We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DO NOT STAY HERE - Heated pool was FREEZING!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beachers Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beachers Lodge
Ranked #22 of 79 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY HERE - Heated pool was FREEZING!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

This is a very OLD hotel that someone has made into condos. We stayed in #126. The kitchen was poorly furnished....just the very basics and NO dishwasher. At $165/night I expected better. The pool was our biggest complaint - they advertised that it was heated...but it was FREEZING!! They told us that if the ocean temp got above 70, they turned the heaters off. First - what does the ocean temp have to do with the pool temp....and 2nd - 70degrees is really COLD. Many people complained while we were there and we suspected that the heater was broken - but we were told if we departed early, we would not receive a refund. HORRIBLE HOTEL. During the 2nd week in May you can't expect the ocean to be warm yet....but if a hotel advertises a heated pool, you expect it to be HEATED.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crescent_Beach_Lover, General Manager at Beachers Lodge, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
We want to make sure every guest enjoys their stay here at Beacher’s Lodge. After speaking to this guest directly, we were able to correct some of the misinformation and reach a resolution to this guest’s particular issue. The pool at Beacher’s Lodge is heated. The ocean temperature has nothing to do with the heaters being on or off, the pool heaters were set for 84 degrees and they were functioning. However, the issue with the pool that particular weekend was the high speed winds competing with the heat generators. The pool temperature was 80 degrees when measured…which admittedly is too cool to be considered comfortably heated. When this guest reached management, consideration was given on their stay, (the nightly rate which actually averaged $129 a night for our largest oceanfront one bedroom condo – On the Pay for 3, Stay 4 Special). In light of the events, we did contact our pool heater service company and verified that the heaters are working properly. While we thought this had been resolved already with the guest directly, we still thought it was appropriate to respond to this TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    127
    37
    24
    15
See reviews for
155
134
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

The folks at Beacher's Lodge were great! We had a slight problem with our hot water heater but it was taken care of immediately! Gorgeous view! A few miles away from the hustle and bustle of downtown so you can really enjoy how beautiful the beaches and scenery are in St. Augustine. Yet it is still close enough to downtown that its only a short drive to enjoy all the sights downtown has to offer. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tooleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merritt Island
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Very nice to be able to take our boxer on a trip. Room was clean and comfortable. Ocean view was beautiful. Call ahead to restaurants to make sure pet friendly. Web sites are not accurate. Overall very nice weekend get away.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orl1jmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nj
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

When looking into pet friendly places to stay in the St. Augustine area, Beacher's stuck out. The condo was right on the beach with a nice little balcony where we sat in the mornings to drink our coffee and watch the sunrise. The staff was extremely helpful and informative. The beach was beautiful, there was a specified dog walking area, which was not full of dog waste, it seemed the pet owners were respectful of the allowance of pets and cleaned up after them. The people staying there were also very pleasant. The room was plenty for the two of us, I think 4 people might have been a little cramped, but if needed it could be done. The condo has a small kitchen area with a coffee maker, toaster, cooktop, fridge, and plenty of pots, pans, plates, glasses and utensils, it was well equipped.
There was a great pizza place across the street and 2 great restaurants within walking distance.
We enjoyed our stay, and would recommend this place to family and friends.
When I read reviews of people who had complaints about Beacher's, I wonder if they told the staff about their displeasure, I bet if they had, the problems probably would have been remedied.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bekcay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

My husband and I stayed here the last weekend in February and it was wonderful. Very clean room, nice quiet setting. The pool area was clean as well. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anontravelermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Simply the best place/beach Florida or the southern United States. This is not a hotel, but a group of individually owned condominiums each having their own character and charm. All bt a few are right on the dunes, with an 8 foot wide sliding glass door and balcony that gives a majestic view of the ocean--as if you are on the beach itself! The people are helpful, friendly, and efficient. Plenty of parking, walk next door to an excellent restaurant right on the dunes, heat large pool, and the very best, white, wide sand beach in the world (Crescent Beach). And the prices are right!

Room Tip: It is not a room. It is not a suite. It is a large apartment with full cooking facilities and all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peacethrutravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed her and were very disappointed. The room was okay. It was cramped and the balcony small and the grounds, hallways, and stairs dirty. Additionally pets were allowed and we had to navigate dog droppings left by their owners. Also, there were cigarette butts everywhere...a lot of smokers. The clientele was a little rough around the edges. For a couple of hundred dollars more, there are large and well kept condos down the road.

Room Tip: Would not return.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bcroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
8.2 km away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
7.8 km away
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
#9 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
9.7 km away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
#5 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
BEST WESTERN St. Augustine Beach Inn
BEST WESTERN St. Augustine Beach...
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
9.4 km away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
17.0 km away
The Saint Augustine Beach House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachers Lodge

Property: Beachers Lodge
Address: 6970 A1a S, St. Augustine, FL 32080-8103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St. Augustine
#18 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
#21 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachers Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beacher's Lodge is a condo hotel right on the beach... Beautiful Crescent Beach at the south end of St. Augustine. Only 10 miles to historic St. Augustine, just off the beaten path. Each suite is decorated differently but they all have great views of the ocean. Full Kitchens and the amenities of home, at hotel pricing. Enjoy the view of the ocean from the comfort of your living room. One of the few hotels directly on the beach. Some condos at Beacher's Lodge allow pets, but not all. Heated oceanfront pool is enjoyable year round. Enjoy more than a hotel room can offer in our one bedroom condos and our kitchenette suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Beachers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacher`s Hotel Saint Augustine
Beachers Hotel Saint Augustine
Beachers Lodge St Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing