We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“11 Summers of Splendor Spent at this Hotel”
Review of The Breakers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Breakers
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Palm Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 18 June 2012

This will be my 11th summer spent at the gorgeous Breakers Hotel. There is a reason my family comes here year after year. This hotel is the perfect escape from reality. The cocktails are delicious (and lethal), the views are divine from every room & every spot on the multiple pool decks. The Sunday breakfast in the Circle Ballroom is a must for those not worried about a budget. It's pricey, but completely worth it for the delicious spread and the gorgeous location. I hope to be staying here for 11+ more years in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,632 - 1,638 of 2,364 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2012

It is the place to go in south Florida. There are multiple pools and a wonderful spa with a good gym. Stay on the Flagler club level if you can.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mcrtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We were staying elsewhere in Palm Beach and my daughters wanted to have drinks at the Breakers.

The building is something right out of the Great Gatsby. Gorgeous! The walk from the front door to the bar was worth the trip. The ceilings, the rooms, the hallways were to die for.

The view out the window in the bar was right on the beach.

I will have to make it a must to stay there next time in Palm Beach

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I had heard a lot about the Breakers before our trip. All was very good, but it did not do it justice. I went with my wife and 2 daughters. We put the 4.5 year old in one day of her first "Kids Camp". She liked it so much, that we did it for the full day the next day. The overall experience was just great. My wife and I spend our days lounging by the pool with 1 or 2 kids, having pina coladas and taking turns at the spa. The beach is right there and there are rentals for kayaking, and sailing. We enjoyed the restaurants on site. Flaglers was real good. We used Shelby as our babysitter and we highly recommend her. The hotel is also a club, so they do not depend on the hotel for business at the kids club or golf course. This allows them to have a fuller staff and to provide much better service. Each night, before the baby sitter showed, we went to the Italian restaurant to feed the kids. They played in one of the 4 rooms there for kids until the food showed up. There is an arts and crafts room, arcade, movie room, toddler room full of toys, and great playground. It was one of the most stunning hotels I have stayed at. We ate at the continental breakfast each morning and sometimes did the $10 upgrade to full breakfast. If you have kids, I recommend upgrading to the free breakfast, kids eat free, and free kids club package. I can't recommend it enough!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank scubamike51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

The Breakers is "legendary" - in every aspect. Service, setting, sports and ... a beautiful beach to boot. It's classic in design - and the rennovated rooms are fresh, yet keep the same style.

I prefer the "Quiet Pool" at the far end of the property -- even though the no cell phones, no loud conversation and no children in pool rule is "winked at".... there are two other massive pools to chose from so variety for everyone.

The Partial Ocean View rooms are a "bargain" - and there is NOTHING to compare with the direct ocean rooms - you have the ocean just yards outside your door! But the real bargain is the "Flager Club" level(s) - two floors connected by elevator and a circular staircase with restriced (key card) access from the rest of the hotel.

Fantastic concierges stand by to make any request, reality -- need a reservation to a hot new restaurant, a convenient T-time, or spa treatment or help with ongoing travel arrangements - they do it all with a solid knowledge of PB and it's environs. (Bernard, especially is a champ!). Flager Level visitors also have a wonderful complimentary buffet breakfast (including the best waffles in the world), high tea and "cocktail hour" hors d'oeuvres AND .... ta da... soft drinks and a mini-bar stocked with wine, vodkya, etc.!!! If you opt for the Flager - definitely go for a "Partial Ocean View Room" - it's not that partial - you have an ocean view that is terrific.

The Flager offers a terrific private rooftop patio - with views that are extraordinary.

The Breakers Spa is outstanding and the restaurants are very good. Stone crabs in the oceanfront restaurant are $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$ but well worth it.

There are a lot of "events" staged at the Breakers - but unlike a lot of top level resorts - the events don't interfere with guests enjoyment of the facilities, etc. - good planning.

This is a one of a kind property - "old world" in feeling - but with every amenity (wi-fi, etc.) at fingertips.

Kind of hotel where they acknowledge you at check in as a returning guest (okay we know how they do it.... but it's nice they do.

Room Tip: Flager Club level partial ocean view room is terrific! Avoid the rooms next to the elevator though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank J H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We just returned from a really fantastic stay at the Breakers. As expected, the building and grounds were spectacular. The service was always very friendly and professional, pool areas are gorgeous, room was nicely renovated, and plenty of activities to choose from.

We chose to upgrade to the Flagler Club (6th & 7th floors) and Chris Cameron gave the perfect welcome and was very helpful. The morning continental breakfast, snacks during the day, dessert at night and evening cocktails on the big patio and cozy lounge were nice, plus it's a bit of an oasis from the rest of the hotel when it's busy.

Drinks by the pool and the lunches we had in the poolside grill were excellent. The only negatives I can come up with are long waits at the elevator and valet when groups and weddings come and go, and the rooms are pretty small. The room size was expected in an older hotel, so it didn't bother us, though having an outdoor balcony to sit on like the newer beachfront resorts would've been great. Pillows and linen quality were top notch.

All in all, a wonderful stay and we look forward to a return trip!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lagunadallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

My husband and I are not usually big fans of large hotels. We prefer the more romantic intimate boutique style so we weren't expecting to love the Breakers. Well, we were wrong.

Even though we were probably the only two people not there for a conference (everyone was wearing name tags), we still very much liked the property. It's very elegant and best of all, the pools and beach are much nicer than most large hotels. We usually find that the pool areas of large hotels tend to be overcrowded with everyone fighting for loungers. Well, it's definitely not like that at The Breakers. There are so many pools and so many loungers, I couldn't imagine that finding a lounger is ever a problem. Also, every one of their pools is extremely beautiful. As much as we loved the pool areas, we chose to sit on the beach instead. We're from Canada and so we usually only get to the beach if we're on vacation so we usually like to be close to the ocean so we can hear and watch the waves, swim in the ocean, and walk on the beach. You can walk for miles in either direction on The Breakers' beach and it's not crowded at all.

Breakfast was also very enjoyable. The restaurant for breakfast is near one of the pools with a view of the ocean. It's got lots of outdoor and indoor seating. Since we had good weather, we always chose to sit outside.

As for location, we found The Breakers to be in a much better area than The Four Seasons. We went to the Four Seasons for dinner one evening and it was a longer drive than we had anticipated. We will never stay at the Four Seasons or the Ritz just because of their location.

We were also very happy with our room. We booked one of the cheaper ones since we were only there for a long weekend and we weren't planning on spending a great deal of time in our room, of course and it turned out to be a nice size and we even had a bit of an ocean view.

All in all, if we go back to Palm Beach, we will most definitely stay at the Breakers. It's a well-located luxurious hotel with good service and amazing pools and outdoor areas.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Beach
1.5 km away
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
#3 of 10 in Palm Beach
778 reviews
1.7 km away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#4 of 10 in Palm Beach
487 reviews
1.3 km away
The Brazilian Court Hotel
The Brazilian Court Hotel
#5 of 10 in Palm Beach
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Hilton West Palm Beach
Hilton West Palm Beach
#4 of 34 in West Palm Beach
953 reviews
11 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Palm Beach
2 km away
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Downtown
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Down...
#8 of 34 in West Palm Beach
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers

Address: 1 South County Road, Palm Beach, FL 33480-4023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Beach
#1 Green Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Palm Beach
Price Range: $630 - $2,776 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Breakers 5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1896, The Breakers remains one of America’s legendary resort destinations. Renowned for its seaside glamour and world-class service, the 538-room, Italian Renaissance-style hotel resides on 140 acres of oceanfront property in the heart of Palm Beach. With unapologetic luxury, The Breakers indulges its clientele, whether couples on a romantic getaway, multi-generational travelers on a family vacation or large gatherings in celebration. Thanks to the gracious dedication of its longstanding family ownership, the iconic resort re-invests a minimum of $30 million each year in the property’s ongoing enhancement and revitalization to ensure that it continues to captivate its guests. Most recently with the debut of Flagler Club, an ultra-luxury boutique hotel set within the resort. Resort amenities feature a private beach, four oceanfront pools, five whirlpool spas, 25 luxury beach bungalows and a variety of watersports; a new luxury spa; indoor-outdoor Ocean Fitness center; 36 holes of championship golf, including the Ocean Course and The Breakers Rees Jones® Course; 10 Har-Tru tennis courts; a Family Entertainment Center; an array of on-site boutiques; and nine acclaimed restaurants, with settings ranging from casual beachfront to stylishly sophisticated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Breakers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Palm Beach
The Breakers Resort
Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Resort Palm Beach
The Breakers Palm Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing