We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious with an Anomaly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Punta Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Willis
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Luxurious with an Anomaly”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

A very nice hotel. Our room had a marvelous bathroom with marble counters, a huge bathtub and separate walk-in shower. The bed was plush and comfortable. Everything was spotlessly clean.
HOWEVER, from about 9 pm to midnight live music was performed on the roof. It was so loud we couldn't stay on the roof and it vibrated throughout the building. The opulent surroundings were inconsistent with the music. It was impossible to sleep until the music ended. The elevator did not work properly everytime we used it. We opted to take the stairs a few times.The gentlemen who checked us in was rather rude with a "you are lucky to be staying here" attitude. However all other staff we encountered, including Vanessa who checked us out, were delightful. We would definitely stay here again, but bring ear plugs.

Room Tip: Stay on the lowest floor possible - away from the roof-top music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    117
    44
    26
    19
See reviews for
128
276
26
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
134 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We stayed here for a weekend and it was great. Friendly staff, quick (early) check in, comfortable rooms and wonderful bathrooms with a separate tub and shower. Breakfast at Lulu's was good. Rooftop bar is lots of fun. Music can be heard in our 5th floor room on weekends....using earplugs wasn't a problem. Good location for walking downtown. Would highly recommend!

Room Tip: Harborside is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamasans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevy Chase Maryland
Level Contributor
130 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Reservations: unknown as these were made by my business partner
Price: excellent for a high quality boutique hotel
Check-in: fast efficient and friendly
Room: spacious, well furnished, spotlessly clean. Nice bed linens. OK towels. Excellent bath products. Shower AND separate soaker tub! Huge bathroom overall. Flat screen TV. Free internet service.
Restaurant: superb food and reasonable prices, with attentive friendly service--one of the better hotel restaurants that I have experienced recently.
Parking: lots of spaces in a clean well lit lot behind the hotel.
Check-out: fast efficient and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor for a better water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tackle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Great hotel, bathrobes, marble baths with tub and stand up shower. Very clean and comfortable room, five star room at 3 star price. Great view of the bay. Very friendly bell man who is always looking to help. Very convenient location as well

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

My wife and I stayed here recently for two nights in November. The rooms are beautiful and spacious. The hotel staff were excellent and went out of their way to assist us with things. Their restaurant had some excellent food and the roof top bar was a great place for a drink and get a snack. I would definitely stay here again. Thanks for the great visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Haven't stayed here but have eaten there but have seen the rooms which look lovely. The place has a great roof top bar where you can eat and drink, service is good, you can watch the sun go down from a viewing area toward the rear. It's a little noisy with all the passing traffic but certainly one of the best places for a drink in the area.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vistaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Our second-floor room was extremely clean with a beautiful tub and a large, separate glassed-in shower, with plenty of space in between. Our water pressure was good, despite an earlier reviewer's comment.
I liked the wave-your-room-key technology instead of sticking it in a certain way. And needing your room key to get to the right floor on the elevator is a nice safety feature.
The linens were very comfortable, with a just-firm-enough mattress.
Finish carpentry and tilework was immaculate, with trey ceilings and good lighting control, especially for reading in bed.
The roooftop pool/bar looked fun, offering a great view of the bridge and downtown...would have been tempting on a warmer, less windy night.
The young woman at the front desk was engaging and welcoming.
I can't imagine that there's a better place to stay in Punta Gorda, and hope to stay again soon.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donzer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
0.3 km away
Four Points By Sheraton Punta Gorda Harborside
0.5 km away
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites
#4 of 7 in Punta Gorda
496 reviews
5.1 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Port Charlotte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Port Charlotte
9.0 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Charlotte
9.3 km away
Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda

Property: The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
Address: 101 E Retta Esplanade, Punta Gorda, FL 33950-3637
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Punta Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to the Punta Gorda area is simply breathtaking — The Wyvern Hotel is proud to welcome guests who appreciate luxury without pretense. Our 63 room boutique hotel is impeccably appointed with every comfort you could desire for an ideal getaway to this remarkable location on Southwest Florida’s Gulf Coast. Our meeting and event space is ideal for everything from romantic wedding receptions to corporate gatherings of all types, uniquely paired with our in-house LuLu Restaurant & Sky Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing