We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay for Airshow Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Punta Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We came to this hotel for the Blue Angel Airshow and loved it. Arriving on Thursday afternoon, we were quickly checked into a corner room on the 5th floor. I'm usually a Hampton Inn customer so the extras in this hotel were a treat. The linens are superb and the bathroom is very nicely done. There is a large frameless, glass shower stall as well as a full sized tub.

The rooftop pool are bar were a pleasure. We went up for drinks and appetizers Thursday afternoon. The pool is a nice touch. Only 4 feet at the deepest, it was perfect for us loungers and for those with small kids. The Airshow was practicing while we were in the pool so that was a bonus to see the Blues fly over from in the pool.

There was a charity event on Thursday in which the Tampa Bay Rays players were guest bartenders. Each week had a different charity. The hotel restaurant for breakfast was reasonable and the food was good. Here's a tip. Get your coffee from the free dispensor upon entering the dining room. If you order from a server, they have to charge for it.

There is no business center but laptops are available for loan. I just wanted to print my boarding passes for the following day so the desk clerk allowed me to come behind the desk to do so. My friends and family got a kick out of seeing me behind the desk when they entered the hotel.

The Wyvern seems to be a big part of the community. Along with the charity events at the roof bar, they also were sponsors of the airshow. The staff was friendly and accomodating.

Two minor things - our room, even though on the 5th floor could not hear the weekend music with the windows closed but others in our group could. I could see how that would be annoying. Also, the key cards had to be redone twice.

Room Tip: Our room, 502 was great. Minimal bar noise and a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Exit105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (660)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

580 - 586 of 660 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

Wyvern needs more attention to detail. Dont expect functioning wi-fi to be consistent and will not work with Ipad. Cleanliness was sub standard with trash left from previous guests still in room. Unless you enjoy DJ music dont take a room on the 5th floor directly beneath the roof top bar. Music and bar crowd goes until well after midnight.

Room Tip: Only accept a room on 5th floor if you enjoy bar noice and DJ music from roof top bar directly above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvmydogs4evr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

A very nice hotel. Our room had a marvelous bathroom with marble counters, a huge bathtub and separate walk-in shower. The bed was plush and comfortable. Everything was spotlessly clean.
HOWEVER, from about 9 pm to midnight live music was performed on the roof. It was so loud we couldn't stay on the roof and it vibrated throughout the building. The opulent surroundings were inconsistent with the music. It was impossible to sleep until the music ended. The elevator did not work properly everytime we used it. We opted to take the stairs a few times.The gentlemen who checked us in was rather rude with a "you are lucky to be staying here" attitude. However all other staff we encountered, including Vanessa who checked us out, were delightful. We would definitely stay here again, but bring ear plugs.

Room Tip: Stay on the lowest floor possible - away from the roof-top music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HildaD598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We stayed here for a weekend and it was great. Friendly staff, quick (early) check in, comfortable rooms and wonderful bathrooms with a separate tub and shower. Breakfast at Lulu's was good. Rooftop bar is lots of fun. Music can be heard in our 5th floor room on weekends....using earplugs wasn't a problem. Good location for walking downtown. Would highly recommend!

Room Tip: Harborside is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mamasans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Reservations: unknown as these were made by my business partner
Price: excellent for a high quality boutique hotel
Check-in: fast efficient and friendly
Room: spacious, well furnished, spotlessly clean. Nice bed linens. OK towels. Excellent bath products. Shower AND separate soaker tub! Huge bathroom overall. Flat screen TV. Free internet service.
Restaurant: superb food and reasonable prices, with attentive friendly service--one of the better hotel restaurants that I have experienced recently.
Parking: lots of spaces in a clean well lit lot behind the hotel.
Check-out: fast efficient and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor for a better water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tackle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Great hotel, bathrobes, marble baths with tub and stand up shower. Very clean and comfortable room, five star room at 3 star price. Great view of the bay. Very friendly bell man who is always looking to help. Very convenient location as well

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

My wife and I stayed here recently for two nights in November. The rooms are beautiful and spacious. The hotel staff were excellent and went out of their way to assist us with things. Their restaurant had some excellent food and the roof top bar was a great place for a drink and get a snack. I would definitely stay here again. Thanks for the great visit.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
0.3 km away
Four Points By Sheraton Punta Gorda Harborside
0.5 km away
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites
#5 of 7 in Punta Gorda
522 reviews
9.0 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Charlotte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Port Charlotte-Punta Gorda
8.9 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Port Charlotte
9.3 km away
Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda

Address: 101 E Retta Esplanade, Punta Gorda, FL 33950-3637
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Punta Gorda
Price Range: $156 - $562 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to the Punta Gorda area is simply breathtaking — The Wyvern Hotel is proud to welcome guests who appreciate luxury without pretense. Our 63 room boutique hotel is impeccably appointed with every comfort you could desire for an ideal getaway to this remarkable location on Southwest Florida’s Gulf Coast. Our meeting and event space is ideal for everything from romantic wedding receptions to corporate gatherings of all types, uniquely paired with our in-house LuLu Restaurant & Sky Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing