We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (263)
Filter reviews
263 results
Traveller rating
44
84
54
33
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
84
54
33
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean front room was clean priced right great hotel for the price oceanfront view seventh floor would stay again memorial day weekend full size fridge pool deck private balcony ormond beach area shelby stove daytona furniture shampoo
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 263 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2018 via mobile

Don't expect much...the partial ocean view is not as you would think... depending on which room your given, we were in a room that you could barley see the ocean but had a wonderful view of the parking lot and hotel next door. The fridge had rust on it and needs to be replaced, the microwave had splattered food inside and looks ancient. The lamps by the bed have rust on them. There was a safe in the room with NO door so it's not much of a safe! The WIFI cuts in and out. There is NO convenient plug-in near the bed but behind the bed and the plug would stay in....the outside of the hotel facing ocean needs work! The bathroom is so small you have to almost go behind the toilet to shut the door just to get in the shower. ( the shower is nice). The pool deck is ok, NOTHING like the pictures online.the pool was super dirty with a bunch of sand and dead bugs, water was not even clear. The sprayer you spray you feet off with when coming from the beach is a cheap water hose nozzle that is ran from a water line across the pool ( fall hazard),the water stings your legs when it comes out. The bathrooms near the pool are so hot as there is NO air in the small room that contains bathrooms, vending machines and ice. The front desk didn't even tell us we could get pool towels from the front when we check in, I overheard someone else saying go get pools towels from the front. I tried the hotel anyways despite mixed reviews, but I think the hotel is a bit run down and needs a lot of improvement. The king size bed was VERY comfy!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Alley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticCove, Hotel Manager at Atlantic Cove, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2018

Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thanks for your comments.
I’m sorry that several issues combined to make your stay less than desirable.
We take real pride in offering the best possible guest experience, and I understand that we let you down.
You can be sure we’ll do better for you next time.
Nothing means more to us than providing a pleasant guest experience.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 18, 2018

We went with another couple for a beach weekend. My friend found the hotel and we were both booking at the same time. She got the last least expensive room and we had to get a room which was about $10 more. Both said ocean view so we figured they would be comparable rooms. That wasn't the case. Their room was on the 7th floor with a very nice view of the ocean. Ours was on the first floor right next to the office. Our view consisted of the parking lot. We couldn't see the ocean even from our balcony. The parking lot light was very bright and shinning in our room all night. I was disappointed in that we had paid more and had the worst room of the two. The location was fairly good. Within walking distance of restaurants and night life. I don't think I would stay here again. It wasn't worth the money we spent.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1baconlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticCove, Hotel Manager. at Atlantic Cove, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2018

Hello Guest,

Thanks for the stay at the Atlantic Cove and the feedback.
We shall definitely work on your observations.
You can expect a further improved stay next time.
Visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 3, 2018

Other than its right on the beach and very friendly staff, it really has nothing else to offer. It needs a major overhaul especially the exterior of the building. The two rooms I booked seem to be newly decorated but still lacking that wow feel, coffee maker is gross and refrigerator is outdated. It just have too many cons than pros. I give it 4 stars for location though. I won’t be coming back.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Cath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticCove, Hotel Manager at Atlantic Cove, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2018

Dear Valued Guest,
Thanks for your stay at the Atlantic Cove.
Our apologies for all the inconveniences you had with your stay like amenities and cleanliness.
We are taking efforts to offer our guests a better stay, but somehow it has not worked for you.
Your review is serious to us and we will take effective actions to check and rectify the mismatches and you can truly expect a better stay next time.
Hope to see you back,
Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 29, 2018

Atlantic Cove Review June 28, 2018
Stay: February 13 - 16
Lobby area while small was generally clean and welcoming. Promotional brochures nearby for area entertainment and restaurants. This hotel was bought an estimated three years ago and it appears repairs have been limited.

Room
Overall the room was clean and smelled clean with no odors on the third floor. The room had minimal art work on wall and painted in a rather dated neutral color which admittedly may not be very important. Furniture was dated but did not distract much from the overall average appearance. There were ample pillows on the bed even though they were very small. Towels were a medium size and fair quality but not very absorbent but changed almost daily when used. Typical small soaps and shampoo for shower which is typical for hotels of this quality. Inside the bathroom was a tub/shower combination plus a toilet. Fixtures seem to be ageing but functional.

Closet was modest in size and could not handle two peoples worth of clothing depending on length of stay. A modest number of hangers which was mildly disappointing.

The TV was flat screen 32” with a modest in size 4 drawers for clothing. While there is an apartment sized refrigerator in room, there is also a drip coffee pot plus packets coffee and stirrers. The coffee was terrible by anyone’s standards. It was stale and had no flavor regardless of how strong it was made. Tea bags could be picked up at office. Also ice bucket was available and ice positioned on another floor.

BTW the room TV offers both major and cable networks but there are NO premium channels (HBO, Showtime, etc.) as I recall.

The room had a unit that would define it as being a kitchen area. Some surface rust was forming and when I ordered the room it made no mention of dishes plus pots and pan so I brought some disposables. What I found was too the contrary. While there were some utensils I learned from the front desk that the owner did not want to share on their website as they were not replacing any of the dishes when they were stolen or broken. Fortunately our room had enough utensils for breakfast. Also there was a microwave but no toaster.

There is a a phone to dial within and outside hotel however operator assisted calls will require a credit card and local calls are available but I did not determine if there was a finance charge from hotel for using it locally. In today’s communications environment use of this service seems very remote with cells and smart phones in use…..OK nothing gets by me………….

One last thought the A/C in our room was rather quiet….which is unusual and not typical for wall unit.

Regarding WIFI for the room it was very poor signal strength in our room and sometimes the signal could be lost so be advised that this is important to your stay for business or pleasure this could be a negative.

Business Center
There was one that was computer and I believe a printer but essentially nothing else but it was offered for 24/7.

Pet Policy
They do accept pets but they have to be at or smaller than 50 lbs. (23 kilograms). They are only allowed on the 2nd floor so if the reservations are filled you will need to seek other accommodations or reserve earlier. There is a daily fee of $10 and you are required to clean up after your pet.

To be clear dogs (with the exception of guide dogs) are not allowed on the beaches of Volusia County. However there are at least 2 locations in the area where you can walk them on the beach. I have been told those are Ponce Inlet area which is several miles south of the hotel and in the New Smyrna Beach area which is considerably further and on the south side of the Ponce Inlet (see Google Map). There is possibly yet a third place in Flagler County area but that is well north of Ormond Beach area. You will need to check these options via the internet plus local and county government offices. Also check with the local lifeguards or beach police for further information.

Parking
Available outside the front grounds. There is no covered storage. It is free with reservation. Parking pass is required and if none, the car could be towed. There are no security gates entering this parking. This is not to suggest this is a high crime area just be aware of your surroundings and what you leave in view inside your car.

Outside of hotel
The overall front appearance was fair to good. Nice landscaping offered a more welcoming appearance in the front near check in however landscaping around the pool area seemed to be lacking or poorly maintained. However other portions of the grassy areas were in fair to poor conditions with palms removed but not effort to remove their stumps or add grass to enhance the area. The pictures you see on Atlantic Cove’s website are dated and in some cases purchased stock pictures. I suggest you note the age of the cars in the picture.
The elevator is in need of repair simply based on the nicks and dents seen. We learned the new owner is considering next year to install a new elevator.

While most of the hotel’s halls are open to the outside, they are dimly lit coming out of the elevator. There is a washer and dryer on the premises but you may need to buy detergent outside so check with front desk to see if they have this product for purchase at the front desk. We did not use this service.

Regarding a security problem our room had a broken bar clasp that offered a third way of keeping our room secure. Each day I placed a formal request to have it replaced and finally when we were checking out the front desk personnel advised they did not have back up parts to fix. Thus check your room as we only had a door knob and a deadbolt which might be considered enough until there is a potential break-in.

Only half the vending machines at the Atlantic Cove were working and they were not fully stocked. The broken ones were turned to the wall.

Pool
At first sight the area is pleasant with lounge chairs however this furniture was largely rusty and could use some paint. The pool itself appeared to be clean and crystal clear water. However their method of vacuuming the pool was to use a brush and push the sand to the bottom drain. I have cleaned pools and know this is standard operating procedure for most pools. There was a handicapped device (covered) next to pool but I do not know if they worked. You should call if you have a physically handicapped person in your party to know in advance if you may need this device and get at least a verbal confirmation and the name of someone who knows this important point.

Access to Beach – “The World’s Most Famous Beach”
There is ample access to the beach and remember there are no amusement parks nearby which is a blessing for those who want time away from the high densities of people and cars. Yes, cars can drive on the beach at 10 MPH (16 KPH). BTW Daytona Beach has experienced hurricanes and thus much sand from the beach has been lost where the water can come closer to the sea walls of the hotels. I don’t want to be an alarmist as I was born in the area 68+ years ago but the beach has lost approximately 2 feet of sand. So much for the climate change deniers.

Also access from the Atlantic Cove was concrete stairs but the railing when I was there was replaced with crude pieces of wood rather than a professionally built wood or metal railing. In fairness this was due to a hurricane but for me could be a safety problem with families that have small kids. This should have been professionally fixed directly after the hurricane. It is not clear if there is a city code violation.

The “World’s Most Famous Beach” is still very beautiful and there is a resilience that the beach will come back in time barring no more major hurricanes or other storms however right now it is still lovely to walk. However if you elect to drive on the beach there is a daily fee. Or you can buy other packages (week or month) if time and money permits. Use your hotel as the address should be acceptable. Regrettably the cities along the this immediate beach, (Ormond Beach, Daytona Beach, South Daytona) have done little to reclaim the beach with sand and you will find that you cannot drive the entire beach as some sections have been blocked or that the ocean comes in to prevent passage.

There is a continuing effort by local hotel association to prevent anyone from gaining access to the beach with their cars.
Thus they want to make it like Miami, Florida with exclusive access largely for hotel and motel guest only. Admittedly not all hotels are pushing that concept but there is enough continuing to lobby city, county and state government.

Other items outside this hotel to consider
I do not plan to offer a long list of attractions that are in the area and beyond. I believe you can find this out on your own with other websites.

You are in a relatively quiet area of the beach and so you will not find the “board walk” area with many bars and other amusement attractions until you head about 5 miles (≈ 8 kilometers) South on Atlantic Ave. This is a plus to me so be advised when picking any hotel should you have kids. Atlantic Cove seems to be more of an adult oriented facility but they may disagree. There is a putt-putt golf down the road.

Roughly a mile South you will find a supermarket (Publix) in the Bellaire Shopping Center. The shopping center is huge and should offer you virtually any amenities not offered by hotels in the area. There is a Walgreens and CVS pharmacies nearby. Shopping malls can be found on the mainland side and near the Daytona Beach International Speedway which is on highway 17-92 and is the main highway to Interstate 95. As always do your homework before coming to the area is a prerequisite.

There many chain and specialty restaurants in the area and if you are a big seafood fan than the “Our Deck, Down under” is a must. It is about 8+ miles South of the hotel and literally under the Dunlawton Avenue bridge on the East side of the Halifax River. It is a rather pleasant ride along Atlantic Ave. Once you turn west going towards the bridge you need to get off on a side road that will allow you access to the restaurant’s parking area that is literally under the bridge.

Expect to be standing in a long line to place your order and it is a VERY casual place so shorts, T-shirts, flip flops (weather permitting) is the norm but the seafood is absolutely fresh caught. Prices are moderately expensive but sitting on the dock feeding the cat fish could be a treat for you and kids if you can get a close spot along the west side railing. I know I have admittedly thrown a few French fries into the water.

There is a regular bus service from at least Ormond Beach which is along the beach to Ponce de Leon Inlet south of this hotel (note bus service north of Ormond Beach could go toward Flagler Beach area which is further North but I am not sure. It has many stops so be advised how far you want to use this service if it is still operating.

The distance going North & South via bus however is about a 15 – 20 miles so you can travel on a parallel road (about 500 hundred feet up and West from the beach) on a rather large Atlantic boulevard also called A1A. You will need to check the frequency of this bus service and cost via local phone or at the front desk.

One last point when you DO place a reservation with ANY hotel along the beach make sure (if you want to see the ocean) you ask for "Ocean View - Front" if you want a complete or FULL view of the beach as hotels will end up offering you either a “street or city view” or "ocean view". Thus “Ocean view” could mean a side view of ocean presuming you have a balcony attached. You will pay a premium requesting a full view of the ocean which should be no surprise.

For those who may not be well informed a “city view” room means you will be looking at the street side of the hotel and is a typically a cheaper room. If you request only an “ocean view” it could be at an angle and you may not get a true view of the entire beach if that is what you want. Again, “Ocean View – Front” will cost considerably more.

Please perform a “Google Map” search of any hotel you are considering and appreciate that your search of that ideal hotel/motel could be between two high rise hotels which will essentially blot out any chance of you seeing the beach so caveat emptor (let the buyer beware).

Summary
The Atlantic Cove needs some work and I hope their maintenance program improves. The cost of a room (depending on the season) is somewhat reasonable but like any hotel/motel you have to expect some disappointments if you are expecting a 4-star hotel (offered by the hotel’s website) rather than 2 star version when you arrive. My best estimate is a “C” at best for the Atlantic Cove and I hope you find the review helpful.

Good luck staying in the Volusia County area and do walk or drive our "World’s Most Famous Beach!!"

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticCove, Hotel Manager. at Atlantic Cove, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2018

Hello Esteemed Guest,

Thank you very much for your stay at the Atlantic Cove.
We really appreciate taking your valuable time in giving us a very lengthy feedback covering almost everything about your experience.
As you have rightly mentioned, the comments are very much useful for us to take appropriate actions.
Our responsibility is to welcome you again and offer you a better and awesome stay next time.
Hope you will consider,

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 26, 2018

This hotel is the absolute perfect hotel if you are looking to budget, be right on the beach, and in walking distance to numerous restaurants, bars, liquor store, family dollar, etc...
It is a simple hotel, no elaborate breakfast, fancy lobby,and a fancy outside. They have big rooms with ocean view balconys that are roomy as well. The price was amazing, the walking distance to the sand was minimal and the pool and sitting area around the pool is spacious. Location rules as well. Would stay here again!!!

Room tip: Ocean view room
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mreilly0825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticCove, Hotel Manager. at Atlantic Cove, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for staying at the Atlantic Cove and the great review.
Glad to note that you liked the location and hospitality of our hotel staff.
It is a pleasure to serve guests like you and your comments shall encourage us to better our hospitality.
Happy to hear that you will visit us again.

Regards,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews