We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (283)
Filter reviews
283 results
Traveller rating
196
64
12
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
196
64
12
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold floridaisland housepine islandcorn chowderblue crabresearch centertriple tailcuban sandwichboca grandemousse cakesanibel and captivamahia water view roomcabbage keyfort myersheritage trailscreened in porch
Filter
Updating list...
225 - 230 of 283 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had a family luncheon at the Tarpon Lodge Restaurant and really enjoyed the atmosphere, food and service. The menu was interesting and offered something for all tastes. The service was excellent. This was a gem that you might miss if you don't look carefully.

Room Tip: We did not stay at the Lodge; only ate lunch in the restaurant.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kl34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TarponLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Tarpon Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you for choosing Tarpon Lodge & Restaurant for your family luncheon. We appreciate the time you took to write a review. It is "word of mouth" recommendations and reviews like yours that bring people to our hidden "gem" for the first time!

See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Not many women turn 50 and want to go tarpon fishing for their big birthday, but I did! Only problem... tarpon season's pretty much over in October around Boca Grande in FL. The Tarpon Lodge has 3 local guides who keep their boats docked here and we hooked up with Capt. Miles who did a little homework to see what options were available for my tarpon fishing desire. I was the only one in the boat to hook a tarpon that day... But, I digress. The Tarpon Lodge is a wonderful facility. Clean, well kept grounds, a wonderful restaurant. The chef prepared our redfish we had caught in 3 different variations; blackened, grilled, and a brown glaze. All were exquisite! Thank you, Chef! We brought our kayaks along for the trip as well and found the island a great place for paddling. Can you tell I had a great birthday week? Try it for yourself, I dare you;) Oh, by the way, we also found the Tarpon Lodge is owned by the same family who runs the cottages and restaurant on nearby Cabbage Key. Capt. Miles took us there for lunch on my birthday fishing trip which was pretty cool because Cabbage Key is only accessible by boat or floatplane. Cheers!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IslandNiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TarponLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Tarpon Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Happy Birthday and cheers to you!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are lucky to have local fishing guides who dock their boats with us and are glad to hear that Captain Miles made your 50th birthday fishing trip memorable! The redfish that you caught and our chefs prepared sounds like a delicious birthday dinner.

We agree that your decision to bring your kayaks to Tarpon Lodge was a wise one! We are conveniently located on The Great Calusa Blueway. This 190-mile network of marked trails in Lee County extends from Pine Island Sound to up the Caloosahatchee River and on to Bonita Springs.

Thanks again for your wonderful review of your birthday week with us. You made our week!

p.s. Love the picture of the tarpon that you hooked that day but there was one thing about the photos that we were confused about. There is no way that the woman in the pictures was 50 years old. Are you sure you got the birthday, right? :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2012

stayed there with wife and kid, on our way to North Captiva. However, did not like it. Mobile airco in the room. Very bad beds. Need to be replaced. And the place is supposed to be free of pets, though we found lot's of dog hairs in our room (my wife is alergic to dogs, she sensed immediately when arriving).
The breakfast is simple, but cosy.
Would stay again, but only after checking room for beds and doghairs. Too expensive however for what it is.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kvdbelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TarponLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Tarpon Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We truly value the comments and suggestions from our guests and we can assure you that our general manager has taken the appropriate steps to prevent future guests from having the same experience.

First, we checked the three beds in the room that you stayed in and have determined that one of the mattresses needs to be replaced. Thank you for pointing this out. We apologize for the uncomfortable sleep that you had a result.

We have a "no pets" policy here at Tarpon Lodge and have directed the housekeeping staff to look into the situation with the chairs in your room as well as the mattresses.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. We apologize that your expectations were not met with your stay. It is our goal for our guests to leave Tarpon Lodge with the best impression each and every time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Found the Tarpon Lodge via google. At first no availability, office put me on a waiting list. Within 3 weeks Carol called with multiple room options . Two couples celebrating my husbands Big 50 stayed in "the boathouse" about 30 yards from pier. Amazing view! Fishing guides will pick you up at the marina. Spectacular menu! Chef will cook your catch of the day for fee.
Accommodations clean, cozy with nice art. Walking trail across street or stroll thru neighborhood. Small pool but your near many beaches. Friendly staff. Complimentary contential breakfast, with above average coffee, nice bar and restaurant. Indoor & outdoor dining.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank lalamoose64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TarponLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Tarpon Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

We are sure glad to hear that google led you to us. Fishing Pine Island Sound, enjoying the waterfront view and a few days in our "Boathouse" sounds like a wonderful way to spend a weekend!

We can't wait until your husband books with us for your birthday celebration!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Superb service, delicious food, charming atmosphere...loved everything about Tarpon Lodge. We travel by boat and stop at many restaurants which offer service to boaters, but this place is our favorite. My family and I dined at Tarpon Lodge two months ago and we're still telling our friends how amazing our experience was here! The sunset was so breathtaking, too! You will completely enjoy your experience at this Tarpon Lodge!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank jennadolphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TarponLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Tarpon Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

You know what we completely enjoyed? Reading your review.

We are thankful that you took the time to tell us how you feel about our service, food and atmosphere but we really appreciate you spreading the word about your experience with all your friends.

Thanks for sharing and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews