We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little run down but great for the price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beachcomber By The Sea
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Clinton, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A little run down but great for the price!”
Reviewed 4 August 2009

Hotel-The hotel is right on the beach and there were no crowds and we went in the middle of the summer. I was always able to get a parking spot at the hotel and never had to park across the street. That really would have been no big deal though because it really is just directly across the street. The free breakfast is pretty tiny and I was sick of it by the end of the week. All it had were bagels, muffins, and apples. The free shuffleboard was fun and the desk staff was friendly. They even taped up my wound for me when I cut myself with a paring knife. There is an awesome gift shop across the street where everything in there is only 1 dollar (necklaces, shells, shot glasses, shirts, etc.). We went there almost every day. The maids did clean our room everyday but my only complaint with them is that they never restocked anything the whole week. I constantly had to go to the desk for kleenexes, toilet paper, dish soap, towels etc. or I just took them from the maid cart myself. Our balcony was small but beautiful view. There was a room with 2 computers with internet so you can check emails, etc. but no printers hooked to them.

Pool-The pool was decent sized but got a little crowded at times. There is only one grill by the pool that takes charcoal so if that is your plan, you need to claim it. The hot tub was plenty hot the first three days we were there but there was only one jet that actually worked. The last three days, the hot tub would not heat up and was the same temperature as the pool.

Beach-It was awesome. There really were no crowds. Beach chairs cost money. The sand was white and felt like powdered sugar. The water was a little mossy but I come from Illinois lakes so that doesn't bother me. The first half of the trip, we had lots of sun and calm water but the last half was overcast and we had some big waves to body surf on. It was kind of nice to have the best of both worlds. It never really rained on us. We found some decent shells but nothing even close to what you see in Mexico.

Room-The room was fairly spacious and I was pleased for the amount of money I spent. The beds were not very comfortable and my wife and I always felt like we were rolling towards the middle. The sofa looked really uncomfortable but the kids didn't really complain so it must not have been too bad. Made great use of the kitchen area. It had a full fridge, stove, oven, microwave, toaster, and coffee pot. We only ate out one meal on the whole trip. Other than that, we used the kitchen. There is a Winn Dixie just across the street and a few doors down. You can see it from the hotel. DO NOT waste your time driving clear down to the Super Wal-Mart for groceries. It takes forever to get there and it is a madhouse. We did that first but then went to Winn Dixie for extras and it seemed just as cheap as Wal-Mart. If you do go to Wal-Mart or anything down that way, get off of Front Beach Road and drive back to Panama City Beach Parkway. Then head that way. Do that for there and back. It will save you tons of time. Anyways, we brought our crock pot and used that for almost every supper because it was something we could get going early in the day and just leave it go until we were ready for supper.

Shopping-Alvin's Island down by Shipwreck Island water park was HUGE and had many cool items and live alligators in the store. Also, you can not miss those everything is 99 cent stores. Those rock!

Extras-The only extra thing we did was the pirate cruise on the Sea Dragon. It was $100 for 2 adults, 1 teen, and 2 children. We had fun. There was a sea battle with another boat, dolphin watching, face painting, dancing, cannon firing, and limbo. They even got to haul up a sunkin' treasure chest from the harbor and pick out some booty. The snack bar was very reasonable. We paid $27 for 5 drinks at the marina restaurant waiting for the cruise but drinks on the cruise were only a dollar, with 3 dollar beers and margaritas.

This was my first time to the area and I really liked it. It was really way more run down than I thought it would be but times are tough. What can I say though, I am a sucker for the beach and getting out of Illinois.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corey87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    203
    60
    39
    39
See reviews for
208
183
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
springfield, mo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2009

Just wanted to say that my family stayed at Beachcomber over Thanksgiving weekend 2008. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was beautiful and clean. We had the best night's sleep with the balcony door open and hearing the waves crash against the shore. We will definitely stay again during the "off season." The prices are awesome and the lodging is terrific. Thanks so much for making our vacation worth it, especially during these hard economic times.

Sincerely,

The Trivette Family
Springfield, MO

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trivettefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockbridge, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2009

I was a little apprehensive about booking this place for my family's vacation after reading some of the negative reviews. It was either this place or the Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort. After some internal debate, I went ahead and booked it, a move I did not regret.
For one, this hotel is located on the west end of the beach, away from the noisy Las Vegas atmosphere of the central and eastern ends and convenient to shopping (Winn Dixie, CVS and a dollar store are all within walking distance and Pier Park is a short drive away). I had heard about problems with parking but we never did have to use the alternate lots (across the street) the front desk agent pointed out to us upon check in. Every room has a view of the pool and ocean with nicely furnished balconies (2 chairs and a small table). Our room (a double suite) had 2 double beds in a seperate bedroom (by the door and streetside which could get a bit noisy), 2 TVs (one in the bedroom, the other in the living room), a full kitchen (stove with oven, full size refrigerator, sink, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, utensils, cookware and dishes) and a living room with an ocean view, sleeper sofa and dining room table with chairs). Granted the room was beginning to show its age and we never could get the patio door to close fully and yes I did see some mold growing on the ceiling but those trade offs afforded us one of the best vacations we've ever had. I breathe code orange smog on the way to work every day, a couple days of mold wasn't gonna kill me. The pool was nice and clean and never too crowded (mornings and late evening were good times) and the beach was beautiful with clean white sand and beautiful sparkling water. Plus we got 10% off at the Beach Break Restaurant (owned by the hotel and a short jaunt east) and kids eat free, just be sure to show your room key or parking pass. If you avoid peak times like Spring Break and the Fourth of July, the Beachcomber by the Sea is a marvelous choice for your entire family.

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank georgiaonmymind13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2009

We had 2 rooms, and stayed for a week. There are 3 areas to your room, a large bedroom, a kitchen area, and a great living room with porch and ocean view. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Cleaning service is good, and desk staff is great! Parking is tight, but we usually didn't have a problem. Plenty of places to eat up and down Front Beach Blvd. Has a nice separate business/computer area, and a laundry facility. The pool and spa are big and clean! Definitely a keeper!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank retirednana49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewisville, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2009

The view is right on the beach! and a mile stroll on the beach to the pier park. That has the Jimmy Buffet Maragrita Ville and tons of shopping areas plus a mall attached.
The rooms were pleasantly nice and large. Could have def. fit 6-8 people in there. Well under a hundred bucks a night so great value.
The only negative thing I have to say is that the breakfast is a CROCK, just apple or orange juice, three types of muffins and some TINY yogurt cups. But we slept in to late most days.
I did like that the bed room had its one door separte from the kitchen/bath/living room. but we just unfolded the couch and threw the mattress on top so we could sleep looking out of the balcony into the ocean.
Great place to stay, I would try to be on the bottom floors because there are only two elevators that take a while on the weeknds. But I will def. stay there again!!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pipikris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutledge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2009

PRICE and CHECK-IN/OUT: I always consult tripadvisor.com before making hotel reservations at beaches, and we based our decision to go to the Beachcomber on reviews as well as the price. (It seems that other PCB hotels I called with decent ratings were more expensive than the Beachcomber.) We arrived several hours before the check-in time and were pleasantly surprised that they had a room ready for us. Check out procedures were very quick and handled by a friendly receptionist.

LOCATION: Great! This Beachcomber is only one mile from Pier Park and the beach was not as crowdy as I expected. The only downfall to this location is that you have to drive a few miles to reach the good seafood restaurants.

BREAKFAST: Unless you want nothing but muffins, bagels and juice every morning, plan to bring some breakfast foods with you. The breakfast dining area is very small too.

ROOM 301: We liked the fact that our room (#301) was at the end near the stairs with an excellent view of the gulf as well as a view of the pretty gazebo beside the property. My boys liked the beds (green/blue colors) and we let them sleep in the bedroom while we used an air mattress from home on top of the worn sofa sleeper mattress. The living room and kitchenette were smaller than I expected (we've stayed in much roomier hotels/condos at similar prices). Although we were a little cramped, all was well the first day until we began noticing quite a few large bugs (looked like cockroaches) during the evening/night. The next morning I asked a housekeeper if I might borrow something to spray the cockroaches with and she directed me to the front desk staff who immediately said she will call maintenance to spray my room. We wondered if the spray might contain a strong odor (the front desk staff didn't know) so the staff offered to let us have another room. The clerk said what I saw was probably not cockroaches but palmetto bugs from the palm trees which are close to the room. All I knew is that they looked like cockroaches and I didn't want them around my family. The other problems with room 301 is that the carpet was older, the room didn't smell fresh, and the bathroom door wouldn't lock (which can be a problem when you're the only female in a family with three males).

ROOM 505: As soon as we walked in this room, we could tell a difference. It smelled fresh, the carpet looked new, all locks worked, and the only bug I saw for the remainder of our trip was outside the room. This room had exactly the same layout/same size as the other one.

POOL: I didn't get in the pool but the pool area seemed nice with plenty of seating and my boys loved the pool. I liked the fact that the water was not deeper than 5 feet.

PARKING: I loved the fact that the parking area was right at the hotel and we always were able to find a space close to the stairs or elevators.

One more thing....if two red flags are posted, please do not go in the ocean. My family didn't go in the water when red flags were up but several people ignored the flags and got caught in riptides. Fortunately, they were rescued but everyone isn't so lucky.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Familyof2boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Gorda Fl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2009

The staff at the front office at the beachcomber went out of their way to make sure everything in your stay surpassed your expectations. My wife and I stayed at the hotel to celebrate our 45th wedding aniversery and could not get over the staff at this hotel who not only did their job but called the room to ask if there was anything they could do for us. The view of the Gulf from our room was a delight and we enjoyed relaxing on the outdoor balcony.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frangfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
Legacy By The Sea
#12 of 48 in Panama City Beach
807 reviews
The Beachside Resort
#5 of 48 in Panama City Beach
538 reviews
Seahaven Beach Hotel
#30 of 48 in Panama City Beach
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beachbreak By The Sea
#31 of 48 in Panama City Beach
445 reviews
Long Beach
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
Ocean Breeze By The Sea
#35 of 48 in Panama City Beach
109 reviews
Holiday Inn Resort Panama City B...
#2 of 48 in Panama City Beach
2,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber By The Sea

Property: Beachcomber By The Sea
Address: 17101 Front Beach Road, Panama City Beach, FL 32413-2343
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Panama City Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Panama City Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beachcomber By The Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort meets convenience at Beachcomber By The Sea, one of BY THE SEA RESORTS' four gulf-front Panama City Beach hotels. The many ball teams, festival-goers and bikers that visit the "Real. Fun. Beach." Prefer the Beachcomber because of its proximity to Frank Brown Park. Families love the heated, gulf-front pool and convenience to the Pier Park shopping, dining and entertainment complex. Couples crave the Jacuzzi suites. Church groups and brides-to-be adore the affordable rooms and banquet room located across the street at the Beachcomber Retreat. All of our guests enjoy perks like FREE continental breakfast and discounts at area attractions. Other amenities include gulf-front accommodations with private balconies and fully-equipped kitchens, a heated, gulf-front whirlpool, a laundry facility, a computer lounge and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Beachcomber By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber By The Sea Hotel Panama City Beach
Beachcomber By The Sea Panama City Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing