We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice Oceanfront Condo” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beachers Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beachers Lodge
Ranked #21 of 79 Hotels in Saint Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
florida
Level Contributor
111 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Nice Oceanfront Condo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

This condo is located about 10 miles south of St. Augustine Beach, Fl. in a section called Crescent Beach. It sits close to the ocean and I think all the rooms have an Oceanfront view. We stayed on the 3rd floor in the center of condo building and had a marvelous view. The entire condo room was somewhat narrow but very comfortable. It had all the amenties including a kitchenette stocked with pans, plates, utensils, etc. There was a small living/family room with a large flat screen TV and a small private balcony that faced the ocean. There was a medium size dining table (seated 4-6). The bedroom was separate and had its own flatscreen TV. Free wireless internet. The decor was tastefully done in subtle beach colors. The couch pulled out to a queensize bed (we didn't use). I would say this is most comfortable for two people, but 4 people could definitely be comfortable. The front office staff was really terrific. They really care about their guests and make you feel right at home. Checking in was more personal and friendly than other condo check-ins we have expierienced. There were only few problems. One was that the front door was tricky to shut tight. If you didn't close it hard enough, it popped open. I wish they would provide better quality bathroom tissue . The water pressure (shower/toilet) wasn't the greatest but doable. The walls are fairly thin - you can definitely here people at times talking at times.

Overall it is a lovely condo with a fantastic view and great front desk/housekeeping service. Close enough to St. Augustine but far enough away from the crowds.....Plenty of nearby restaurants, grocery stores, etc. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fltam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    127
    37
    23
    15
See reviews for
152
133
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Villa Rica, Georgia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

St. Augustine does not have as many hotels as Daytona Beach- and finding one with direct beach access is even harder. Beacher's Lodge is on the beach and has direct access (alot of the other advertised it, but it was not true). We liked the layout of our suite. The kids slept on a comfy pull-out and had their own TV. On the other side of the suite, my husband and I had our own room, TV, and a door to shut:) Beacher's was clean, comfortable, and homey. We toured St. Augustine all day, and swam in the ocean and pool in the afternoon. Our kids made friends we met at the pool every evening. We will be back next summer! What a winderful vacation!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Stayed over Thanksgiving, great views of the ocean. Staff was very pleasant and helpful at check-in. Housekeeping staff was also friendly and kept the room clean. Couple of very minor issues with the room, not worth any more mention. Looking forward to go again.

Room Tip: King bedroom much more spacious than queen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

The location of the lodge is fantastic, on the beach with a beautiful view and close to many fine restaurants. It was a pleasure staying in the condo, well equipped, cozy and comfortable. The employees could not do enough to make our stay comfortable. Yes, we will be going back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

This was my second visit to the Beacher's Lodge property in the past four years. I must say that my first visit was much more enjoyable. Unfortunately, this time the property was in the process of having a new roof put on and the reservationist mistakenly thought it would be a good idea to put us in a room on the top floor. We were assured that the roofers would not begin working until after 8:00 AM, which turned out not to be the case. The workers began scraping off the old roofing material very early and the noise was so loud that you couldn't even enjoy the pool or ocean directly behind the property. Upon checkout, Christina, the front desk clerk, was completely unfazed by our concerns and stated that only a 10% discount could be offered for compensation. The room that we were given was in NO WAY worth the amout of money we had to pay, especially given that we were driven out so early in the morning due to the excessive noise. In addition, there was nothing visually appealing about this room which had outdated and worn furniture, as well as a dehumidifier that was necessary to keep the excessive moisture to a minimum. Being a native Floridian and having stayed at numerous properties on the ocean, I could have dealt with the furnishings given the gorgeous view of the ocean, but the poor customer service is what set me over the edge. I will not be visiting this property again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crescent_Beach_Lover, General Manager at Beachers Lodge, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
The roof project here at Beacher's Lodge was a difficult situation for everyone involved (It ends tomorrow 11/11). There is no good time for renovations of course, but we have tried to communicate our situation to many guests by offering discounts or upgrades. At any time during a stay, whether it's upon check in or during the stay or even upon check out, we want to offer nothing but the kindest customer service. Often the front desk staff is limited on what they can offer to a guest, however contacting a manager can often remedy any issue. (Even now, since this review has made us more aware of this guest's particular situation) Overall, we had many guests who stayed and commented that the roof project wasn't a concern. As for the top floor, a lot of our rooms with the nicest views had more of the noise issues to contend with. While we tried to keep our guests away from the noise, unfortunately with construction work, it is never that easy. As the condo association was managing the roof project, on many many occassions our rental staff had to call the condo manager and to ask that they please stop the roof workers from staying too late or starting too early. For situations that are beyond tolerable, my ultimate suggestion is to talk to a manager. As for the room itself, there are many outstanding rooms at Beacher's Lodge and by the end of the year we are going to offer guest the ability to book a room based on what that room actually looks like. We feel that by putting as much of the room selection process in our guests hands, it will be a win - win situation for eveyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

My wife and I stayed here for six nights during our recent honeymoon. The rooms come fully furnished with TV's, sofas, kitchenette (with all of the pots, pans, cooking sheets, utensils, dishes, etc. that you could possibly need.) While it's not quite apartment sized, it made for a lovely home away from home. The hotel grounds are kept clean and the pool area is power-washed and cleaned daily. Even though roofing work was being done we were on the first of 4 floors and never heard a thing! There is also private access to the beach.
Also, the cleaning lady (who also restocks items) has even taken to giving us multiple packets of name-brand coffee each morning to use in the 4-cup pot provided by the resort. The area is on the northern end of Crescent Beach, and is only about 15-20 minutes from downtown St. Augustine. Daytona Beach, Orlando and Cape Canaveral are all within a day-trip range (at or less than 2 hours.)
Amenities, Location, Service and Cleanliness. The only "con" would be the overuse of mirrors in the bedroom area and livingroom area. Some may consider those a benefit, but to us it was a little much.

Room Tip: If you can give up the king bed, go for a ground floor by the pool. The pool is only open 9a-10p so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ozmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

Stayed here mid September and had another good stay. We go to Beacher’s Lodge every year in late summer and or early fall. This place is being kept up well being an older property on Crescent Beach. If you know anything about keeping up a commercial building like this on the ocean front you will appreciate the owners and staff’s efforts to maintain the facility. The beach is doing well and is gaining sand not losing it. Good news after a couple hurricanes ripped up the Atlantic this year resulting in heavy, beach pounding surf. On the weekends there is an obvious police presence patrolling the beach which keeps the rowdy crews under check but beware, there is no alcohol ordnance and the law will write you a citation if you get caught. Give Beacher’s Lodge a chance if you haven’t and go back for another visit if you’ve been there before. Chances are you won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GvilleTraveler_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Augustine hotels
8.2 km away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
7.8 km away
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
#9 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
9.3 km away
BEST WESTERN St. Augustine Beach Inn
BEST WESTERN St. Augustine Beach...
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 km away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
9.7 km away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
#5 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
17.0 km away
The Saint Augustine Beach House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachers Lodge

Property: Beachers Lodge
Address: 6970 A1A South, Saint Augustine, FL 32080
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Augustine
#18 Romantic Hotel in Saint Augustine
#21 Family Hotel in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachers Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beacher's Lodge is a condo hotel right on the beach... Beautiful Crescent Beach at the south end of St. Augustine. Only 10 miles to historic St. Augustine, just off the beaten path. Each suite is decorated differently but they all have great views of the ocean. Full Kitchens and the amenities of home, at hotel pricing. Enjoy the view of the ocean from the comfort of your living room. One of the few hotels directly on the beach. Some condos at Beacher's Lodge allow pets, but not all. Heated oceanfront pool is enjoyable year round. Enjoy more than a hotel room can offer in our one bedroom condos and our kitchenette suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Beachers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacher`s Hotel Saint Augustine
Beachers Hotel Saint Augustine
Beachers Lodge St Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing