We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Not really in walking distance” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
Ranked #25 of 79 Hotels in Saint Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not really in walking distance”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

I am a Priority Club member and we travel for business and pleasure. This was a pleasure trip and St. Augustine was great. The hotel is several blocks from the historic district and you have to drive really to get downtown. The hotel was alright, but not the best in the Holiday chain. the breakfasts bar is not worth the money, so go to the Denny's next door to the hotel instead.

Room Tip: For the money, it is alright, but the over priced breakfast is not worth it. I will spend the money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvtravelVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Thank you for the valuable time you took to give us your feedback. I appreciate the good points you let us know about and also the areas of improvement we can make. Your comments regarding the breakfast are very helpful and I will confer with the remainder of the management team to see if we can make revamp the menu for breakfast. Thank you again and take care.

Kwame Opeyo
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    278
    113
    60
    31
See reviews for
236
277
20
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
GA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

We stayed for 3d/2n and the overall experience was poor. We booked online a 2Queen/sleeper sofa for 2 adults/2children,nonsmoking. Check In went well and we arrived on the 4th floor. The room smelled musty. A call to the front desk to inquire if this was previously used as a smoking room and the clerk stated that only half of the 4th floor was smoking. Our room was not,even though our room number lacked the famous"No Smoking" sign. The clerk stated that she could come and spray the hallway but we declined. The hallways didn't seem to have AC. We checked in as a party of 4 and only 3 bath towels were in the bathroom. I had to call down to the front desk for extra towels and was told they would be down waiting for me to get them. The room AC was an issue also. Never seemed to get cool enough even when we were in the room. The fridge didn't seem to cool well enough either. The only issue with the bathroom we had was with the toilet. If you used more than 3 sheets of TP you would run a risk of it clogging up. The beds slept well.The pocket doors that seprated the queen beds with the sofabed/seating area was a plus. Some lamps had to be tinkered with in order to be turned on. Cracks in the walls and sugar ants on the nightstand were not attractive. The pool was a winner with our 7yr old. Probably the best feature was the breakfast buffet. Upon check in,we received 2 vouchers for each morning for a free buffet and the kids were free. The waitress was very attenative. She provided service with a smile. The location is not really in the hisotric district. We had to drive to attractions downtown. We'll skip this location next year...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joslyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. I deeply apologize for the inconveniences you experienced and I hope that you will still use the Holiday Inn brand despite the issues in St Augustine. If you do chose to visit us again we will be more than happy to assure you of an improved stay by taking any steps necessary during your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

We had a weekend stay, very clean room, with friendly staff. Bathroom good size with all the amenities. Not exactly walking distance to old town in the Florida heat, however, very close to drive in car. Especially liked the key access to hotel, as some do not have this extra security on rear access doors.Very happy with our stay at this hotel. Will for sure stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newyorker1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
I very much appreciate the time you have taken to give us your kind words. It is always a pleasure to know that we are treating our visitors with the care and concern deserving of guests in our home. Any time you find yourself in the St Augustine area please come and visit us again.

Kwame Opeyo
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

We booked a king room with whirlpool tub. The bathroom was in need of repair (ceiling was cracked and peeling), but the tub jets worked very well. Sadly it was positioned back from the edge to the point that i could barely get into it (being only 5'4" it was hard to straddle the ledge. I had to hop in and out).
The bed, despite being a pillow top, was extremely firm, and it was rather hard on the joints - we both woke with sore backs.
Sadly as well, the room was right at the side of the pool, with people sitting right outside our window, so we were unable to even crack the curtains.
Internet was very slow; this was in a previous review but as the response indicated they were changing providers, I took a chance. I guess it hadn't yet happened.

The staff were extremely friendly, and the hotel was walking distance to most of the attractions. The price was reasonable for a room with a king and whirlpool tub, it was just not as romantic as hoped for.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dburnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I would like to offer an apology regarding the hot tub issues. I realize that the time to fix the problem for your stay has past but we will rectify the issue for the next guest. Also, I see that the bed was not comfortable for you and for that I apologize. As to the Internet, you are correct in noting a prior mention of that problem and we have already had our new provider at the property, so the change over should be completed within a short time. Finally, I would like to thank you for your kind words regarding our staff and we hope to have you visit us again. Take care.

Kwame Opeyo
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

Breakfast buffet is food. Rooms are clean and beds are comfy. Stayed in the room with a king bed and whirlpool tub. Price was ok

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zroeffectz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Thank you so kindly for letting us know that we treated you well during your stay. Any time you find yourself in the St Augustine please come and visit us and we will happily see to all of your needs. Take care.

Kwame Opeyo
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

Room smelled musty and like paint and the Internet was as slow as dial up.

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark F, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District, responded to this review, 16 June 2012
I deeply regret that your experience was not a positive one. Prior to your stay we began a refurbishing effort which included painting on the floor you were assigned. Regarding the Internet, that is another amenity we are in the process of changing to a new provider. I hope that you will continue to use the Holiday Inn brand despite the occurrances in St Augustine. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quinton, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a business meeting and had a wonderful time all around. Room accommodates were very nice, and the room in which we had our meeting was perfect for our needs. The breakfast buffet had an excellent selection and everything we had was very good. The main reason I am writing this review is to give kudos to the staff (Janeth in Housekeeping and Nikki in Sales and Michelle at the Front Desk) for recovering my husband's professional camera that he inadvertently left behind... Janeth turned-in the camera when she cleaned our room, Nikki contacted us the next day to tell us that she had it, and Michelle just called to tell me everything was taken care of. Nikki then went out of her way to hand-carry the camera to the local UPS shipping store and took care of the mailing requirements that my husband gave to the UPS clerk over the phone. The Michelle at the front desk called me on behalf of Nikki to let me know that the project had been taken care of. That, to my husband and I, is going above and beyond for a customer and will never be forgotten by either of us!!! Thank you all so much!!!

Room Tip: We did not specify anything regarding a good room, but our room was very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark F, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you so very much for your heartfelt expression of gratitude. We are pleased that you and your camera were able to be reunited. I will personally pass along your thanks to housekeeping and the front desk. Any time you find yourself in the St Augustine area, please come and visit us.

Thank you,
Kwame Opeyo
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Augustine hotels
0.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
1.4 km away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Ba...
#13 of 79 in Saint Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,581 reviews
0.8 km away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District
Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Histor...
#20 of 79 in Saint Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Saint Augustine North
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#7 of 79 in Saint Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
0.6 km away
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#43 of 79 in Saint Augustine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn
BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn
#24 of 79 in Saint Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
Address: 1302 Ponce De Leon Blvd, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Saint Augustine
#27 Romantic Hotel in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
...to the nation's oldest city, historic St. Augustine. You are invited to stay and relax in our full service hotel with restaurant on site; conveniently located near St. Augustine's rich history, attractions and shopping. The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic is the perfect setting for a family vacation or the weary corporate traveler. Just minutes from the Castillo de San Marco, Flagler College and the Cathedral Bascillica. Other nearby favorites are the Lighthouse, Alligator Farm and the Lightner Museum, plus we are only a short drive to golf courses and the beaches.The Cafe St. Augustine Restaurant serves a Country Breakfast Buffet daily, and also offers room service and dinner. The Flagler Room offers the perfect setting for meetings and receptions. Sightseeing trains provide shuttle service from the hotel. Nearest major airports are Jacksonville, Daytona & Orlando.Favorite Special Events and Holidays are the Gamble Rogers Folk Festival, Nature & Birding Festival, Memorial Day Weekend, July 4th Fireworks Celebration, San Sebastian Wine Festival, Daytona 500 and TPC at Sawgrass.Let our friendly staff make a reservation for you today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, IHG and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
Holiday Inn Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn St Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing