We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Reef”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Reef at Seahaven Beach Resorts
Ranked #33 of 48 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We had no hot water lukewarm at best. The ceiling about the tub looked like it was falling down.The outside of the refrigerator was rusted inside appeared clean. The microwave inside looked dirty not sure if it was rust or dirt. The little coffee pot was not clean and had mold in it. We tracked sand in and ask if housekeeping could vacuum when they came to our room and was told they only vacuum once a week on Mondays. The only thing I like about the room was the access to the beach. If I had not paid for 2 nights in advance I probably would have gone to a different hotel on the east end of the beach. There was no Wi-Fi in the rooms only in the lobby.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marion W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeahavenBeachResorts, Manager at The Reef at Seahaven Beach Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Hi Marion

We appreciate your review of the property. I hate to hear that you had a negative experience while you were in town. We have started the process of replacing appliances, etc. that are in disrepair. The general housekeeping and maintenance issues are unacceptable and I will definitely address them. Would like to speak to you personally about your stay at your convenience. Please free to contact me via email or phone.

Renee Reyer
Seahaven Beach Resorts, AGM
reneereyer@seahavenbeach.com
850.636.6550

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

Let me start by saying, if you like NO room service this may be the place for you! They came to our room to deliver towels only. They had a coffee pot, but no coffee except for the pack we got the first day. They gave us one roll of toilet paper and of course we ran out! Didn't realize we didn't have any till late that evening and we had just been to Wal-mart, and the front desk was closed. How nice! Showers were a joke, we stood in water almost up to our knees and honestly the tub was filthy. It's a shame, because with better management and better housekeeping this could have been a nice stay. It's so obvious they don't care about their guests at all. No where to even clean sand off your feet from the beach. No upkeep of the grounds at all. Vomit lying on the ground. The owner has too many property's here in PCB to care about this one. Drive up the street and spend the extra money.

Room Tip: Sharky's was awesome! The waiters there rock!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeahavenBeachResorts, Manager at The Reef at Seahaven Beach Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Hi Kimberly

After reading your review, I can't quite figure out which property you stayed at. It can't be The Reef because our front desk is 24/7. Please contact me to discuss your stay so that I can address your issues or direct you to the correct property.

Renee Reyer, AGM
Seahaven Beach Resorts
888-607-0006 or 850-636-6550

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

This place needs some updating and new towels theyre stained. Beds are ok, doors dont shut or open without a fight. Beach is great but pool sucks and no hot tub. Parking is a mess! Floors are slick with fine layer of sand. I would stay again if the room had a fridge and I lysol wiped everything first. Otherwise its pretty rough :(

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeahavenBeachResorts, Manager at The Reef at Seahaven Beach Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Hi Amy

Thank you for the review. This winter we do plan on updating some items and the building. Towels and line are on that list. The pool is a good size but due to the lot there just wasn't space to make it beachfront and that is also the reason for the limited beachfront parking. We do have additional parking less than a block away. We wanted the prime beach views to be from the rooms, not the vehicles. I will address the floor cleanliness with our staff, that is unacceptable. Please feel free to call me in regards to your stay or future stays with Seahaven Beach Resorts at any of our properties.

Renee Reyer, AGM
Seahaven Beach Resorts
888-607-0006 or 850-636-6550

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

This trip started as a nightmare August 2,2013. My brother, his wife, and my son were in Panama City for a wedding, which did not get booked. Here we are frantically searching for lodging on or near the beach on a friday afternoon. The assistance of a smartphone was our one saving grace. We found (2) two rooms @ The Reef at Seahaven. Unfamiliar with the area we drove some (10) miles to get to the west end of the beach near Pier Park. OMG!!!!!! PARKING WAS AWFUL!!!! to say the least. If you take it upon yourself to willfully stay here please do so at "your own risk." You have to check in (15 minute time limit) and they are VERY adamant about this time limit. Remember this vital information because it is crucial to the review. There is a restaurant that is owned by the people who own The Reef, called Sharky's. Customer's who eat at Sharky's have just as much right to park there as customers of The Reef. Most of the parking is done by customers of the Restaurant!! Roughly around (40) available parking slots where do the customers who stay at The Reef park? Down the street from The Reef in the Sharky's parking lot on the opposite side from The Reef!!! LOL... One has to cross the busy high traffic area and walk down to the Sharky's parking lot to get in their vehicles. We got out with our luggage and proceeded to walk back to The Reef. Our one saving grace was a courteous driver, who informed us he would be back to pick us up to carry us to The Reef, shortly. He already had individuals who were just as frustrtated and hot to take as well. I wish I had gotten his name because of his courtesy and professionalism. Can't complain about the rooms,because you get what you pay for and we were thankful for the availabilty. waht can be said is that the rooms are somewhat dated. But the views are gorgeous and something to wake up to in the morning. Also if you are on a budget, at Sharky's if you stay at The Reef children eat free. to sum things up the parking is a logistical black-eye for this development.

Room Tip: If you are a mature couple the west-end near Pier Park is quieter. Less partying younger crowd. Traf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CeleneJeffers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeahavenBeachResorts, Manager at The Reef at Seahaven Beach Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Hi Celene

Happy we could help in getting your group in for the wedding. You are absolutely correct, during busy season The Reef parking is extremely limited. We do try to push the Sharky's patrons to the overflow lot across the street from the restaurant. Without locking the parking lot down, it's extremely difficult. The only time we are really strict on the 15 minute wait in front of the check in area is when we have a very high number of arrivals for that day, otherwise, we do not bother anyone with the blue parking passes that are in that area. The gentleman I believe you are referring to is Howard and we agree, he is great! We have him roaming the parking lot specifically to help with the traffic back and forth between The Reef and Sharky's. We are constantly working on improving this and hope to make it much easier in the future.

Thank you for your review and feel free to contact me directly in the future. 850.636.6550

Renee Reyer, AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed at this Resort July 24-27 (2013) do not waste your money. Parking is small area we had to park 1/2 block from room, our baloncy door stayed jammed, no extra towels unless you give them one for one, one burner on stove worked, deadbolt wont work(rm. 158)..

Room Tip: Do stop in!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john_minton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeahavenBeachResorts, Manager at The Reef at Seahaven Beach Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Hi John

Thanks for your review. I do apologize that you did not enjoy your time at the property. Parking is definitely an issue for us during busy season and are working on ways to improve that in the future. As far as the issues in the room, I hope that you notified the front desk so that we were able to resolve the issue. The salt air definitely takes it's toll on the mechanics of the doors at beachfront properties. We typically place towels for the number of people that the room holds; we don't provide extra towels for the pool or beach. I would like to discuss the maintenance issues with you, if you have a moment. Please call me at 850-636.6550.

Renee Reyer, AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Think twice before staying at this place, because you will throw out your shoulder trying to open your door because they stick. The mattresses were very lumpy and hard, mold in bathroom, rooms had very bad odor to them. The parking lot shared with Sharky's so if you left in your car to drive somewhere, you were lucky to have a parking space when you got back, unless you parked across the street. The hotel wasn't located close to nothing but Sharky's. This place needed to have a complete overhaul from top to bottom, after staying here, I have decided forget price I'm willing to pay more to have better it's worth it, it was that bad. NASTY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeahavenBeachResorts, Manager at The Reef at Seahaven Beach Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Hi Deborah

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We certainly appreciate your feedback, whether good or bad. We will definitely take a look at the mattresses to see if they do need replaced. In reference to the mold and smell, it sounds as if the air conditioner may have been off prior to your stay and something we definitely need to look into. I would like to hear more about your stay so that I may address the issues specific to your stay. Please contact me at 850.636.6550.

Renee Reyer, AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This hotel is in a great location and has one of the best views of the ocean in Panama City. It's in one of the lowest price ranges, so it's not plush at all, just the basics. The pool is on the street-side of the hotel. You don't get anything fancy. It's just a decent place to stay that's inexpensive and clean and has a great view. Next door to Sharky's restaurant which is a great place to eat beach-front and hear good music. Parking is limited, but additional parking is across the street, very easy to access. The location is convenient to everything on Front Beach road. If you are shopping for a place to stay in this price range, this is a great choice. We would go back.

Room Tip: All the rooms would have a good ocean view except the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S-Hardegree-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeahavenBeachResorts, Manager at The Reef at Seahaven Beach Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Hi!

Just wanted to say thank you for the review. We absolutely love hearing the positive's! Too often we only hear the negative about anything these days. Seahaven Beach Resorts Management & Staff certainly appreciate! Hopefully you will come back to visit us again, if so, please contact me directly so that I can help you with your accommodations. 850.636.6550

Renee Reyer, AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
Seahaven Beach Hotel
#32 of 48 in Panama City Beach
743 reviews
Beachbreak By The Sea
#34 of 48 in Panama City Beach
490 reviews
Long Beach
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
#35 of 48 in Panama City Beach
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beachside Resort
#10 of 48 in Panama City Beach
577 reviews
Executive Inn Panama City Beach
#39 of 48 in Panama City Beach
73 reviews
Bikini Beach Resort
#28 of 48 in Panama City Beach
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef at Seahaven Beach Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef at Seahaven Beach Resorts

Address: 15191 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413-3524 (Formerly Best Value Inn Beach Front Resort)
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 48 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Price Range: $72 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Reef at Seahaven Beach Resorts 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, The Reef Hotel at Seahaven Beach Resorts combines value and fun into the perfect location on Panama City Beach. Four floors offer flexible accommodations all with private balconies and incredible views! There’s over one-quarter mile of private beach for your to explore or to simply relax and enjoy the surf. If you’d rather keep the sand out of your toes, you can cool off in the large pool or grab a seat and relax on the pool deck. During the Summer season, a Kids Club is hosted by the Seahaven Beach Resorts mascot, Finley. The coolest Shark on the Beach! They will enjoy different activities each day, both inside and out. And best of all, it’s free to all guests of The Reef Hotel. On-site dining is available just steps away from The Reef at Sharky’s Beachfront Restaurant and Tiki Bar. And, when staying at Seahaven Beach Resorts kids eat free at Sharky’s! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your The Reef at Seahaven Beach Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Value Inn Beach Front Hotel Panama City Beach
Best Value Hotel Beach Front
The Reef At Seahaven Beach Resorts Panama City Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing