitely go back for a stay! Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ampmobiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Port Richey, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2009

The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The motel is a 1950's style beach motel with crushed shell driveway overlooking some of the only remaining undeveloped beaches in Florida. The motel is worth staying at just for its location. If you like to relax, walk on the beach, bike to the beautiful North Peninsula State Park, then this is a great accomodation option.

There are no frills and everthing is old. However the place is clean, relaxed, and everything in the room worked well.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CSkiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sparta tn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2008

We've been staying here 3-4 times a year for 12 years. Gordon and Marcie are great . We started going before children and now have 4 small children and this place is still perfect.The rooms have full kitchens with all the basics needed.Shopping is close by for any and all needs. The view of the beach is great and there are never too many people.

  • Liked — location ,location, location
  • Disliked — I like everything about this place
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank claysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2008

This older motel (@1950) is located directly across the A1A from the beach with nothing hindering the view each morning of the waves crashing onto the shore. It is beautiful!

The owners are on site every day from 6am-6pm and live less than a mile away. They're great - you feel just like family. They've owned this motel for over 30 years so you can respect the TLC they give their baby.

The motel is older but extremely clean. Most units have a full kitchen and dining area, and all have seating outside your room so you can sit and enjoy the gorgeous view. What better way to start your day than with a cup of java overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and the lazy traffic along the A1A.

We've stayed at the Ocean Crest six times and plan to keep returning as long as it's there. Right up the street from a Publix Supermarket, many restaurants, 9 miles from Main Street Daytona Beach.

  • Liked — Proximity to beach; cleanliness
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ormond Beach hotels
8.1 km away
OceanFront Inn and Suites
OceanFront Inn and Suites
#4 of 28 in Ormond Beach
332 reviews
6.7 km away
The Cove on Ormond Beach
The Cove on Ormond Beach
#9 of 28 in Ormond Beach
514 reviews
6.9 km away
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
#7 of 28 in Ormond Beach
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Royal Floridian Resort
Royal Floridian Resort
#10 of 28 in Ormond Beach
452 reviews
7.7 km away
Symphony Beach Club
Symphony Beach Club
#13 of 28 in Ormond Beach
95 reviews
7.8 km away
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
#11 of 28 in Ormond Beach
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Crest Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Crest Motel

Property: Ocean Crest Motel
Address: 2040 Ocean Shore Blvd, Ormond Beach, FL 32176-3101
Region: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Ormond Beach
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Ocean Crest Hotel Ormond Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing