We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A Great Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beachcomber By The Sea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Beachcomber By The Sea
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Helena, Alabama
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A Great Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

We had read some bad reviews about this place after we had booked it but was pleasantly surprised at how nice the place was.

This is no fancy joint and we were really not expecting it to be so but what it was, was exactly what we wanted; a clean comfortable room with adequate facilities, no parking problems, a place to chill out and relax for a couple of days with great Ocean views and stunning sunsets from the balcony!

We read reports of cockroaches investing the place, didn't see one at all so no concerns there!!

To sum up: Value for money, clean friendly hassle free accommodation, perfect for what we wanted and would definitely stay there again. This would be perfect for families on a budget

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daverogers2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    184
    55
    37
    38
See reviews for
188
164
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lewiston, Maine
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

My husband and infant son stayed at this hotel and it was great. The kitchenette was very useful since my son was so young. We had great views of the beach and it was right outside, we were able to walk and swim very easily every day. The hotel has a great location because we were farther away from the attractions so our time on the beach was private w/o a lot of people around. The trolley stop was right in front of the hotel and we used it to get to some of our destinations, otherwise we would walk, pier park mall was close enough for that. We also had a Winn Dixie grocery store right down the street which was great if we didn't feel like going out.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank litgag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

My friends an i stayed st this hotel back in may of 2011 when we arived an got to our room we were suprised by how big it was for the price we paid. Overall it was a awsome place very roomy well stay agin when we come back next may

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dustyleslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chi Town
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We got a pretty good rate here compared to other hotels that we were looking at, but once we got there we realized why - rooms were very dated and super small. Think Super 8, 1995. We didn't see any bugs like a lot of others are mentioning, but I'm not surprised. Customer service wasn't great, wasn't bad. I wouldn't recommend this place, there are so many other choices!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Time2Go1516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

We were there 9-6 - 9-l3 - was not told of construction being done right under our room until we arrived - hammering & drilling all day. during the night we felt something crawling on us and discovered it was a roach - found in bed and on floor - to top our week off our Iphone just
walked off = we were in our room at the time, but in the living room while room was being cleaned. We notified office immediately and have written to the Management and frankly we don't think they really cared for all our problems - we paid full rate for an unbelievable stay -
thought they might have said "We're sorry" - no reply. Will we go back? Of course not.

Room Tip: Just don't stay there - there must be better and cleaner places in Panama City Beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margie Kessinge... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quincy
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

by the outside appearance and the lobby you would think your staying at the HILTON..but once you get to your room you will quickly see that your in a roach motel with a great veiw!! I will admit it seemed clean but it was so outdated ,OLD, and the beds where tiny!!!I ended up putting sheets on the couch so i could at least get a few hours of sleep..also when i returned from dinner there where two homless guys in camo jackets jumping the fence and haning around the parking lots which made me very nervous..i planed to sit out on the beach that night but quickly changed my mind when seeing two scary guys hangin out in the dark..sorry but i will never return.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonya g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Youngstown, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

We stayed here on 09/23/2011, we went to a concert in Frank Brown park and when we returned to the room tired hungry and ready to go to bed, we were greeted by roaches. We decided to stay and hope it was just a stray few bugs that maybe someone brought with them when they stayed here before us. When we got back Saturday night after the concert they were still there, everywhere in the kitchen area. We left that night and when I went to the counter to tell the girl we were leaving and why, she was rude, never even appologized. Horrible experience and will never stay here again. I feel like we should have been compinsated some how for having to leave late saturday night.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
2.6 km away
Legacy By The Sea
Legacy By The Sea
#10 of 46 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
7.7 km away
The Beachside Resort
The Beachside Resort
#6 of 46 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
1.8 km away
Driftwood Lodge
Driftwood Lodge
#5 of 46 in Panama City Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Panama City Beach-Pier Park Area
Hampton Inn & Suites Panama City...
#8 of 46 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
2.5 km away
Beachbreak By The Sea
Beachbreak By The Sea
#28 of 46 in Panama City Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
8.1 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City B...
#2 of 46 in Panama City Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber By The Sea

Property: Beachcomber By The Sea
Address: 17101 Front Beach Road, Panama City Beach, FL 32413-2343
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Panama City Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Panama City Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beachcomber By The Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort meets convenience at Beachcomber By The Sea, one of BY THE SEA RESORTS' four gulf-front Panama City Beach hotels. The many ball teams, festival-goers and bikers that visit the "Real. Fun. Beach." Prefer the Beachcomber because of its proximity to Frank Brown Park. Families love the heated, gulf-front pool and convenience to the Pier Park shopping, dining and entertainment complex. Couples crave the Jacuzzi suites. Church groups and brides-to-be adore the affordable rooms and banquet room located across the street at the Beachcomber Retreat. All of our guests enjoy perks like FREE continental breakfast and discounts at area attractions. Other amenities include gulf-front accommodations with private balconies and fully-equipped kitchens, a heated, gulf-front whirlpool, a laundry facility, a computer lounge and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Beachcomber By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber By The Sea Hotel Panama City Beach
Beachcomber By The Sea Panama City Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing