We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Inn at Little Harbor
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ruskin
Certificate of Excellence
Brantford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Recently returned from 10 nights at Little Harbor. Excellent experience. Although we were second guessing the GPS navigating us there it turned out to be an oasis in the wilderness.
This Carribean themed facility offers good customer services, food and ammenities.
Look forward to a return visit in the future.

Room Tip: Our "King Suite" faced onto Tampa Bay. Gorgeous sunsets-see photo below. Efficiency unit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vhergott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    252
    106
    50
    48
See reviews for
255
255
20
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Cumberland, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We stayed in a second floor room that was right on the water where we could watch the sunrise each morning. The pelicans kept us entertained. The Tiki Bar is a perfect location for the sunsets. Live entertainment most evenings, creative menu and two for one beer and wine every day. It's off the beaten path but we found that everything we needed was there so we didn't mind that at all.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GNZ1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruskin, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Travelers to Florida don't think of resorts and Ruskin in the same sentance but this one is very nice. We stayed in the condos, and enjoyed the pool, extensive terrace to view the sunset, strolls by the marina and on the property. It is secluded but within 30- 45 minutes of Clearwater, Tampa or Sarasota. Enjoyed a New Year's Day meal at the Sunset Grille. It is a short drive to the Manatee Viewing area in Apollo Beach and we saw hundreds, due to the cooler weather. The biggest disappointments were no recycling and a very awkward connection to the internet. The outdoor furniture has seen better days but it is still comfortable and makes for an enjoyable time on the terrace.

Room Tip: Ask for the marina side if you want to be able to watch sunsets from your own balcony. However, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maxine49319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We booked this out of the way hotel that overlooks a marina and St. Pete for New Years Eve and had a great time with family.
Pros:
*the gorgeous view at sunset and sunrise. my family even saw dolphins and manatees in the morning
*the decor of the rooms is a whimsical beach house feel
*plenty of towels and pillows in the room, fluffy robes in the closet and a full kitchen sans stove including dishes and bake ware
*balcony with sliding door
*outdoor pool and fireplace
*separate restaurant though we didn't eat there
*breakfast but we slept through it

Cons:
*the carpet in the hallway is stained and filthy
*the elevator has the same carpet and reeked of fish - so gross but we just plugged our noses
*when we booked we were told about a new years eve champagne toast, dj, dancing, etc. they didn't tell us it was $60 per person! our plans might have been ruined if we hadn't brought our own alcohol and took the party out to the pool deck.
*accidentally overdoing it on NYs Eve had me praying to the porcelain god so I noticed someone else had vomited or urinated on the wall next to the toilet - so gross and made me being sick even worse.

Would I stay there again? Yes but make sure to ask about ALL expenses if they're offering extras.

Room Tip: Book a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephanie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We got a great deal for the week between Christmas and New Year's. Breakfast was included and was decent, which was great because the restaurant was located in the resort. We also enjoyed lunch outside and it was a great meal! Try the wings with the coconut sauce! They have an outside tiki bar and grill as well as a nice inside bar. House wine and draft beer are always two for one ( great value) !

Understand this is not within walking distance to any shopping or restaurants, but we enjoyed the seclusion.

All staff were very friendly. The place definitely has a caribbean feel, which is very cool! Pool and hot tub were great! We also used the shared terrace by the pool quite often to enjoy the sunset or just to hang out since our balcony did not have a view. The private beach is beautiful. The place could use a better facility map for the front desk staff to show guests how to find the rooms and explain parking better.

The fitness room is nice, just needed to be maintained by staff better ( ran out of water in the cooler often)

Overall a good experience and would go back!

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the bay on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Svrabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

This review refers to the Inn at Little Harbor (i.e, the hotel) and NOT to the condos.

We stayed here 4 nights over Christmas and it was very nice. Excellent landscape design and interior decor. Lovely lobby, very large, clean room with 2 comfortable queen beds and a very nice balcony. We enjoyed the heated pool and the hot tub and we saw several people playing tennis. We got a discounted rate of $85/night which we considered a real steal. I definitely recommend this hotel.

However, there are some weird things about this hotel. It can't seem to decide if it wants to be a business travellers' hotel or a vacation/resort hotel. For example, there is no elevator. It's a strange feeling to be lugging your suitcases up a flight of stairs while looking at a $10,000 chandelier. Who made that economic decision? There is no wifi in the rooms. You can get wifi in the lobby or the business center, but not in the rooms. They gave us a cord to connect our laptop via a LAN line, which worked fine, but if you don't have a LAN port (i.e., if you have an iPod or iPad or smartpone or tablet) you will be out of luck. That would be a real problem for business travellers or families with teenagers. There is no breakfast, which is also unusual for a business travellers' hotel. Each room does have a kitchen area with a mini-refrigerator and microwave, but no plates, or pots, or utensils so you can't even make yourself a sandwich. All the rooms have a nice balcony or patio, but only 3 or 4 rooms have an actual view of Tampa Bay because the prime views were given to the restaurant and the condo buildings. The restaurant has a nice tiki bar, which is fun (especially at sunset) and the restaurant is supposed to be good. But if you don't want to eat every meal in the restaurant, you have a problem. The hotel is remote from everything else because it is essentially on a peninsula. You have to drive at least 5-8 miles (15-20 minutes) to Apollo Beach or Sun City Center for groceries, post office, restaurants, shops, or anything else, which gets annoying.

In summary, for $85/night, this is a great value. But for $125/night, I would find someplace else.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pat w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks Co, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We came down to the Tampa area for a wedding, and decided to make a long weekend out of it and do a little fishing. We wanted a comfortable, quiet place on the water at a reasonable rate. The Club at Little Harbor provided a lovely, spacious, clean room with amazing views across the bay and overlooking the marina, and nice amenities. The pretty boats, the manatees, the water, the beach, it was so pleasant and relaxing.

The bed was really hard, and the pillows were like beachballs, what is with this modern penchant for big hard pillows? Maybe I'm just getting old. Other than that the room was great.

Everything was in working order around the hotel. There were a jacuzzi tub and pool adjacent to our building, all clean and well maintained. All the landscaping was neat as a pin and very appealing. Staff were pleasant and helpful.

We had planned on going out to a couple of restaurants, but instead found ourselves moseying over to the beach side tiki bar for lunch and dinner every day. It was convenient, attractive, the food was good, the bartenders and other guests very pleasant and friendly, and the view of the beach, the water, the birds, the fish jumping, and the activity along the long boat dock was always interesting and fun.

We had to eat inside the restaurant for breakfast, no outside dining at that time of day. Worse things have happened.

My overall memory of the place was that it was bright, clean, pretty, colorful, quiet, and relaxing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the condos, overlooking the marina, on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank painthoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruskin
0.4 km away
Harborside Suites at Little Harbor
9.8 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Sun City Center
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
23.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa / Riverview / Brandon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.9 km away
Bay Harbor Hotel
Bay Harbor Hotel
#75 of 163 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
27.6 km away
Red Roof Inn Tampa Brandon
23.2 km away
Westin Tampa Harbour Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Little Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Little Harbor

Property: The Inn at Little Harbor
Address: 611 Destiny Dr, Ruskin, FL 33570-3019 (Formerly The Resort & Club at Little Harbor)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Ruskin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ruskin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Little Harbor 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your Caribbean-style island resort on the South Shore of Tampa Bay - The Resort & Club at Little Harbor. This unique resort and residential village provides a harmonious blend of Anglo-Caribbean architecture, lush tropical landscaping, island style hospitality and the natural wonders of a waterfront resort.Conveniently secluded between Tampa and Sarasota, The Resort & Club at Little Harbor is a full-service, AAA Travel Guide, three-diamond, resort hotel and conference center situated on 124 acres, completely surrounded by the tranquil waters of our harbors, marinas and Tampa Bay. No matter how you choose to spend your time, we have an option for you at The Resort & Club at Little Harbor. Relax and enjoy our half mile stretch of secluded, white sandy beach. Take a dip in one of three heated pools and two Jacuzzi. Feeling competitive? Shoot hoops, play beach volleyball or play tennis on one of our five tennis courts. The entire family will enjoy themselves on our 250 foot fishing pier shuffleboard court horseshoe field or in our two fitness centers or enjoy our watersports including kayaks, jetskis, hydro bikes or paddleboards.Boaters arrive in paradise with deep-water access, 330 wet-slips, 220 high and dry slips, on-site fuel dock, bait and tackle store, fully stocked ship’s store, and boat trailer parking with near-by flats and deep sea fishing.Dine at one of two waterfront restaurants, The Sunset Grill or Sunset lounge and our beach-side Tiki Bar. Choose from a selection of steaks, sumptuous seafood, stacked sandwiches open seven days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner, with live entertainment outside on Friday Through Sunday evenings.The Resort & Club at Little Harbor offers a vast array of guest room accommodations perfect for individuals, couples, families and groups desiring a resort destination. Guest accommodations include our standard, deluxe and Junior Suites along with our brand new studio, one, two and three bedroom suites and town homes, all offering breathtaking water views of Tampa Bay or our marinas, harbor and nature preserves.All guest rooms have been completely renovated to provide you with the necessary conveniences to ensure your comfort. An iron and ironing board, hair dryer, coffee maker, microwave and mini refrigerator are standard items in every room. A spacious work desk area with ample lighting, direct dial telephones, free high-speed internet access, 32" flat screen color cable television with free premium channels. Individual climate control air conditioning and heating, private bathrooms with granite counter tops and private balconies or patios. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn at Little Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Resort And Club At Little Harbor
The Resort & Club At Little Harbor Hotel Ruskin
Hotel At Little Harbor
Resort At Little Harbor
Resort Club Little Harbor
The Inn At Little Harbor Ruskin, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing