We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Glen C
Tampa, Florida

Wonderful Hotel, Café and Bar

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jan 31, 2024
Great place to stay when visiting St. Augustine. The inn is actually three buildings. The middle photo shows the Secret Garden, as it is called. There also is a café that serves breakfast and lunch. But the inn is most famous for the Tini Martini Bar. The photo shows the bar before it opens in the morning. But the café/bar is packed in the evenings with long lines waiting to arrive. If you go, go back via Charlotte Street and enter by the inn door. No waiting.

Our room was a small suite and was great. The shower was wonderful. The hotel, café, and bar staff are friendly and really hustle. Fun folks. The hotel is less than a block away from a trolley tour stop. Hard to beat and competitively priced for the area. Parking everywhere in the tourist district is a mess, but we survived. The hotel does have some nearby reserved spaces.
Trip type
Date of stay: January 2024
Room Tip: Parking in St. Augustine is a nightmare. The hotel does have some parking spaces but be prepared...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$104
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
2.8 km from Casablanca Inn on the Bay
Free parking
Pool
C$117
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.2 km from Casablanca Inn on the Bay
Free Wifi
Pool
C$162
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.7 km from Casablanca Inn on the Bay
Free Wifi
Pool
C$450
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
3.2 km from Casablanca Inn on the Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
C$313
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.4 km from Casablanca Inn on the Bay
Free Wifi
Pool
C$252
C$106
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
4.6 km from Casablanca Inn on the Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$202
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
6.3 km from Casablanca Inn on the Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
2 Queen Oceanfront Guest Room
C$220
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Hotels.com
7.8 km from Casablanca Inn on the Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$197
  • Skyscanner.com
3.0 km from Casablanca Inn on the Bay
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in St. Augustine
Reviews (925)
Filter reviews
925 results
Traveller rating
456
217
95
102
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
456
217
95
102
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the tini martini bar the secret garden sleep number charlotte street the main house carriage house perfect location jacuzzi tub old town we've stayed historic district porch augustine mimosas anniversary pet
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 925 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2024 via mobile

Loved the room and location. The breakfast at any time super convenient. The white chocolate martinis great also. The bed and sheets super comfy. We were in room 16 our friends room 15. I plan on staying here next time also. Our door opened up on charlotte street.. little noisy but everything else made up for that.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank kimberly w
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 9, 2023

This place is absolute and utter trash. My husband and I booked two nights here the first week of December for the Nights of Lights. We checked reviews before going, and it had some mixed reviews, but seemed overall okay. It was right in the heart of where we wanted to be. At almost $400/night, we also assumed it must be okay. We checked in at the front, the lobby was older and tight but assumed it was because of all the Christmas decor. We were given instructions on how to drop our bags off in the back of the hotel (next to the dumpsters) and then instructions on where to park (again next to another set of dumpsters). Had trouble locating our room initially, so I asked a waiter who was walking in the back where the room might be and he responded, “I dunno, ask the front.” We finally located our room, Room 5, which were AGAIN right next to the dumpsters. Entering the room, initially it seemed okay, but entirely too small. There was nowhere to put our bags, except on the floor, the bed was entirely too small and tucked into such a small corner, you had to side shimmy when getting out of the bed. We went out, did a carriage ride and came back and there were multiple Palmetto Bugs on the floor. For those of you that don’t know what Palmetto Bugs are, they’re basically giants roaches with wings. Now thoroughly grossed out, we got rid of them immediately, but the room had the smell of trash due to the proximity to the dumpster. We showered and crammed in bed. The air conditioner was a window shaker that turned off and one every two minutes, making it very noisy. When the staff was finished for the night, we could hear their conversations right outside, clear as day. During the night we didn’t sleep a wink. We decided that staying one more night was not in the cards for us. At 6am we got dressed, went to breakfast down the street and came back and immediately checked out.
While checking out, the woman at the front, who was polite enough, almost knowingly asked what was wrong with the room. I asked if they do refunds or partial refunds, and she said no. I had paid in cash initially when we arrived (should have been a red flag that they didn’t ask for a credit card for incidentals). She said that the cash was already deposited at the bank and they could offer me a gift card. Somehow they found a bank that was open between 5pm when we checked in on a Friday and 7:30am when we checked out on a Saturday. So now I have a useless $400 gift card for this poor excuse of a hotel.
My next move is to call the health inspector. Do not waste your money or time on this place. It is disgusting and not worth a dime. I used to have fond memories of St. Augustine but now I have a bad taste in my mouth because of this place.

Room tip: Bugs!! And Dumpsters
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Greeenviolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Casablanca Inn on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2024

We were disappointed to hear that we fell short of your expectations. To clarify- the cash payment was deposited into the safe which our front desk agents do not have access to. Our desk agent offered to issue you the gift certificate as a measure of good faith as you were outside of the cancellation period to cancel the room without penalty. The desk agents also do not have access to checks so were unable to fulfill your request of refund via check. While we can understand your disappointment we feel some of the details were lost in translation and had you given our manager a chance to contact you prior to leaving your review we may of been able to come to a different resolution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 12, 2023

The location is amazing. Right in the heart of St George shops and restaurants. However the hotel has been neglected and is much need of repair. In addition it was dirty. There were stains on the bedspread and the bathroom was very outdated. The flooring was uneven with high transition pieces making it difficult to walk around. If you forgot to step over them then you were tripping. The best part about the Inn was the front porch and the breakfast.

Room tip: Stay at the Hilton
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Casablanca Inn on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2024

Thank you for your candid feedback. We regret that we fell short of your expectations. We are in the process of updating and renovating our guest rooms and hope you will provide us with another opportunity in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 15, 2023 via mobile

The Casablanca Inn on the bay is great. It’s an older building, and yes, it’s a little haunted but it’s got its charm. The included drinks and breakfast are a nice touch. My only complaint is that we booked a specific room that we weren’t given. The secret garden turned out to be awesome, but we wanted to stay in the main house for a reason

Room tip: Be patient about the parking. You have parking but it’s about a block away.
Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank jmphotoblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 16, 2023

Let’s me start by saying I have been to St.Augustine many times and have stayed many places.This stay was Amazing the staff are so great and everyone makes you feel right at home.Stayed in the coach house the first night and got spoiled there loved that room.second was Soto be leaving but decided to stay because I liked everyone there so much and moved to the main house.Such a great weekend really they are amazing.And location location location the best in St.Augustine.Thank again will be back.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pathfinder530353
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Casablanca Inn on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2023

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review! We enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward to your next visit! See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews