We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Jaw-droppingly beautiful!!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of the elegant mill

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Karya, Lefkada, Ionian Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Emma P
East Anglia, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Jaw-droppingly beautiful!!”
Reviewed July 15, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Wow! It is impossible to convey in words just how staggeringly gorgeous this property and in particular the view from it is! It is absolutely and utterly stunning. Every day for a week we had the great privilege to be able to enjoy it. We had sailed in our first week so it was super to be able to see so many of the various ports we had overnighted in from the comfort of our terrace and pool. I could go on and on - suffice to say that the view and the setting is just perfect.
The property itself has been renovated with great love, care and taste. The Mill has two bedrooms, the top one has 4 windows facing in all directions which gives a perfect breeze at night to keep you cool in addition to the ceiling fan. The bedrooms are full of gorgeous touches and ooze style.
The studio is gorgeous with amazing views and a lovely ensuite bathroom. Lots of space and again put together with beautiful touches.
The bathroom is in a separate building to the Mill but is beautifully done and only a few steps walk.
There are two kitchens (one In The Mill and the other outdoor) which are very well equipped. We ate outside every night - there is an excellent bbq.
Thomas and Yiannis are fabulous hosts. Very helpful in the prep / booking phase, fabulously welcoming when you get there and attentive yet discrete while you are there. They were quick to answer texts with requests for info / table bookings etc but otherwise left you alone with the perfect privacy that the Mill affords.
This property is perfect for two couples or for a family with teenage children. Karya is a few minutes drive away and has shops and bars and tavernas.
I can not recommend The Elegant Mill enough. Our whole family fell in love with the place. A beautiful infinity pool, stunning setting and so many different places to sit and admire the view. Totally wonderful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2018
Thank you very much , dear Emma , for your wonderful review. We hope to see you again next summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orange559
Florence, Italy
1 review
“Fairytale Setting for a Magical Holiday”
Reviewed July 12, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

I stayed at the Elegant Mill in early June and loved it from the moment we drove through the gates. Set on a hill in the centre of the island, near the delightful village of Karya, the Mill is an enchanted refuge. Breath taking views over the islands to the South and surrounded by lush green mediterranean vegetation, the Mill is an oasis of peace and serenity.
The beautifully restored Mill is perfect to sleep in, the thick walls keeping the air naturally cool, whilst the large, 'contemporary', living unit has panoramic, screened windows that share the amazing views over the islands and the bay dotted with sail boats.
A perfectly equipped outdoor kitchen provides a huge grill and a pizza oven. The guest's every need has been anticipated with care and excellent taste.
The gardens are a spacious and again a winning blend of simplicity and style, and a haven for butterflies and honeybees as well as providing lots of shady areas to relax. The infinity pool is generous, immaculately maintained and boasts stunning views over the islands.
Iannis and Thomas could not have been kinder or more thoughtful in meeting us and introducing us to their Mill, making sure all was in order, gifting us wine and fruit and generally making us feel at ease and at home.
Lefkada town is vibrant whist keeping a definitely local character and the various beaches on the island provide beautiful swimming.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2018
Thank you so much Mary Rose and Jens! A fairytale review from a fairytale pair of guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrTralala
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice place”
Reviewed October 29, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic place to stay on Lefkada. Better than the fotos. Close to everywhere on the island. Most beautiful beaches reachable within 30 min drive. Amazing setting in the mountains with great views. Calm and cozy. Highly recommend.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2017
Thank you so much , Filip and family. We hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robin z
1 review
“The elegant mill - The real paradise”
Reviewed September 24, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

What can we say...? WOW! to describe the mill and everything connected in one word. The mill is certainly the most beautiful place we ever been to. You can see that the mill was desinged with soo much love and passion for details. The location offers everything what you can ask for. It was the perfect spot to calm down, watch the stars, having a bbq, enjoy a swim in the pool, relax, or just sit down and be overwhelmed by the view you have from the mill.

Besides all that you will meet Ioannis and Thomas the most friendly and caring hosts. There are always around to help you out or to give you some recommendations where to go to.

With these words we hope to return one day to enjoy the elegant mill and the hospitality of Ioannis (Jochen :-)) and Thomas (Thomas :-))

Efharisto, Jamas, Danke and see you soon in Berlin or where ever.

Kathrin and Robin

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2017
Thank you very much, Kathrin and Robin. Meeting you was a real pleasure. It is a blessing for any host to have visitors as sensitive and respectful as you are. Auf wiedersehen!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agnieszka...
1 review
“Stunning view and a perfect privacy close to nature”
Reviewed July 20, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The Mill is really amazing! The place definitely exceeded our expectations. It looks exactly as seen at the pictures and offers a great interior design. Yiannis (an owner) pays attention to every single detail, in order to create the very consistent climate of this unique place. It is far from being a typical vacation villa. Located over 10 km from the nearest beach and touristic seaside resorts offers peaceful holidays, close to nature, without any other villas in a neighborhood. It gives you 100% of privacy in a beautiful environment. The view to the Nidri bay is stunning, especially at night. And the sky full of stars makes this place a great spot for amateur astronomers. The nearest restaurant is in a small village Platistoma (within walking distance). But many other restaurants and small shops with souvenirs as well as food markets are in a Karya village (4 km away), including Eleni tavern, famous from its great cuisine– worth trying! The location of the mill is almost in the middle of Lefkas island, which makes it good start point for sightseeing all over the island and driving in various directions. Having a car seems to be critical, if you would like to feel comfortable and be active. The mill is renovated with all modern facilities but with a respect to its heritage as well. The studio, absolutely modern in fashion, fits surprisingly well to the mill and altogether create and great space for enjoying the holidays. There are 7 spots all over the property where you can sit either for dinning or just to rest, therefore you will always find a shade during a sunny day. The two kitchens, bathrooms, and bedrooms are fully equipped even with dishwasher, washing machine, fire places, sunbeds, umbrellas and whatever you need. Air-condition in the studio as well as fans in the mill helped us to survive even the hottest nights. The owners are very warm and made us feel more as friends than as guests paying for renting a house. The place is undoubtedly worth coming back.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2017
Thank you so much , Agnieska. Hope to see you and your beautiful family again next summer
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
User R
1 review
“This so well designed extroversial place has drived me directly to my inner self.”
Reviewed July 14, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We've spent ten wonderful days,me and my friends, in this extraordinary place,sharing each of us the elegant tradition of the mill with the functional modernity of the new builted accommodation.
We had the three of us,such a good social and individual time,so that I feel grateful to you both Thomas V. and Yiannis Z. not only because you share with your guests this powerful place but also because you know to organize a real functional space as well as you direct a fictive one up on stage.
Thank you for the hospitality.You will see us soon.Xr.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2017
Thank you so much Christos and co. It's sush an honor to receive such great notices from people like you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamesmwes...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect retreat in Lefkada”
Reviewed July 4, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We stayed at the mill for 4 nights in June, and soon discovered it was the most unique and idyllic place we've ever had the good fortune of staying. Yiannis and Thomas were incredibly welcoming and helpful and did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable- including leaving some wonderful little treats for us like local honey, watermelon and wine!

The property itself is utterly charming and beautiful- the old 19th century mill feels like you're in a fairytale and the new studio and infinity pool make the experience so comfortable and relaxing we could barely leave the property during our stay!

It is the perfect retreat in a quiet and secluded area but very easy to access the pretty village of Karya in 10 mins by car with a supermarket, tavernas etc.

We would recommend this stay to anyone and are definitely making plans to return soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2017
Thank you so much James for your wonderful review! We look forward to see you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing