We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (10)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveller rating
6
1
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
1
1
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 10 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2015 via mobile

Looking for a clean, safe, place to vacation with your family or friends...right on the beach? Then this is DEFINITELY the spot for you! The whole property is well landscaped and maintained with access to the beach via bridge over the dunes. Room 12B has been our home away from home for a couple years now, offering spacious room for a big family and cozy beach themed furnishings. The owners are incredibly sweet and friendly too! It's always clean and well stocked with a lovely view overlooking the dunes and since it is ground level, it's only a short walk to bridge. There is a shower and hose on the bridge to rinse off and the pool is a great size that accommodates all ages from the shallow section to the deeper section. The location is great too, the nearest Winn Dixie is less than 10 minutes away, tons of dining options from fast food to quaint diner, aren't much farther. If you like sauntering through little shops nestled in tiny streets reeking of historic charm, then check out Historic St. Augustine, which is less than 20 minutes from here.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank Godsgirl4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 7, 2015

We booked unit 2D, and assumed from the online info, pictures and price that it would be decent but nothing special. But we were pleasantly surprised! The overall complex and buildings are nice. It's in a quiet area. The pool has what looks to be a new stone deck, and it's a good size, both clean and attractive, with plenty of chairs. The grounds around the units are nicely kept, and there is lots of grassy space around the pool for children to run around and play. The beach is beautiful, and right over the dunes. The wooden boardwalk that leads to the beach is pretty weather-worn (watch for splinters), but not unsafe.
Unit 2D is adorable. It's an updated two-story, two bedroom, two full bath unit decorated in a casual, beachy theme. It has 3 balconies (one off each bedroom, one off living area) with chairs and a side dune/ocean view from each. It also has a stacked washer and dryer, which is great for traveling with kids. The kitchen is fully stocked with pots, pans, utensils, etc. and there were plenty of clean towels and washcloths. There are even some extra beach towels and boogie boards for use in the unit. A nice touch!

The only problems with Creston House could be a lack of nearby parking during the busy season. The first day we had to park one building over, but since then we have lucked out and found a spot closer to our building. But at night every spot is taken. Also, our unit is on the second floor and there are no elevators or carts for hauling luggage or groceries to the units. But that wasn't a big deal to us.
Overall, we're really enjoying Creston House and unit 2D. It's just what the doctor ordered after a long, cold winter.

Room Tip: If you're into an ocean view, the ground floor, one bedroom units will only have a view of the pool and dunes, since they go up pretty high. Ocean views are best from the 3rd floor bedroom balconies, which seem to be only in the 2 bedroom units. And look at the pictures because some units don't seem to have an ocean view at all.
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Barbaraj31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2015

I just looked at my review from 2014, and saw that it was one- I loved our stay -as you can see from the review. I meant to give it a "5" so now it has been corrected ! It was a beautiful, clean , well furnished and supplied with everything you need, the pool was great and so close to the beach !

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Thank OBXsun56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 6, 2014

great location, safe and fun and we stayed in a beautiful condo with everything we needed provided by the owners, I would like to return every year !
It as a one bedroom unit but very spacious and the living area was large and comfortable, and the kitchen was perfect !
The pool and grounds were lovely and just steps to the beach.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OBXsun56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2013

we had a wonderful time @ St. Augustine and loved the Creston House. Our condo was so gorgeous and right @ the pool. I loved the beach and it was not crowded which we loved. We loved the pool and the people we met were so friendly!! The staff was very nice and helpful!! the only problem we had was getting good internet service but other than that we loved it and would come back again!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Phoebe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creston House S, Manager at Creston House Condominium, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for Creston House! I'm so glad you enjoyed staying in one of our recently updated units and that you could enjoy all that the community has to offer during the summer. I appreciate your comments about the internet service. Since these buildings were built in the 1970's, they were made to be strong and durable, especially being on the beach, and it is difficult sometimes for wireless signals to pass through concrete. I am hopeful that we will come up with a permanent solution to this as the community considers alternatives to internet service, but am certainly thankful that we do have what can offer at this time. Thank you again for your comments, and I look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews