We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wrightington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2017

Being so close to Wrightington Hospital is a bonus.

Another enjoyable stay.

Dinner in the restaurant was superb. The best fillet steak we have ever tasted !

Pleased to see the lovely efficient Danielle at breakfast

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LakelandProprietor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wright_Hotel, Business Development Manager at The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you kindly for your very kind words, we are really pleased you have been comfortable as our guest here at Wrightington Hotel.

Danielle is thrilled with your personal mention of her, equally are the chefs.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (495)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 495 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2017

We recently held our wedding here, anyone considering their wedding here then get it booked.
We had the best day ever, every aspect of it was fabulous.
Sean, Jenni, Rachel & the rest of the team are a huge asset to this hotel, nothing was too much trouble.
Roll on our first anniversary when we get to come back.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank harryp44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wright_Hotel, Business Development Manager at The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you so much for you very kind comments, we are delighted you thoroughly enjoyed your wedding day. Your feedback has been passed on to the team who are thrilled you are so pleased.

Congratulations and we hope to welcome you back to in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

So the hotel has a great look to it - fabulous lobby etc however......

Pros - great gym and swim facilities. Decent on site restaurant.

Cons - check in : didn’t inform us there was no lift to our first floor room and despite seeing how much luggage I had did not offer any help in getting there . I had to ask where breakfast was and the times prior to heading on my hike up the stairs with my cases.

Poor night sleep due to flashing green light above my head which I believe may have been a smoke alarm directly above the bed. This also kept my colleague awake in the room next door

My bed wasn’t made properly- the bottom sheet didn’t coven the mattress.

The toiletries where chucked on the shelf in the bathroom. I didn’t have a floor towel on the first night and my hand towels were frayed.

The tv was ancient and took me ages to get it to work. The hairdryer is tethered to the drawer making drying hair challenging. The sockets on the dressing table to close to desk top so difficult to plug anything in.

Breakfast is a trip back to the 1970s with a grumpy waitress to boot.

To top this experience off - the lady whilst checking out answered the phone whilst I was mid sentence!! No wonder there was no sign off with usual “I trust you enjoyed your stay” because it would take too long to check people out !!!!

Attention to detail and staff training would make this a very good hotel but at the moment it’s not worth the money

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Cakeykate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wright_Hotel, Business Development Manager at The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and whilst you have not enjoyed all aspects of your stay, your comments are very much appreciated.

The alarm light you mention is a new system and has been adjusted since installed, I am terribly sorry you have happened to stay before it was set at its completely correct operating level, with regards its visual appearance. It shouldn't have affected your rest and for that we are truly very sorry.

With regards your other comments, they are duly noted and will be investigated, thank you for bringing them to our attention.

Should you wish to discuss your visit further please do contact me directly.

Yours Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

Nice business hotel, just off the motorway. Easy access to Manchester, but in the country with easy parking. The restaurant at the hotel is fine for a meal. I did not use any of the other facilities, but staff were reasonably friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rfbro26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

The hotel is very clean and the room was comfortable. The only problem with the room was the sound proofing. I'm sure our neighbours around us weren't anti social but you could hear them. We enjoyed using the swimming pool and the other facilities were excellent. Our evening meal was of a high quality and the staff were excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayandpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

The smoke alarm in the bedroom is right above the bed and flashes all night long. The hairdryer blew up and flashes and smoke came out , the landing lights shone under the bedroom door - the whole night was like Blackpool illuminations ! Didn't get a wink of sleep. I told the receptionist but she just said it was a new system and the flashing smoke alarm proves its working! If you want to actually sleep, don't stay at this hotel.
However, the gym, pool, spa, hairdresser facilities are good. Bit strange that the sauna is only available to women, as its in the women's changing room, hubby was a bit disappointed.
The restaurant food was nice, delicious starters crab cakes for me and black pudding with poached egg for hubby, main meal was ok - pork fillet for me and fish for hubby but the 'rostti' thing with it was horrible. Veg needed some seasoning. The pudding was awful, Apple and pear crumble but crumble tasted like sawdust. So meal overall was ok.
There are lots of weddings and parties going on and quite a few loud drunk guests, swearing and swaying in the lobby .
The bedrooms are nice and the bed was really comfy , which is good if you are just lying there all night watching flashing lights.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MotherManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wright_Hotel, Business Development Manager at The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and whilst you have not enjoyed all aspects of your stay, your comments are very much appreciated.

The alarm light you mention is a new system and has been adjusted since installed, I am terribly sorry you have happened to stay before it was set at its completely correct operating level, with regards its visual appearance. It shouldn't have affected your rest and for that we are truly very sorry.

With regards your other comments, again they are duly noted and thank you for highlighting the positives also.

Should you wish to discuss your visit further please do contact me directly.

Yours Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed with my girlfriend at the Wrightington. Paid £92 for an executive suite with no breakfast. Didn't get a chance to try the spa but the room was okay. Was a bit dissappointed to get a shower over bath, particularly having paid extra for an executive room. However, considering the spa is included in the price I'd say it was still good value even if the rooms are a bit tired. Jill on reception was really nice too, made a refreshing change from being greeted by a nervous teenager.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Harrison4612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightington
4.5 km away
Macdonald Kilhey Court
1.5 km away
Premier Inn Wigan (M6 Jct 27) Hotel
10.9 km away
Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel
9.6 km away
Rufford Arms Hotel
Rufford Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rufford
280 reviews
26.4 km away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club

Address: Moss Lane | Wigan, Wrightington WN6 9PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Wrightington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wrightington
Price Range: $99 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club is set in picturesque countryside, yet just seconds from Junction 27, M6. This modern 73-bedroomed hotel offers award-winning cuisine, extensive conference/banqueting facilities and boasts one of the finest leisure clubs in the North West with indoor pool, gym, sauna, steam room, aerobics, hair salon and beauty salon. With an elegant reception, foyer area and landscaped courtyard...the perfect venue for business and pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wrightington Hotel And Country Club
Best Western Wigan
Wigan Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing