We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow. Wow. Wow. Pictures don't do it justice.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pensacola Lighthouse and Museum

Pensacola Lighthouse and Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$21.99*
and up
Civil War Tour of Pensacola
Ranked #4 of 104 things to do in Pensacola
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Best View in Town! Climb 177 steps up the historic Pensacola Lighthouse & Museum for one of the most beautiful views on the Gulf Coast. Built in 1859, the lighthouse is located on board NAS Pensacola.The top of the tower offers stunning views of Pensacola Pass (where Pensacola Bay meets the Gulf of Mexico), three forts, the Pensacola skyline and the historic Navy Yard. The fully restored Keepers' Quarters, built in 1869, is home to a museum and a gift shop. Visit this historic spot in America's First Settlement, established in 1559. Make a day of it and visit the National Naval Aviation Museum and Fort Barrancas while you're here. Our nature walk takes you to the white sands of beautiful quiet-water beach–a perfect beach for kids. Bring the family and a picnic lunch and stay a while. The Pensacola Lighthouse and museum is open 7 days/week. Special tours include Blue Angel practices, Light of the Moon and Ghost Hunts. Private tour and function times available as well.
Lindsborg, Kansas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Wow. Wow. Wow. Pictures don't do it justice.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Just go. It is beautiful. As another reviewer mentioned, they continuously run an episode of the ghost hunters show in the basement--when the ghost hunters came to the lighthouse. If you have skittish kids, I would avoid the basement. The museum part of the lighthouse is free and one must pay only if they want to climb to the top.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank pixiekansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    668
    367
    76
    12
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spery, Iowa
Level Contributor
129 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Worth the climb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

A lot of steps to a fantastic view. Staff & volunteers are wonderful. We did the Blue Angles tour.- by reservation only- and it was amazing. Tourism Cares was prepping to do a bunch of work to make it even better for parking and landscaping. Even if you can't do the climb, the building and area are worth a visit.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank thbergs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Michigan
Level Contributor
513 reviews
130 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“A MUST for the Blue Angels show, even for seniors”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

This was an OMG experience! There were 8 of us, seniors ranging 62 to 80 and we all made it! I will have to say you would never guess one was 80 though. Of the 13 health warnings, we had 7 of them! There are only 15 slots, so book early. Your are refunded if the training session is cancelled. We had a beautiful morning and the views are incredible but we would not have done it at our age had it not been for the BA show. You are so limited from the bleachers compared to being right up there with them. They fly right over top of you. It is loud, but not horrible (my husbad did remove his hearing aids). I expected vibrations as they passed over but there were none. We weren't sure if we could climb the 177 stairs (9in rise) but we made it. There are quite a few places to stop and rest, plus since only 15 were allowed, it wasn't crowded and everyone was going in the same direction. Our legs/thighs were screaming for the first 50 steps and then it was OK but we had to rest to catch our breath several times. There is a railing and it makes it easier to help pull yourself up. I hate heights but was OK looking out and up, rather than down once we reached to top viewing area. I clung to the building however. The viewing area is narrow, maybe 3 ft wide and the railing is maybe 4 ft high. The trip down went much faster but we all felt it more in our legs. Once on the bottom, they felt like "jelly" for about a half hour or so. It was well worth it though. As far as the actual lighthouse, I couldn't tell you. We went solely for the Blues veiwing. This should be on everyone's bucket list!!!!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Worth The Climb”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

My husband and I visited the Pensacola Light house for the second time in March. We had reservations to see the Blue Angels practice. I definitely recommend making a reservation to see the Blue Angels practice from the top of the lighthouse. Amazing!!! The light house is very well kept. It appears they have done much work to the outside since the last time we visited. There is a great museum inside that explains much of the history of the lighthouse and the lighthouse keepers. The museum also houses many artifacts from the time of the lighthouse keepers. Very interesting and educational if you are a history buff!! The climb to the top includes 177 steps. It actually does not take too long, even with a few breaks. There are no landings or ledges in the lighthouse so you have to step to the side to make room for people coming up or going down. But, when you get to the top it is well worth the climb. The view is magnificent especially on a sunny, clear day. I would definitely recommend the Pensacola Lighthouse. It offers a little bit of history and adventure!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank FLskibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocoee, FL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful View From The Top, But You Have To Work For It!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

I am a fan of all things historical. The Pensacola Lighthouse did not disappoint. After the challenging climb to the top (no elevator) and the much easier descent, we walked through the former lighthouse keeper's home. The home is now a museum filled with local history. Well worth my time.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank jrmomof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pensacola Lighthouse and Museum also viewed

Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Pensacola Lighthouse and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing