We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Q and Atmosphere”

Smitty's Barbecue & Salad Bar
Ranked #34 of 269 Restaurants in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great Q and Atmosphere”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I am a BBQ snob from Memphis and on passing through, knew Smitty's was the real deal. My wife and I stopped on an impulse and enjoyed a very nice lunch. The waitress was very friendly and even took the framed news articles off the wall so we could read about the restaurant's history. The place is decorated with all sorts of aviation memorabelia which is memorable and interesting and the barbeque, while not Memphis, was plenty good. I got the pulled pork sandwhich and was not disappointed.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ABPV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    29
    18
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Panama City Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Bar-b-que”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Have eaten here several times-fantastic food! Love their luch specials - lots of food at a fair price. Within walking distance of the hotel.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank SusanW35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great BBQ!!”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Two of us had lunch at Smitty's recently and it was a very pleasant lunch Born and raised in the South, weve eaten BBQ all of our lives and Smitty's ranks right up there with the best. Tried both the pork and chicken, along with several sides. All good, the beans were my favorite. It's a casual, down-home atmosphere and our server was very attentive. We will definitely return!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigBobsGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Good BBQ Good Salad Bar”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Smitty's has been around a while. they have good BBQ, right next to the Panama City Mall. They added a salad bar many years ago, when it was the trendy thing to do, and, while they weren't originally known for the salad bar, they've gotten it right, since then. the last time I ate there, I really enjoyed it, but I had mostly salad. I recommend this place.

Helpful?
Thank tfuder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What a great family friendly BBQ in Panama City.”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We have made this a regular stop when in the area. Good food, good prices, and great servers. Not a fancy place, a real airplane museum and tribute to our air defense systems. Any pilot or kid or both will love the collection made by Smitty over a number of years. A real landmark located not far from Tyndall AFB plus GOOD BBQ served the old fashioned way, one plate at a time.

Try the special white pepper BBQ sauce on a hot piece of BBQ chicken, man that is good eating and the pork on BBQ bread is great too.

Smitty loves kids as much as airplanes, this is VERY family friendly and is full of locals and vistors alike. Across from PC Mall, good parking.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TpartyTallahassee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smitty's Barbecue & Salad Bar also viewed

Panama City, Florida Panhandle
 
Panama City, Florida Panhandle
Panama City, Florida Panhandle
 
Panama City, Florida Panhandle
Panama City, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Smitty's Barbecue & Salad Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing