We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real general store”

Neighbors Ice Cream Parlor
Ranked #1 of 13 Dessert in Port Orange
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$15
Cuisines: Pizza, Afghani
Description: We feature over 30 flavors of Homemade Ice Cream, Sherbets, Sorbets, and Yogurts. All Ice Cream flavors are made from family recipes with the only the freshest ingredients right here at our store. Our Orange Sherbet is made from Fresh Florida Oranges. Our fresh fruit recipes include but not limited to Strawberry, Cantaloupe, Blue Berry, Key Lime Pie, & Peach. For breakfast we're serving made from scratch pastries, Egg sandwiches, Fresh Roasted Organic Coffee, Espresso, and Nitro cold brewed coffee on tap. Lunch features a wide variety fresh made sandwiches, pizza, hot dogs, nachos, chicken tender, and so much more. Our General Store has a Contract Post Office, Gift items, Florida Lottery, featuring the largest selection of Old Time Glass Bottle Soda & Old Time Candy in Volusia County.
Restaurant details
Description: We feature over 30 flavors of Homemade Ice Cream, Sherbets, Sorbets, and Yogurts. All Ice Cream flavors are made from family recipes with the only the freshest ingredients right here at our store. Our Orange Sherbet is made from Fresh Florida Oranges. Our fresh fruit recipes include but not limited to Strawberry, Cantaloupe, Blue Berry, Key Lime Pie, & Peach. For breakfast we're serving made from scratch pastries, Egg sandwiches, Fresh Roasted Organic Coffee, Espresso, and Nitro cold brewed coffee on tap. Lunch features a wide variety fresh made sandwiches, pizza, hot dogs, nachos, chicken tender, and so much more. Our General Store has a Contract Post Office, Gift items, Florida Lottery, featuring the largest selection of Old Time Glass Bottle Soda & Old Time Candy in Volusia County.
Reviewed September 2, 2018 via mobile

We wanted some ice cream so searched for what was in the area and located this on TripAdvisor. We never would have found it otherwise as it is in a residential area. We had never even heard of it despite having a home nearby for almost 20 years. It is a real general store with a post office, small grocery and sundry/gift shop and a cafe. The ice cream is house made although some of the flavors are very odd- like charcoal. My almond joy ice cream was excellent with real chunks of candy and I also liked the cherry ice cream made with chocolate shavings. My husband had butter pecan. We were both disappointed by the house made waffle cones though. Aside from being a bit flimsy and tasteless, they were not made properly such that the bottoms were not sealed so that the ice cream drained out from the bottoms and made a mess as it got soft. :( So, have a bowl of ice cream instead if you are in the area.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank AnAnthropologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karly Z, Public Relations Manager at Neighbors Ice Cream Parlor, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2018

Thank you for this review. As you noted, our waffle cones are home made so we do our best but not every one is perfectly sealed at the bottom. We hope you return again to try one of our many other ice cream vessels, like our homemade ice cream Sammies!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 123 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2018

We recently visited Neighbors for a pre-planned lunch meal. Although we had a relatively large group, the staff handled us beautifully. Since they knew we were coming, they had arranged for us to have quiches. Many enjoyed the quiches while others enjoyed orders from the menu. Of course, the ice cream couldn't be passed up. We also enjoyed the fact we can easily buy local honey in the store. Neighbors is always fun!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Sandtravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karly Z, Public Relations Manager at Neighbors Ice Cream Parlor, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review! We’re so happy that your group had a good time with us and enjoyed our food and ice cream:) We hope you come again so we can continue the fun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2018

Been enjoying the ice cream and all the other delights that they offer since they first opened up. It's especially a treat to us to go there after dinner at home and have one or two of their homemade ice cream flavors. There is a lot of fun in exploring their ice cream freezers to see what new taste tempting flavors they have invented. I am reminded of my childhood at some of the candies that they carry, I'm 70 years old and take delight in an occasional Chunky chocolate "Hunk"! Visit this wonderful establishment just once and you will become hooked just like me and my family!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GUNNAR T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karly Z, Public Relations Manager at Neighbors Ice Cream Parlor, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2018

Wonderful review! We’re so glad to have “hooked” you and your family:) You all keep coming, and we’ll keep coming up with new, original flavors to keep you excited! Thank you for writing this review and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2018

Great selection of old time sodas and candies ,old signage, small real post office, and the best selection of ice cream in the local area

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jmont2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karly Z, Public Relations Manager at Neighbors Ice Cream Parlor, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2018

Thank you for this review! We hope to serve you again soon:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2018

Neighbors has some great old-fashioned flavors of ice cream that can be mixed together and served to you in their cute little area where you can sit and enjoy their treats. It's like the old time parlors of yesteryear, complete with the cherry on top and not a lot of money. You even get two straws to share in the soda fountain shakes. The quaint store has so many nostalgic things to purchase and you can also mail things in the genuine post office area. It truly is a "Neighborhood Store and place for eats and treats".

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 307pattic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karly Z, Public Relations Manager at Neighbors Ice Cream Parlor, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2018

Thank you for this beautiful review! We are so happy that you truly appreciate our company’s direction and products! Please come again soon to enjoy more of our neighborly charm:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Neighbors Ice Cream Parlor also viewed

Daytona Beach Shores, FL
 

Been to Neighbors Ice Cream Parlor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing