We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bayfront - Delightful!”
Review of Bayfront Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bayfront Inn
Ranked #11 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
168 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Bayfront - Delightful!”
Reviewed 31 December 2009

During a trip through St Augustine on 12/19, my wife and I stopped at the Bayfront and requested a brochure. We were staying elsewhere but wanted to check out the motel.

While returning to South Florida on 12/26, we called the Inn from I-95 in Georgia to check availability. The lady we spoke to assured us they would have a room for us. We arrived at 2100 and the Staff remembered us from the previous visit and had a room ready for us.

We were on the 1st floor, with a king bed. The room was pleasant, clean and the bathroom appeared to have been recently remodeled. The tile work was beautiful and the water pressure was excellent.

This Inn is within walking distance for all the shops and restaurants but removed enough to be quiet. The grounds are well kept and the pool looked inviting. The parking is plentiful and FREE!

Another nice touch was we received a Thank You card from the Inn about 4 days after our visit. Thumbs up on the excellent customer service!

We highly reccomend the Bayfront and feel sure your visit will be enjoyable. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRD33141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    243
    61
    19
    16
See reviews for
149
324
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2009

I have stayed in St. Augustine at least 12 or 13 times prior to this trip and I can honestly say I will not stay at any other hotel from now on. Our trip was for vacation, on a semi restricted budget and so I set out to find a place that was clean and quiet at a resonable price. This Inn did it all and more, and for the first time in awhile I do not have a single complaint about our room, location or the staff.

The room was booked 6 months in advanced and it was found the night before that the dates were wrong and our whole trip would be shifted by a day, which was a little hard to work around. I was able to book a spare room for thursday night (to cover our short) but this was where the staff really shined. We showed up and they already knew we we're coming and had relized our issue in advance (that we had two bookings). They not only checked us in early (10:00 am) but worked it so that we wouldn't have to change rooms at all during our stay. They also were able to accomidate our AAA rate discount even though I forgot to utilze it during the inital booking.

As I said the rooms are very clean, and they are also large and fairly quite. It is a city setting so one can only expect so much quiet. The Inn is down 1.5 blocks from A1A Ale house and a trolly tour stop which makes it one of the more convient places to stay. Breakfast (oatmeal, coffee and yogurt) is available and just right for that (quick we're late for our tour moment). But if you care for a more substancial breakfast there are plenty of good places right around the corner. Alot of the other establishments in the area (dis-including the B&B's) do not provide such a breakfast, and often cost twice the price for a room.

We won't stay else where from now on when visiting and suggest that you give the Inn a try in hopes that it will too brigthen up your trip. Parking is also free which is odd in this area for sure. Two things to note as well, the beds are awesome as mentioned in other comments and if you are missing anything at all, just ask the staff, these people want your buisness and for you to enjoy your stay and its evident in how they treated us.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank enstormblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2009

What a lovely room! We will surely stay here each time we visit St. Augustine. The prices were great for the location. This hotel is in the heart of the historic city right on the bay. Beuatiful views and lovely room! Clean, charming, and romantic rooms. Not to mention the friendly staff. Loved it!!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alishabGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2009

We were very impressed with the Bayfront Inn. It was extremely neat and clean, both inside and out .Wonderful housekeeping staff. Our room was decorated like a B&B and we only had the standard room. The location was perfect. We walked everywhere except the beach and always felt safe, even at midnight. The outside faces the bay with chairs outside each room, if you want to sit outside and enjoy that beautiful bay. If there are any negatives, and I do hesitate to give any, It would be that the heat/ air was hard to get comfortable and they were a little short on the hot water. We will definitely go back and will stay there

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmoreMacon_Ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2009

We just returned from St Augustine after spending the Thanksgiving weekend there. We look forward to going back. The people could not have been nicer and we never ran out of things to do, . Very clean and safe, at least in the historic/ beach area, (which is the only place we saw). We stayed at the Bayfront Inn. Recommend it highly. It has such a scenic view facing the bay. It was very clean and was very well appointed, not your standard motel decorating.Overall a good value for your money. I know all you residents of St Augustine are proud of your city!

Helpful?
Thank travelmoreMacon_Ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2009

My wife and I stayed here with another couple. The hotel in nice and is in a great location. The breakfast is decent with coffee, orange juice, oatmeal, yogurt, and breads. The only complaint is that the AC automatically increases in temperature. Made for a warm night. A little more than we wanted to spend but very roomy and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottyuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2009

The view of the bayfront, and closeness to restaurants and shopping made this a perfect location. There are a number of really good restaurants within easy walking distance, we really enjoyed the A1A Ale House. The room was large, comfortable, and clean. There were comfortable chairs on the porch and or balcony for sitting outdoors and enjoying the incredible view. The rates were very reasonable and we would return here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentuckyLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
1.7 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.4 km away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.4 km away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#4 of 78 in St. Augustine
908 reviews
0.1 km away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
1.9 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayfront Inn

Property: Bayfront Inn
Address: 138 Avenida Menendez, St. Augustine, FL 32084-5048
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bayfront Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bayfront Inn's waterfront location, on Matanzas Bay, is in the heart of St. Augustine's oldest historic district dating back to 1572. Walk to historic sites, restaurants, shops or sit by our pool for a relaxing day. Enjoy bay breezes and watch horse carriages stroll by while sitting on the porch or gazebo. Accommodations at the Bayfront Inn are newly renovated and feature a light pleasing décor. For your convenience, we provide 1 parking space per room on-site at the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Bayfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayfront Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing