We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (564)
Filter reviews
564 results
Traveller rating
244
191
78
31
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
244
191
78
31
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews leisure facilities steam room spa treatments modern hotel family wedding executive room relaxing break reception staff restaurant staff tea and coffee making facilities couldn't fault evening meal good nights sleep my partner enjoyable stay lovely room following morning
Filter
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 564 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2017

Stayed here with my husband , sister and brother in law, Fabulous Hotel , relaxed and friendly, but also professional , great staff ,who are more than willing to assist and help in any way , especially Nadine on reception who warmly welcomed us and made sure we had all the information we needed , and Lesley in the restaurant , where we had a delicious meal, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel , spotlessly clesn , couldn't fault anything at all .Very convienent for Wrightington Hospital , where my husband had an appointment , its just a few minutes away.The hotel even rang me when we got home to tell me I had left my tablets there and they offered to post them to me . Super place !!!

Room Tip: some of the lovely rooms have a Juliet balcony with double doors looking onto the courtyard
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mbar2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wright_Hotel, Business Development Manager at The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2017

Dear Guest,

We are so pleased you had such an enjoyable time with us and thank you kindly for your very positive comments, they are very much appreciated and will be passed on to the whole team.

Should you be returning to the area we hope we will get the opportunity to welcome you back to The Wrightington Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 15, 2017

We stayed overnight at this hotel 2 years ago and booked a meal in the restaurant for a family celebration, We had a wonderful time and the Birthday celebration with family from around the country was a success. However, times have changed for the worse. This hotel no longer caters for families eating in their restaurant and will clearly not cater for family celebrations (involving children), if the celebration will last beyond 7.30p.m. The General Manager states "we do have many repeat customers who are aware of our policy who do either dine early with their children or dine later without them". The restaurant opens at 6.00 p.m so you are expected to choose your food, wait for such to be cooked, eat and vacate in 1.5 hours. Anyone with children will know this is impossible.

I presume next the restaurant will be asking for you to complete a questionnaire upon your social background to ensure that you qualify to dine in the restaurant.

This hotel and restaurant is actively discriminating against families which is utterly appalling. They clearly are very busy and happy to turn away 5 rooms, and a restaurant booking for 14 people. They were also quite happy to turn away Spa treatments for 5 people.

Mr and Mrs Whelan, the Directors of Wrightington Country club, have children and grandchildren and should be ashamed of the hotels policies.

We will certainly not be going back to a hotel whom discriminates against children.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
3  Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wright_Hotel, Business Development Manager at The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments.

Whilst we completely understand your frustration with regards your initial enquiry, it is such a shame that following our conversation about us completely reviewing our policy that you remain feeling this way. We have indeed recognised that we needed to update our dining offering to children and within 24 hours we were 100% reactive to your views, instated full dining times for children. We rely on the feedback of our customers to continually improve our offering, and for that we are grateful to you.

I would just like to highlight at the time of enquiry we did offer alternative availability either side of your requested date in Bennett's restaurant for your family celebrations.

I must also state that by no means are we discriminatory to families and/or children. We offer children's menus throughout our hotel's restaurants and private events, in addition to this we offer a family and children's membership package to the leisure club. Specific classes have been designed for these members and swimming lessons for children at the hotel are very popular.

Again, thank you for your valuable input, it has encouraged us change to our position and move forward with our services. We wish you a very enjoyable and memorable time for you forthcoming celebrations and we truly hope that you will visit us in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here a number of times whilst lecturing at the Edge Hill University. Accommodation good standard, the restaurant is particularly good for dinner.

Well done to all keep it up.

Highly recommended, I will be back.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
Thank bobthedoggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wright_Hotel, Business Development Manager at The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback, your comments are very warmly received.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you return.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2017

We stayed here the night of our wedding, after getting married in Southport. Even though we arrived late, the check in was easy and we were greeted with a lovely, spacious room. We booked one of the suites and it was worth the money; large king size bed, large bathroom with powerful shower. Was good for a nights stay ans reasonably priced, including a good buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stretz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wright_Hotel, Business Development Manager at The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2017

Dear Guest,

We are delighted you had a restful stay with us following your wedding celebrations.

Thank you for your feedback and congratulations to you both, perhaps you might return to us for your anniversary celebrations next year.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2017

Booked a platinum room as we had a wedding nearby in the evening and thought we could chill using the leisure facilities in the afternoon.

Check in was friendly and quick. All staff were polite and helpful.

Room was worth the money - not sure what the standard rooms were like but I thought that this room offered value for money and would certainly book it again. The room was modern and clean and the bed was extremely comfortable.

Leisure facilities - swimming pool is a decent size, there is also a steam room and Jacuzzi (this was not working whilst we was there).

Bars - drinks were reasonably priced and was atmosphere was nice.

Breakfast - help yourself to hot/cold buffet - good choice and tasted good.

Would definitely stay again if in the area.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank EmmaBaxter76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wright_Hotel, Business Development Manager at The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2017

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback, your comments are very much appreciated.

We hope you will return in the future.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews