We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“PLEEEEASE offer grilled fish and seafood options” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain Joey Patti's Seafood Restaurant

Captain Joey Patti's Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 645 Restaurants in Pensacola
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We take fresh gulf Coast seafood,fry it to perfection and serve it to you with a smile. We are hoping to have a grill installed soon but we do have a lot of non-fiction menu items available. We do not use any heat lamps here at the restaurant so everything is served fresh.
Little River, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“PLEEEEASE offer grilled fish and seafood options”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We always visit Joey Patti's whenever we stay in the area. We would go every day if we could get food that is not FRIED. Everything is good but I cannot for the life of me understand why they refuse to do grilled seafood and fish. Everything is FRIED FRIED FRIED. Others we know also comment on this, it must lose them custom because they also go elsewhere for a more healthy menu. So do we. If there was a grilled option at Capt Joey's we really would eat there every day, but cannot afford all that extra fat and carbs on the battered and fried everything. Seriously, come on, put a grill in! Food is good, but I give it an overall three rating because it is all fried, with no healthy options. (except one single salmon salad.)

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank daisyeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    77
    27
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
177 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great seafood!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

On our trip to Pensacola, we wanted to stop for some good seafood. We ended up here and the food was delicious. I'm typically not a fan of seafood, but I had the clam chowder and it was fantastic. My husband loved his fish and so did my kids! Great hushpuppies too.

(PS - When I was researching, I got Joe Patti's Seafood Market confused with Captain Joey Patti's. They're both fantastic, but two totally different things. Joe Patti's is a market (with a deli and sushi restaurant) and Captain Joey Patti's is a walk-in or sit down restaurant.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Breanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, FL
Level Contributor
417 reviews
268 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Old Time good Seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Located on "C" street. Casual, and fairly priced seafood served by some friendliest servers around. Josey has, with her family been an institution in seafood for the Pensacola area.

Helpful?
1 Thank JiamesB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
127 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Lunch only- Fresh fish and lots of it in a down home atmosphere- worth the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

We have heard from diehard fans of Joey Patti's for years and finally got a chance to try it out. We were impressed with the amount of fish, freshness, and speed of service. We ordered a Seafood Platter 1 with 5 oysters, 5 shrimp, and the catch of the day and the Catch of the day dinner of Bassa. I gave an overall rating of 4 instead of 5 stars as neither of us cared for the baked beans and hushpuppies were just o.k... The seafood was perfect though as stated.
The dining room was very busy but we were seated quickly. Service was fast and attentive. This is a very casual place with plastic silverware. No view as it is in an industrial area. They are closed on Sunday and Monday and opened Tuesday-Sat. from 11-4:30.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank FloridagirlP-cola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cheap but good fried seafood”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Chucks out inexpensive but good fried seafood by the boatload. Pretty sterile dining room, but lots of people just get it to carry out. The matron of the place isn't too customer friendly, but the people she's hired are.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank October141066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Captain Joey Patti's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Captain Joey Patti's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing