We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aqua Sept 1-8 2012”
Review of Aqua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aqua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2012

As far as reviews commenting on individual units... this is a view of the Aqua Resort as a whole, not the individual units! We just returned from a week stay and loved it! Each unit is privately owned, so naturally they will vary in how nice they are. These are private, individually owned homes in a condo building. This is not a hotel where all rooms are owned by the resort. Ours, #1006, was a small one bedroom + bunk room and it was great. The 10th floor is perfect because you are too high up to hear any pool or street noise but not too high up to get queasy sitting on the balcony. The balcony was very private. Every Aqua staff member we encountered was very friendly and they could be seen out there each day making keeping things clean and checking everything out. As far as the chairs being too expensive.... Aqua doesn't handle the chairs. Aquatic Adventures company is in charge of the beach chairs. The pool chairs Aqua provides are free. Also, if you find a condo whose owner gives the beach chair service included in your rent, beach chairs are free! We loved that the resort was no smoking. Who would want to ruin a beautiful new resort with smoke? We noticed there were spa services you could buy, a free workout room, free wifi Internet down by the pool area, and a snack bar you could purchase things at by the pool. The location can't be beat because it is a short walk to Pier Park. After walking around both on the street and beach, we noticed the Aqua's beach area was cleaner than the nearby Calypso and less crowded. The guests around the Aqua seemed older and calmer compared to the rowdiness we witnessed around other buildings. After walking and driving around all of Panama City Beach, we didn't see a building we wished we had chosen instead! We stayed in early September 2012 and only experienced a bit of a crowd the first 3 days due to Labor Day. After that, the pool and beach area wasn't crowded at all. We never had to wait on elevators and luggage carts were plentiful and always available. Parking was a breeze and spots were always open. We definitely recommend the Aqua. You will not find many new looking buildings in Panama City Beach. Aqua is new looking and in great shape!

Room Tip: All units are different and privately owned. Search the internet for a cheap deal and make sure you...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jade D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaPCBResort, Manager at Aqua, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Awesome! Jade, thank you so much for your wonderful comments about the Aqua Resort and staff. We work so hard to make sure that the property is well maintained, pristine and set up for our guests to enjoy. Our staff enjoy serving and taking care of our guests so much. They will appreciate your kind words. Thanks again and please give us a call when you travel to Panama City again and allow us to accommodate you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
There are newer reviews for Aqua
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2012

From taking our reservation to check out we were extremely pleased with our 2br2bth with bunk condo. Condo and the view were incredible. Very spacious, very clean, and quiet. Parking was easy. Pool and beach were great. We will definitely be back. Thank you for the attention to detail and personal service.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HWL98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaPCBResort, General Manager at Aqua, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Wow! What a great review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We can't wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We ( myself and my husbands family) were guests here in late June of 2012. We had been planning this trip since Feb. Of 2012, and were thrilled to have the whole family going. We stayed in unit 2001, a 3 br/3 ba unit. The master bedroom and bathroom were plenty big, but the other two weren't very big at all. The furnishings were worn, but the views were stunning. It just wasn't the "luxury" resort that was advertised. The pool areas were small and beach umbrella rentals were 40 bucks a day. With so many other condos and homes available to rent, The Aqua needs to step their game up!! People work hard for their money, so they need to work harder to get people's money. Oh, and NO SMOKING!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mbracey75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaPCBResort, Manager at Aqua, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

We appreciate the time you took to share the experience you had while visiting our resort. We are thankful for feedback, comments and suggestions from guests staying with us. The management of the resort takes your concerns very seriously as quality is a priority for us at Aqua. Thanks for your comment on the view here at the Aqua. As to the individual furnishings in your unit, we are working to make necessary enhancements to the unit that you mentioned. We would appreciate the opportunity to accommodate and serve you again on your next visit to Panama City Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Aqua is a very beautiful place to stay. The The condos are so clean and updated it made for a nice relaxing stay. The condo is on the beach and the view was absolutely breath taking which made the stay even better. Also it's close to Pier Park and all the other attractions. I would highly recommend people to stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed on a high floor middle unit. The view was AWESOME!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichiganlovesPCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaPCBResort, General Manager at Aqua, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Thank you for sharing your experiences about your stay. We are happy about your positive feedback and that you enjoyed staying at the Aqua. We would love to serve you again on your next visit to Panama City Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

This is our 2nd time staying here (1702). Very pleased. Clean, great pools, friendly staff, beach front. Stayed with 2 children ages 1 & 3.....very accommodating for small children. Seen several family. Great little gym but could use some free weights. Fast elevator too never had to wait very long.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank ihearttraveling09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaPCBResort, Manager at Aqua, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

We are so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed staying with us at Aqua. Thank you for your positive feedback and sharing your experiences. We are also glad to hear your suggestion regarding the weight room and would appreciate the opportunity to accommodate and serve you again on your next visit to Panama City Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed 3 days at the Aqua Resort on Panama City Beach. The view was beautiful with a balcony overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. The parking garage was tricky. Often some of the numbers would duplicate and cause putting the parking code in several times.
Panama City Beach has changed somewhat and is geared to high school and college beach parties. Some families were there .
When we were at the beach, there was a lot of seaweed in the water.
The actual room on the 17th floor was great.

Room Tip: The middle front rooms are actually better than the corner rooms. The 17th floor was nice with a g...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dovewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaPCBResort, Manager at Aqua, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

Thank you for taking time to review your stay at the Aqua. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and we appreciate feedback and suggestions from our guests. The view from Aqua overlooking the Gulf is breathtaking and there is no other like it. The fall is a great time to stay at Panama City Beach and October has the least amount of seaweed in the water at the beach. We would love to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

My husband and I along w my 2 children (ages 7 and 9) just returned from a 9 day stay at Aqua in Unit 210. The unit was beautifully furnished w quality furnishings in the master bedroom and living room. The unit is a 1 bedroom w a bonus bunk room located on the second floor. The unit layout was wonderful and offered a nice view of the pool. The view was somewhat unique as it was situated somewhat over the pool and somewhat over the structure that shades the loungers at the pool. The pictures on the site in our opinion didn't show this clearly. The view was still nice though. Unfortunately this is about as good as it gets. Our unit and the facility had several issues. They were as follows:

Unit 210
*The unit was in need of painting where walls had been roughed up with luggage being moved in and out.
*The dishwasher was not mounted in and when you slid out the top rack to place a glass in it the unit would tilt forward as if falling out.
*The microwave was missing the vent cover and the pieces were left laying on the counter upon our arrival without us being told a maintenance call was in order.
*The bedroom clock was missing the cord and did not work w a battery. The kitchen clock also was not working properly.
*The tv in the living room had no sound which we were sure was just a setting in the sound system but my husband who has a surround system in 3 rooms in our home couldn't get it working properly.
*The ladder on the bunk bed was broken and had exposed nail heads that we worried our kids would get hurt on.
*The drawers under the bunk bed was broken and therefore unusable.
*The kitchen pantry was in the pictures on the site shown w a lock which we had some concerns over as we figured we would need the storage for food items we brought and bought to cook. Upon arrival we found the lock had been removed but the door was hanging on barely at the hinges and didn't close properly.
*The site advertises the unit offered free movies and a reading library. We never could figure out what this pertained to. The unit didn't feature any special information on either of these issues.
*The kitchen was very poorly equipped. Tons of glass wine glasses but hardly any drinking glasses or plates. The skillets were in extremely poor condition and they didn't have any mixing bowls or bowls for serving or storing foods. The offered very few kitchen amenities and didn't have even a hand mixer or adequate measuring cups and spoons. We cook breakfast and lunch while vacationing and eat dinner out so kitchen needs are essential!!!
*All units are required to provide glass items, but they had nothing along the lines of reusable plastic ware. This of course resulted in people bringing glass to the pools and beach which is prohibited but difficult to enforce.
*we liked having a phone in the unit and it never rang during our stay as indicated previously in another review. We also had no issues w the number of towels or the washer/dryer which we thought was clean.
*The people before us or the housekeeping staff put dirty dishes into the cabinets prior to our arrival. Dirty silverware (which we had tons of), dirty bowls filled w coke or some liquids, and stuck on food to plates.
*The unit had carpet which was essential for us and very clean which we liked of course!
*The patio furniture was nice and in good condition and we used it for all of our meals.
*The unit didnt offer wireless Internet access. I had an air card but of course that was time on my acct I paid for. The location of the Internet cord was under the tv so to use it you would ave to sit on the floor w your laptop. Additionally we couldn't locate it easily upon our arrival.
*The mattress in the unit was somewhat uncomfortable, and their were no extra pillowcases for the extra pillows in the closet. There was an extra comforter in the closet that was identical to the one on the bed which gave me some hope of it being cleaned and rotated. Generally we take it off and lay it aside anyway. The bed only had a sheet on it but we found another thin blanket in the closet we used.
*The unit had no items/utensils that were grill compatible.
*The left front burner on the stove seemed to take forever to heat up properly.

The Staff

Staff was very nice when we booked our unit, but very standoffish when we wanted our issues relating to repairs and dishes addressed. Maintenance was great when they arrived and took care of the dishwasher, and bedroom ladder. They did offer to have housekeeping wash our dishes but I declined. I figured I had best pick and choose my battles. Repairs were my priority. Management provided us w new skillets, mixing bowls, and a bedroom clock which we greatly appreciated. The other items we were told we're not mandatory to be provided and done so at owner discretion. We avoided the staff as best we could and clearly they thought of us as a problem from there demeanor. Maintenance was in and out a couple times but they travel in twos so it lent us some level of security. However, and in room safe would be nice for valuables.

The Facility

*The facility boosts of gas grills for use. They have 2 and only one worked during our stay. The other was wrapped up in red caution tape as it didn't work. We saw no effort to get it repaired.
*The pool water was VERY cold and not heated as indicated. We visited in Aug so the outside temps were warm during day but it was a cooler week than normal and several days too chilly to get in the water.
*We found several broken glass pieces in the walkways so don't go w out shoes on.
*The kids activity program wasnt running as indicated it would be due to low anticipation and it was a huge disappointment to the kids as we had told them it would be when we booked.
*We loved the adirondack chairs at the pool but the cushions on the loungers seemed dirty and well worn so we avoided them.
*The location by pier park and across from shuckums was fantastic. The family karaoke at shuckums was fun for us all and close enough to walk.
*The elevators worked fine but we prefer to take the steps. Going down was great but coming up was prohibited from the first floor We liked the security but it would be nice if it had a keypad to allow residential access when going up.
*The workout equipment was in good working order and we used it several times during our stay.
*Beach service was not included w the unit and we were told it would be 240 dollars for the week. That seemed pricey. Last year we selected a unit that it was offered w and would look for one like that again.
*The pool lacked personality and it would have been nice to have some music even if just occasionally poolside to enjoy. Other resorts boast of entertainment, poolside movies, etc. That would have been nice at least once or twice during our stay.

Overall, this place is WAY over priced and not worth the additional money. We understand rental units have some issues but for the rental price they were unacceptable! We stayed at Calypso last year at significant savings but wanted a higher end resort experience. Aqua isn't it and w tons of other choices we recommend you look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vacationtakeusaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaPCBResort, Manager at Aqua, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

We appreciate the time you took to go over the experience you had while visiting Aqua Resort in Panama City Beach, Florida. We are thankful for feedback, comments and suggestions from guests staying with us. The entire staff and management of the resort take your concerns and the disappointment you experienced during your stay very seriously as comfort and relaxation are a priority for us at Aqua. Thank you for your kind words about the staff, the view and the property here at the beach. As to the individual furnishings in your unit, we are making necessary repairs and enhancements to the unit that you mentioned. We would appreciate the opportunity to accommodate and serve you again on your next visit to Panama City Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
0.6 km away
Legacy By The Sea
Legacy By The Sea
#16 of 48 in Panama City Beach
831 reviews
9.7 km away
The Beachside Resort
The Beachside Resort
#9 of 48 in Panama City Beach
558 reviews
0.3 km away
Calypso Resort & Towers
Calypso Resort & Towers
#10 of 83 in Panama City Beach
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City B...
#3 of 48 in Panama City Beach
2,579 reviews
7.3 km away
Long Beach Resort
Long Beach Resort
#15 of 83 in Panama City Beach
333 reviews
0.2 km away
Osprey on the Gulf
Osprey on the Gulf
#2 of 48 in Panama City Beach
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua

Address: 15625 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413-2580
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 83 Speciality Lodging in Panama City Beach
Price Range: $247 - $695 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aqua 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From a stunning sense of arrival to an array of luxurious amenities to our perfect location within walking distance of fabulous shopping and dining at Pier Park, Aqua sets new standards for the perfect beach vacation. Stunning 1, 2 & 3 bedroom condominiums all with sweeping Gulf views, water gardens, pools and whirlpool spa. Aqua; The color of luxury. The color of Fun. The most colorful vacations begin at Aqua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Aqua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Panama City Beach, Florida
Aqua Hotel Panama City Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing