We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it..”

St. Augustine Pirate & Treasure Museum
Ranked #17 of 201 things to do in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Relive the Golden Age of Piracy at Pat Croce's St. Augustine Pirate & Treasure Museum with the world's largest collection of authentic pirate artifacts; fun, interactive exhibits, including the award-winning Book of Pirates and the spine-tingling Disney Imagineer-designed Below Deck sound experience of Blackbeard’s last battle; the world’s only pirate treasure chest; one of only two existing 17th century Jolly Rogers; and rarely-seen shipwreck treasures from the Florida Division of Historical Resources.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

I was expecting a big place with interesting pirate displays or shows. But you walk on your own to a very small pirate museum. There are some guides that will tour big groups or school kids. But for the price 14.00 per adult and 8.00 for kids and just you spend like 30 minutes inside is a rip off. Will not recommended. My kids are 7 and 11 years old and enjoyed the Believed or Not and Alligator Farm much better.

Thank carviana v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZLively, Manager at St. Augustine Pirate & Treasure Museum, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

It's true that we are small in size, however, we do pack in over 800 authentic historical artifacts. Though I'm sorry that you were disappointed - I do want to thank you for taking the time to spend with us, and I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your trip through the Nation's Oldest city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,792)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"authentic artifacts"
in 32 reviews
"all ages"
in 195 reviews
"interactive displays"
in 73 reviews
"real pirate"
in 73 reviews
"captain mayhem"
in 53 reviews
"authentic pirate"
in 53 reviews
"famous pirates"
in 45 reviews
"jolly roger"
in 42 reviews
"scavenger hunt"
in 105 reviews
"guided tour"
in 139 reviews
"kids and adults"
in 67 reviews
"great for kids"
in 59 reviews
"gift shop"
in 134 reviews
"on display"
in 57 reviews
"whole family"
in 64 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 65 reviews
"information"
in 220 reviews
Filter

109 - 113 of 2,792 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

This museum was not just for kids. The exhibits were excellent. Even our teenager enjoyed it. We learn a lot.

Thank kpb1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZLively, Manager at St. Augustine Pirate & Treasure Museum, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

We always enjoy hearing from guests who span the generations. We see ourselves as a museum for the entire family, and I thank you for taking time to enjoy both the entertaining AND educational aspects of our exhibition!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

This place is a museum for both maritime and pirates. Incredible artifacts and exhibits. Well worth the money to get in. Plus you get to keep coming in all day as long as you have your sticker on you so well worth it. Tour guide is well knowledgeable about pirate life as well.

Thank tcarter30601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZLively, Manager at St. Augustine Pirate & Treasure Museum, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Thank you so much for such fine words - we're always pleased to hear from folks whom have thoroughly enjoyed what our exhibition has to offer. I'm happy to hear that you were not only able to use your sticker for re-entry, but that you were able to participate in on of our guided tours. Thanks again for coming to see us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2018

Fantastic mix of original items, displays, props, stories, media, with scavenger hunt integrated thru out. For a small area, there's a lot to see and totally worth admission.

Thank Kathleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZLively, Manager at St. Augustine Pirate & Treasure Museum, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

We are small in size, that's true - but we have managed to squeeze in over 800 artifacts and I'm so pleased that you enjoyed seeing them! Thank you for taking the time to spend with us while on your journey through St. Augustine!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2018 via mobile

This place has Disney written all over it. Very animated, a lot of historical information, fun and interesting fact regarding pirates and their interactions within the St Augustine area.

Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZLively, Manager at St. Augustine Pirate & Treasure Museum, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to see us while in the Nation's Oldest City! It's always nice to hear when visitors get to experience all that we have to offer - thanks for visiting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. Augustine Pirate & Treasure Museum also viewed

 

Been to St. Augustine Pirate & Treasure Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing