We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Weekend at St. George Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. George Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
St. George Inn
Ranked #4 of 79 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Weekend at St. George Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

This place was awesome, it has the "feel" of a cozy bed & breakfast, while being centrally located, walking distance to everything to keep us busy all weekend. We walked to restaurants, shops, I can't possibly list all the shops on St. George street, but there are plenty of places to eat and shop. You can also purchase your tour tickets here. I thought the trolley packages were a little expensive, we were able to walk to alot of these places, with the exception of the lighthouse, old jail & fountain of youth. It depends on your idea of expensive I suppose, but for us it wasn't worth it. Most of the shops and restaurants along St. George Street are very reasonable, I only found myself saying "wow that's really expensive" at one place, and we ended up eating there anyway.

Further walking includes King Street to Potter's wax musem, a book store, chocolate shop, Flagler College, and many other attractions and museums along the way on this street. We did see some homeless along the way but never felt in danger or scared at any time as this is a very busy/public area, I felt confident walking with my girlfriend all around the area.

The room we had was great, we requested a balcony room with a view of St. George Street and were not disappointed. It was very big for the 2 of us and very clean. The only thing we really heard was some karaoke/live music but it was not extremely late at night nor was it extremely early, and this was expected with the location we had, it was not a surprise or enough to deter us from staying again.

Parking is not a problem, yes you have to park "on the street" but traffic is respectful as they know the where the Inn is located so it's not like you will be honked at and forced off the road, plus there is a median right there (yellow lines) which is out of the way of traffic and you can pull your car onto it, be out of the road, and be able to unload your bags. The staff took all our bags and I was able to park at the nearby garage and walk back. I can't complain about the walk because it's a nice area, plus I am on vacation so I came here to see the sights anyway.

There is nothing bad to say about this place. Don't take my word for it or the other reviews here, experience it for yourself, you won't be disappointed. I also met Mr. Irving and he treated us like family. Nothing was left to chance.

Room Tip: Balcony with view of St. George Street has a shared balcony with some other rooms. (Refer to picture...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dynobyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    181
    50
    13
    4
See reviews for
211
477
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Just enjoyed a week at the St George Inn. We stayed in a Pinta room with balconies overlooking the courtyard on one side and the garden of the Oldest Wooden Schoolhouse on the other. Sitting on a rocking chair drinking a cold beer from the fridge ( we stocked the fridge on our second day!) and watching the sunset was so peaceful. The room was spotless and cleaned, tidied and restocked with fresh supplies every day. The bed was comfortable (ignore the comments about creaky beds - those people must have deliberately jumped on the bed when they arrived, or something), the shower was hot, the towels were plentiful and fluffy and the coffee was delicious. The team who run the hotel - Irving and the gang - are without exception friendly, helpful, knowledgeable about the city and always happy to go the extra mile. Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice. We ate so well at breakfast that we never needed lunch! Some reviewers have commented about noise: we weren't disturbed at all. The Schoolhouse doesn't open until 9am so the bell doesn't start to be rung until after most guests will be out of bed. If people are eating and drinking in the courtyard in the evening, any noise is masked by the room's air conditioning and classic old ceiling fan. The air conditioning sounds as though you're by a river or a waterfall and provides a restful background sound as you slumber.
In all, great value for money. Cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank panicdonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
American Fork, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Nothing but good to say; nice people, great room, nice view-worth the money!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank utahjamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New jersey
Level Contributor
165 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Having used Tripadvisor in selecting this Hotel, I was not disappointed. We stayed 2 nights in one of their Castillo suites, which had views of the old fort and harbor. The rocking chairs on the balcony were a great place to relax after walking the ancient city. The management and staff truly went out of their way to make our stay perfect. Extremely comfortable beds and nicely furnished with new bathroom with jacuzzi, the suite had plenty of space. The only tricky thing was carrying the suitcase up the spiral staircase to the bedroom, but it also added charm to the suite.
Like other guests mentioned, there is no need to use your car. Once we parked a block away at check-in, we never touched it till 2 days later when we checked out. St. Augustine is a great walking city, and if you are healthy, don't bother with the expensive trolleys and walk. Half the trolley stops are for tourist traps. The main 2 things you want to see are the Lightener Museum and Flagler College.
We also had 2 great dinners: Pavillon (French and German food), and The Tasting Room (Tapas and great wine list). See my seperate review for Tasting Room.

Room Tip: Don't buyt trolley tickets. Walk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jerseyguy314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

The first time that we visited St Augustine (last year), we stayed at the Hilton but had heard about the St George. We visited and were given a tour...from that, we decided to stay here the following time, which we did. Boy, are we glad we did! It's worth the #1 rating that it has. Why? The staff is very well trained, super helpful and super nice. The room are comfortable, and we loved sitting out on our balcony with coffee each morning and watching the city wake up. It has a perfect location. On top of all that, it has a laid-back atmosphere where their hotel becomes yours. I'll definitely stay here for all future visits, as you should.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Reezlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

My family and I stayed here because of all the wonderful reviews. Everything that has been said about he St. George Inn is absolutely true. It is heavenly and will be coming back. We would not stay anywhere else. The location can not be beat, the staff is superb, the courtyard and views are so relaxing. Breakfast is provided and the accommodations are exactly what a family of four needed. I'm in love wih this place.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tpafam80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

From pull-up to the front door for arrivel...to departing...nothing but friendly & helpful. Best location ever... charming and quiant...roomy and comfortable! Girls weekend! We'll be back.

Room Tip: only had one room two queen beds four girls...perfect for us. Up-stairs great view even without a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.9 km away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
0.4 km away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
7.8 km away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.9 km away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#10 of 79 in St. Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. George Inn

Property: St. George Inn
Address: 4 Saint George St Unit 101, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3690
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
#3 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. George Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your St. George Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. George Hotel Saint Augustine
St George Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing