We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“very afforable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beachcomber By The Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beachcomber By The Sea
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“very afforable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We normally stay at a different hotel but it was fully booked. We decide to go with this one. It was very clean. It had a great view. We will probly stay here again. The heated pool was great.

Room Tip: The 4 floor an up is above all the palm trees. great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonvon78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    185
    55
    37
    38
See reviews for
190
166
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swanton, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Beach and pool were awesome. Hotel room was average and bed was not great but it was a great value. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcookin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

As a bride trying to plan a destination wedding, this was the worst place I could have ever looked at. From the beginning, communication was lax. I was under the assumption, due to misguiding information, that our hall was right on the beach. The manager never introduced herself, never made herself known and never came out of her office to deal with us or anyone involved in our wedding while we were down there. In fact, between this place and The Celebration Place, $130 worth of liquor was stolen and NO ONE FESSED UP or even acknowledged this loss. My husband and I even stayed here on our wedding night. We did not encounter one nice, friendly face to welcome us. We tried to drop off welcome bags for a few of our guests, who unfortunately stayed here, and no one was helpful. When the rude front desk clerk couldn't find the names of our guests (because I gave the wrong check in date) it was like she felt our problem was solved. She didn't try to ask us if there was a different date she could look under for us. She didn't even ask us if we wanted to leave the welcome bags with her. I had to do all of the suggesting to help her do her job. This experience was extremely disappointing. I am going to put a bad review on every single site I can for the Beachcomber. It was awful. If you are a bride looking to plan a wedding in PCB or a guest looking to spend some time in the Beachcomber rooms, DON'T. I cannot say enough bad things about this place.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

From the minute we checked in to the time we checked out, we had nothing but one problem after the other. When we arrived to our room we were quite surprised to find dirty dishes in our cabinets, food crumbs in the drawers and only 4 towel sets for the 6 of us that they knew were coming! After the maids came the next day to clean the room, they continued to mutter at the fact that they didn't find it dirty...REALLY! Another day, the guys went deep sea fishing and the girls went to Destin to goto the outlet mall. When I arrived back to the room, I found my door wide open and my room only partially serviced. MY BAD, I left my pillow on the bed so they said they could not make the bed but what about my clean towels I didn't get or only half the trash cans empty and nevermind the sweeping of the floor...after all it is beach front hotel why would they think there might be sand they should sweep up. When I went to the front desk to address the concern of my door being left open, I was addressed by an overwhelmed desk clerk with attitude. When I asked to speak to the manager on duty I was told he was gone for the day even though I just saw him walk through the office door. I had to wait over an hour while they called a manager from home who doesn't even work at this location...what good was he...NONE! I would never stay at this resort again. I would rather stay home than deal with what I dealt with...rude employees who have been trained to only say sorry, sorry, sorry, sorry. Well thats great but sorry never fixed anything. Oh, if you do decide to stay there, don't eat the yogurt. I say this because for two days, they served expired yogurt and the other days they served it on the use by date. USE BY means before. AWFUL EXPENSIVE WASTE OF TIME....

Room Tip: Floors 3, 5 and 6 have ice machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mommaford99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

This hotel had the worst customer service. The employees were very rude. We spent a lot of money and was not worth it. Its a beautiful resort and could be a nice place. They need new employees and better management until then don't waste your time on this place!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pcb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

My children were exhausted from traveling five hours from Orlando. Although our original intention was to drive from Orlando to Birmingham, by the time we made it to Panama City Beach they really wanted to stay one more night at a hotel (to rest and swim) before traveling all the way home. So, I began walking into various hotels and resorts to check on availability and prices during spring break, all ranging $145 - $220 a night before taxes and fees. Of course, we were expecting high prices, but we had found a coupon that did not have exclusions or suggested dates on it from Beachcomber by the Sea. I walked in to check on availability and prices, and when the male clerk gave me a price of $179 for one night, I asked if they were currently honoring their coupon posted in the travel coupon book that I found at a rest stop. Laughing histarically in my face, he said, "No. We don't honor coupons during our busiest time of the year. That would be like giving money away."

So, even if my husband and I had not decided to drive to Destin to leave behind the drunks-infested Panama City Beach, we definitely would have not stayed at this hotel after such a mistreatment of guests found at the front desk, which is the first impression of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Busymomoftwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clinton
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

My family of 5 stayed here. The room was very spacious with it own kitchen. We enjoyed sitting on our private balcony looking over the white sandy beach! Everyone (staff) we spoke to was so friendly and helpful! We enjoyed our stay here a lot and we will definitely stay again next time we are in the area! I recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heidi t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
2.6 km away
Legacy By The Sea
Legacy By The Sea
#10 of 47 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
7.7 km away
The Beachside Resort
The Beachside Resort
#5 of 47 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
1.8 km away
Driftwood Lodge
Driftwood Lodge
#6 of 47 in Panama City Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Panama City Beach-Pier Park Area
Hampton Inn & Suites Panama City...
#8 of 47 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
2.5 km away
Beachbreak By The Sea
Beachbreak By The Sea
#30 of 47 in Panama City Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
8.1 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City B...
#2 of 47 in Panama City Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber By The Sea

Property: Beachcomber By The Sea
Address: 17101 Front Beach Road, Panama City Beach, FL 32413-2343
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Panama City Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Panama City Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beachcomber By The Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort meets convenience at Beachcomber By The Sea, one of BY THE SEA RESORTS' four gulf-front Panama City Beach hotels. The many ball teams, festival-goers and bikers that visit the "Real. Fun. Beach." Prefer the Beachcomber because of its proximity to Frank Brown Park. Families love the heated, gulf-front pool and convenience to the Pier Park shopping, dining and entertainment complex. Couples crave the Jacuzzi suites. Church groups and brides-to-be adore the affordable rooms and banquet room located across the street at the Beachcomber Retreat. All of our guests enjoy perks like FREE continental breakfast and discounts at area attractions. Other amenities include gulf-front accommodations with private balconies and fully-equipped kitchens, a heated, gulf-front whirlpool, a laundry facility, a computer lounge and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca and Hotels.com so you can book your Beachcomber By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber By The Sea Hotel Panama City Beach
Beachcomber By The Sea Panama City Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing