We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really a motel not a Resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
VISTA Inn on Lake Tarpon
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Palm Harbor
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Found this 'Resort' on Groupon-getaways. Seeing we were already in Florida, thought we'd try the new area. The price was attractive enough that we thought we'd give it a try.One of the upsides is that it is on a waterway and there are lots of birds and turtles, so this made it interesting. The bed was comfortable for sleeping, other than that the rooms are tired with poor lighting. We made the mistake of picking up the bedspread and throwing it on the bed one morning and the maid came in and left it that way (guess she thought it was now 'made'). There is no breakfast to speak of, other than coffee (it wasn't very good and we aren't overly picky) and prepackaged sweet buns. There is a pool and a hot tub with a number of chairs and loungers, but the pool was very cold and you bring your own towel(luckily we had beach towels with us). It is located on a handy main road/hwy and not too far to get into Tarpon Springs, which was very interesting to see. Also a few restaurants are located within a mile or so. Nothing in walking distance. There is a fridge and microwave in the room, which is handy.
The young woman at the check-in counter was very friendly and helpful and gave us a first floor room when we asked.
Overall, not a resort, but the value seemed in line with the price.

Room Tip: If you want to be by the pool, make sure you request rooms on the correct side of the waterway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rpaters53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

I had booked this resort thru groupon 2 months ago for 3 days for my birthday weekend! I was so excited since it seemed like an awesome place. I drove 4.5 hours to get there and when I arrived I was told they didn't have my reservation, even though I had the reservation confirmation. To makes matters worse they had nothing available. Now it's spring break, and I'm sure when they booked my lower price didn't realize this, however, they never did anything to rectify it or to help me find another place to stay. 4 hours later I finally found a place to stay for $850 for the weekend.
Needless to say I will never go back there nor will I use Groupon!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Juicepluswendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Oh boy. I have to say I mostly agree with Tropic2112 on this one. We had 3 couples and a single in our group and booked through Hotels.com, so it was a decent price. We thought. When we got there the front desk gals were not at all welcoming. The word neutral fits pretty good. The room was VERY worn out and right out of the 1970's, when the place was built. They are supposedly trying to work on it and I guess it's costly to update, but maybe they should close it off and do it all! It sits right on Route 19, a very busy highway, but the rooms do have nice balconies with a view of the canal. There was an alligator and wildlife to observe. The maid, Norma, was a very good. The breakfast did consist of coffee, juice and small plastic wrapped sweet rolls, and on some days muffins too. That's it. Of the 4 rooms we had, the phones in one of the rooms worked okay. One couple never had a working phone the whole time. There were 2 washers and 2 dryers for guest use, but 1 of each was broken. The laundry room was dirty, as were the machines. No soap to purchase and no change machine. I most definitely will NOT go back to this hotel. Even at the deal we got, so not worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChicagoIllinoisKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Starting off from my arrival the ladies at the front desk were rude with their stale face attitudes. The rooms were okay except for the caked up fixtures and outdated lights and curtains. The cleaning crew is the only thing going for this motel because it is far from being a resort or hotel. Nice view from the balcony but the balcony chairs looked like a plastic piece of junk. As for the continental breakfast if you call baby danish snacks and basic refreshments continental then it was great but in reality it was awful and they false advertised it to a tee. I wouldnt recommend a homeless person to stay there. Check it out for yourself if you dont believe me you will be very disappointed. If you have lots of luggage be ready to carry it all because there is only one raggedy cart corral. NEVER AGAIN I REPEAT NEVER EVER AGAIN...

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 5Generation5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Having spent the previous night in an excellent 3 star hotel near Bush Gardens, the family and I were travelling around on a rainy monday. In need of good accommodations, we came across the Lake Tarpon Resort online at a reasonable price.

The location was convenient to where we were, and the good stops there.

Though the desk clerk was accommodating, her neutral attitude and overall distraction with her cellphone was offsetting.

The room had a nice view of the canal in the back. The hotel is very old and the rooms have not been kept up. Every metal surface (Lamps, switch plates towel racks) were rusty. The electrical appliances in the room were in disrepair and somewhat dangerous. (Akin to staying in a third world country.)

The scariest part started at about 2 in the morning. With our small children sleeping in the bed, came loud pounding on the door. Scared me half to death.. I didn't answer it, and they went away.

At about 4 in the morning, someone was trying to knock our door down. Cursing and pounding mercilessly... I picked up the room phone to call the police, put the phone was in disrepair. I found my cellphone, and contacted the front desk. The man said he would walk over to see what was going on.

Nobody ever came by.

The breakfast consisted of a plastic wrapped truckstop danish and a cup of coffee. In their favor, the coffee was not bad

All in all, one of the worst motel experiences in my 25 years in Florida.

I was fooled by the supposed 3 star rating, and my expectation of a non-eventful restful night was turned into a hair raising sleepless odyssey.

I would not recommend this hotel under any circumstances. Would have been better off in the car..

Run away from this one.

Room Tip: Find another hotel. Poor room, and very scary night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tropic2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Sainte-Mere-Eglise, France
21
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Få rom lengst unna veien
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KristinTaerud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Harbor
1.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tarpon Springs
1.1 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Tarpon Springs
295 reviews
13.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Trinity
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Tampa-Port Richey
12.5 km away
Best Western Plus Yacht Harbor Inn
16.9 km away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#64 of 98 in Clearwater
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VISTA Inn on Lake Tarpon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VISTA Inn on Lake Tarpon

Address: 37611 US Highway 19 N, Palm Harbor, FL 34684-1003 (Formerly Lake Tarpon Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Palm Harbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Palm Harbor
Price Range: $103 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — VISTA Inn on Lake Tarpon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is a beautiful, waterfront, Mediterranean style hotel, nestled quaintly around our boat basin, which adjoins Lake Tarpon. Lake Tarpon is a 2500 acre (10 Km) sports & recreation lake. All of our spacious rooms have a beautiful waterfront view of our boat basin. Our rooms consist of standard rooms with 2 double beds or 1 king size bed. Relax around the pool after a fun filled day of fishing, boating, golfing, sunning or sight seeing. When the day is done you will sleep peacefully, in a bed so comfortable you will want to take it home with you. We are confident you will return again and again, to enjoy the pleasure and comfort of our hotel. We are located across from Innisbrook Golf Course & Spa, just minutes from the Historic Tarpon Springs Sponge Docks, Brighthouse Baseball Field & Gulf Beaches. Meeting Rooms, Banquet Rooms also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your VISTA Inn on Lake Tarpon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Tarpon Hotel Palm Harbor
Palm Harbor Best Western
VISTA Inn On Lake Tarpon Florida/Palm Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing