We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beware this "Hotel"” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palm Beach Oceanfront Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palm Beach Oceanfront Inn
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Palm Beach
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Beware this "Hotel"”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

Summary:
You are likely to have a more pleasant and relaxing stay at the Palm Beach County jail than you are at the Palm Beach Oceanfront Inn.

Details:
I made the mistake of staying at this hotel a year ago. I made the mistake of thinking that my past bad experience might have been an anomaly, and decided to give the place another chance, since it is one of the few hotels located on the beach in this section of Palm Beach County.

Alas, I was mistaken. The Palm Beach Oceanfront Inn was every bit as bad the second time, a year later. Possibly, it was in fact worse.

I originally rented one of the "suites". So, let's start there.

My first room, the "Suite", was perhaps 200 square feet in total size. It was tiny, even by old-florida standards. It was basically a square, damp, musty-smelling room overlooking a loud and rowdy parking lot. Strike One. I requested an update instead to one of the prime "ocean-front" rooms, as the idea of spending any time in this tiny room overlooking a parking lot seemed rather depressing.

Now, I'm no industry pro, but my feeling is that if you describe a room as "ocean-front", then there should not be a large main airconditioning unit for the downstairs restaurant completely blocking your view of the ocean.

The room was a tiny bit larger than the prior one...but still, no ocean-view from the 'ocean-front' room equals Strike Two.

Strike Three is the doozie. You see, there is a "restaurant" that rents space from the hotel on the ground floor pool bar area, directly in front of the beach, which occupies most of the real-estate one might expect to be reserved for paying guests of the hotel. Unfortunately, it spends most of it's daylight hours blaring very, very loud top-20 radio music of the sort and volume of which you would expect to find playing at a singles-bar on a Friday night. More in keeping with a frat-party during spring break in Daytona than an oceanfront hotel for adults.

The volume was so loud that it basically prohibits any sort of conversation while sitting near the pool. We're talking about the sort of volume loud enough to please teenagers on Spring Break, with deep, thunderous and thudding bass, all day long, and well into the evening hours. Quite literally non-stop. So not only does it make it impossible to have any quiet time by the pool...it makes it nearly impossible to stay in the room itself without ear plugs.

I spoke to the manager at the time, and were given the usual explanation: it was in the control of the restaurant, and not the hotel. I said to them that this seemed to be abdicating responsibility. The idea of an entity renting space from the hotel...and then causing such a ruckus as to actively inconvenience the hotel's paying customers...seems to be a very unusual economic relationship for a hotel to engage in.

It seemed like such an improbably explanation that it made me assume the ownership of the restaurant and lounge were either the same, or alternately that the hotel was making more money from renting to the restaurant than they were making running the hotel.

In case, the effect was crystal clear: the restaurant and it's patron's come first in priority before the hotel and it's patrons. So bear that in mind if it is the hotel you are planning on being a guest of, as opposed to the restaurant.

Strike Three (v2) is the staff. As we all know, most any problem or inconvenience can be overcome or alleviated when an employee shows a tiny amount of empathy, and makes even the most minor attempt at assistance, or even simply by being pleasant. No one expects perfection from every hotel. But any issue is always significantly compounded when the staff treats you, the paying customer, as if you are interrupting their day.

The staff here is uniformly apathetic, if not outright bitter and hostile. Certainly the management has clearly given them no instruction nor incentive to assist the guests in even the most minimal fashion.

Based on the general demeanor of the hotel staff, I can only assume that they have been imprisoned at the hotel against their will. Otherwise, it's hard to fathom why so many of them seem to be so uniformly and outwardly unhappy.

To summarize, this hotel falls short on almost every conceivable measurement a guest would apply.

The hotel is unclean, poorly maintained, and in need of repair. The staff is apathetic. And the intrusiveness of the restaurant, it's music, and it's rowdy crowd of regulars make it clear that the primary business of the hotel owners is not, in fact, the hotel itself nor it's guests.

Were this facility located on a nondescript street instead of on prime oceanfront real estate, the going-price for this level of quality and service would be in the $40/per night category.

In summary: You'd probably get more value for your money, and have a more satisfying, relaxing vacation if you simple took a sleeping bag and unrolled under a nearby highway overpass.

Room Tip: In order to choose a good room, you should choose another hotel. It is improbably that a "good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ikemcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    51
    30
    41
    134
See reviews for
52
88
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
usa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Rooms look ok, but phone did not have a wire, bathtub leaked, bathroom was stopped, internet did not work for one computer and staff had no clue. Guest computer did not work either. Some of the staff were rude and confrontational. They seem used to dealing with dissatisfied guests.
A friend suggested it because it was near where we had work, and when I called I did not realize that I gave my card to hotels.com i.e. expedia ! Then for all our problems they said 'call expedia'. Internet business has ruined what would have been an ok hotel.

Also we ended up paying higher than the hotel's rack rate, with one night free. It would have been cheaper to call the hotel and ask for their bargain rates. The clerk said so.
One trick example: breakfast is included, but coffee is not. People accept coffee but don't realize they will pay extra. When we realized it, we asked them to take it away, and the hotel clerk said we had no right to do that ! anyway we walked out, never again.

Lesson: DO NOT BUY PREPAID HOTELS, EXPEDIA, HOTELS.COM etc. The card takes out your money, and the hotel says they are not responsible for anything. INSTEAD get the hotels.com price, call the hotel, and ask them to match it or give it to you for less. You will get a better deal.

Room Tip: middle rooms are better but have little or no internet access
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tailor001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Palm Beach hotels

Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We just returned from a three night stay and hada great time! The rooms were clean. The staff was nice. Drinks and dinner were great. And the best part is the location! Right on the beach!! We would definitely go back without hesitation!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tvolock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Look, you're on the luxe coast of Palm Beach. If raiding your 401(k) is not an option as you consider lodging, this is the place to settle in for a night or two. The room was clean, just a little whiff of mustiness -- but a scented candle, which we brought along, took care of that. The bathroom, alway a barometer, was just fine, copious hot water, plenty of towels. A couple of cups or glasses would have been nice. We scored those from the bar on the patio, where it was karaoke night (would have been great if the "singers" could find the key). A nighttime walk on the beach, followed by another in the morning after a filling breakfast that's included in the cost of the room, and all was well.

Room Tip: If it's karaoke night, stay in a room at the western end -- unless you're into karaoke!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wehittheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

Seriously - I can't believe anyone would give this place an excellent rating - I mean seriously - any other location and this hotel would be $25 a night. If you can't afford Palm Beach, and unless you're in the top 2% you can't, then just go to another beach - there are so many NICE places in this price range at other beaches. Don't make the same mistake I did!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
2 Thank Airotciv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

This place is a great bargain. The rooms are a bit outdated but still clean. Pooldeck and restaurant bar are amazing. Overall its a great place to stay at.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobNy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Worth, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

As a local I have always enjoyed staying in this place. Its not a Ritz, but if you like to have a good time for a reasonable price this is definitively the place to be. The rooms are cozy and the restaurant food is delicious. During the daytime you can enjoy a refreshing drink by the pool side or lounge on the beach. At night, there is always great music playing in the bar and if you prefer a more relaxing atmosphere you can choose to sit inside and have wonderful candle-lit dinner overlooking the moon-lit ocean horizon. The food is great!!! And the staff is extremely friendly. I definetly recommend this place to anyone who wants to get the most bang for their buck.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Beach
3.0 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Palm Beach
12.7 km away
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
#2 of 10 in Palm Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
12.3 km away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#5 of 10 in Palm Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 km away
Hilton West Palm Beach
Hilton West Palm Beach
#3 of 35 in West Palm Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
20.8 km away
Marriott's Ocean Pointe
Marriott's Ocean Pointe
#1 of 4 in Palm Beach Shores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
3.2 km away
Kimpton Tideline Ocean Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Beach Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Beach Oceanfront Inn

Property: Palm Beach Oceanfront Inn
Address: 3550 S Ocean Blvd, Palm Beach, FL 33480-6447
Region: United States > Florida > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Beach Oceanfront Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Palm Beach Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Beach Oceanfront Hotel Palm Beach
Palm Beach Oceanfront Inn Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing