We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Convenience to Old Town Trolley” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Suites Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Comfort Suites Downtown
Ranked #42 of 79 Hotels in Saint Augustine
Newton Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Convenience to Old Town Trolley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

My friend & I stayed at this Comfort Suites April 8 - April 13th. The staff was very helpful for suggesting restaurants. Our room was very clean and there was a good breakfast available every morning with a wide variety of items. The best thing about this Comfort Suites is its location of within one walking block to one of the main Old Town Trolley bus stops.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VATeacher75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard32258, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 6 September 2016
Thank you for the 5 Star review.
We are currently changing our management team and we are making an effort to respond to all reviews.

We hope you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you stay with us in the future

Kind Regards

Comfort Suites Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    150
    75
    38
    30
See reviews for
109
165
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

This hotel is nice and pretty typical of a comfort suites. We were first put in a room and got our things proceeded upstairs and were sitting making plans for dinner that evening, when we could hear plain as day the conversation from the room next to us. We could hear adults speaking as well as children hollering. We were on vacation and hate making a fuss, but when downstairs to ask for a change of rooms. Logan help us get into another room. After we changed rooms everything has been great! It's quiet and great if you use either of the trollys in town for tours. There are restaurants nearby and the "downtown" is less than a mile away.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smile2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard32258, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 6 September 2016
Thank you for the 5 Star review.
We are currently changing our management team and we are making an effort to respond to all reviews.

We hope you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you stay with us in the future

Kind Regards

Comfort Suites Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Easy walk to the (mostly tacky) downtown, and the rooms are big and the air conditioning worked. But everything was just a little tired and battered, and the breakfast room is dark and dingy. Grumpy receptionist on arrival was replaced by far friendlier staff. Maybe it has been a long night.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard32258, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 6 September 2016
Thank you for staying with us at Comfort Suites.
We are currently changing our management team and we are making an effort to respond to all reviews.

We hope you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you stay with us in the future

Kind Regards

Comfort Suites Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We arrived and were first somewhat put off by the unkempt appearance of the entrance. A pressure washing would do wonders for that area. The hall had exposed corner bead when you came off of the dirty elevator. The elevator was positioned by the vending and ice. There were FOUR television sets sitting in the area for the whole entire two days we were there. The vending machines had sold out of water on each floor. The room itself was clean enough. I don't recommend this hotel until it is cleaned up.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard32258, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 6 September 2016
Thank you for staying with us at Comfort Suites.
We are currently changing our management team and we are making an effort to respond to all reviews.

We hope you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you stay with us in the future

Kind Regards

Comfort Suites Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint Augustine hotels

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
141 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Comfort Inn Downtown St. Augustine at 42 San Marco Ave., St. Augustine

We drove by the outdoor "Comfort Inn" sign twice before seeing it on the third pass- the sign was so poorly lit that it was nearly impossible to see. Parking is $5.00 per night, but that does guarantee a parking spot, and outsiders are prevented from using parking spaces. AT 7:00 p.m. the lobby was so dark I could not see the check in form. The low ceiling in the lobby is painted an oppressive kindergarten blue and white cloud design- I felt like I could reach up an touch it, but it looked dingy and dirty. The lobby was very warm on this unseasonably hot spring day, but not miserably so. I suspect summertime would be unbearable in this lobby. Wall Street Journal newspapers are set out for guests each day. Two luggage carts are located at the entry, but they are the cheap kind with no hooks for hanging lightweight bags; and they bend a little when heavily loaded. That makes them hard to steer.

Front desk clerks are friendly, helpful, and courteous; but it's clear they are an unhappy crew. They were dead serious all the time. Check-in was easy, and the desk clerk offered us a map and suggested the desk people would always be available to answer questions during our stay.

The breakfast room is dark, dreary, and the windows were hard to see through. The breakfast attendant was very kind, helpful, and courteous; and she kept the breakfast buffet hot, clean, and plentiful. Flat circular scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, oatmeal, oranges, apples, toast, English muffins, cereal... the usual; was warm enough to eat and the waffles are downright good. Coffee was surprisingly good, served with mini-paks of half and half instead of pseudo cream, which is nice. The breakfast room was too warm for a leisurely breakfast, and probably miserable hot for the employees.

One small elevator seemed enough, but I wonder how long the wait would be to go up and down if the hotel was filled to capacity. The smallish pool and spa are next to the parking lot, but not unduly noisy at all. And the pool area is beautifully done with a brick-look deck, heated water in the pool, and a working spa. It was open until 10:00 p.m., closing too early for a swim after a late dinner. Too bad because restaurants are jam packed, with very long waits requiring about three hours for dinner, after which there is no time for a swim before pool closing time.

Corridors outside the rooms are horridly hot. And dark. It's clear this motel is owned by a mom/pop or maybe just a pop who thinks electricity should be used infrequently and sparingly.

The room was nice and clean, had a small double-sliding-door mirrored closet, a couple chairs and a coffee table in the living area nook, new carpet, new window coverings matching the nice quality new bedspreads, and a new 30" flat screen television. The rooms are being renovated, and the nice new fresh carpet and bedding was nicely done. The furniture is old, not quite crummy, but not exactly attractive. Our room had a door with new window blinds, opening to a French balcony- very tiny, not deep enough for a chair, just large enough to go one step out the door and see the world. We had a nice view of the pool which was clean and inviting. The bathroom had a decent size imitation granite countertop, hair dryer, and very nice large fluffy towels and washcloths. The molded plastic tub was new, the shower curtain was on a bowed-out rod, and the tub actually had an eye-level shelf for shampoo- a nice touch. The floor tile looked old and not as clean around the edges as I would like, but the bathroom had been repainted recently, unfortunately the color was dark brown, not good for a bathroom where a lot of light is desired.

We had a microwave, a small countertop with a coffee pot, coffee, tea, and cups; a refrigerator that would not cool and was wet inside. I'm confident the front desk would have brought in a new refrigerator but I did not need it and did not ask.

The room was very dark, dim even during the day, and painted a dreary brown color. This exacerbated the problem of not being able to see very well in the room at night- there were three lamps with low watt bulbs which did not light up the room. At all. It was impossible to read a newspaper at night. There was just one nightstand, on the left side of the bed, with a lamp that had a tricky switch- so tricky that we sometimes could not get the light to go on at all. There are no overhead lights, except for one dim light at the entrance door. The darkness was positively hateful, and for this reason I would be sure to bring a high watt bulb and my own lamp if I had to stay there again. Maybe a spotlight if I could find a place to hang it.

Air conditioning is old style unit under the single window. It was plenty rusty inside, very noisy, and it cycled on and off every thirty seconds or so, but kept the room nicely cool and comfortable.

People have complained that the walls are thin, but we had no trouble at all with noise, and we were just a few rooms from the ice machine and elevator. Whomever owns this place clearly has no corporate hotel training; and is a big fan of saving electricity.

The location is perfect! The main trolley company has a loading point and ticket office about half a block away on San Marco Avenue, right next to Ripley's Believe It Or Not, and the tiny-car fun rental is also a half block away. This makes it easy to start the day. The tiny cars are about $70.00 for a few hours, and the trolley is about $20.00 for adults and about $10.00 for children- that's for a three day pass. We paid $18.00 for adults, but I didn't understand what the ticket clerk was saying about the reason for the discount. That includes admission to a so-so museum next to the historic jail. Trolleys are plentiful and we never waited more than 10 minutes for one to come by at the many stops.

Bottom line on the motel - depressing and hot lobby, breakfast room, and corridors. Partially renovated rooms are comfortable and clean.

It's clear the owners are making a serious effort to renovate this place, although it is being done piecemeal and without corporate input for high quality decisions. I would stay here again- with the hope that continued increments of renovation will bring further improvements.... but only with my own lamps, and only at a low rate. The cost? Only $99.00 per night, and than makes up for a lot of light bulbs.

Room Tip: Bring your own lamp or two with high watt bulbs. Bring an extension cord or two if you want a cell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoThere88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard32258, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 6 September 2016
Thank you for staying with us at Comfort Suites.
We are currently changing our management team and we are making an effort to respond to all reviews.

We hope you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you stay with us in the future

Kind Regards

Comfort Suites Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gainesville, fl
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

We stayed there several years ago and it was a lovely motel and had a convenient location. The location has not changed but the quality of the place was pretty bad and I would not recommend this place to anyone until it is improved. The room was not clean, had crumbs all over the refrigerator and floors, the shower was moldy, the refrigerator did not work, the hair dryer did not work and the staff did little to help. It looked like it was not well cared for and the hallways badly need reapainting. In addition there were no newspapers at the hotel and when asked about (at 8AM, they said the only order a couple). So, needless to say a big this motel was a disappointment and I am sure some of the other hotels in the vicitnity have to be cleaner and better. If one wishes to stay in a Comfort Inn, the one by the outlet mall is much nicer and also less expensive!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rafagator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard32258, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 6 September 2016
Thank you for staying with us at Comfort Suites.
We are currently changing our management team and we are making an effort to respond to all reviews.

We hope you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you stay with us in the future

Kind Regards

Comfort Suites Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, VA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Energy saving gone too far. The foyer was so dark I thought it was closed. The breakfast room was DARK, and you could not even read the newspaper. Recent change to dish tv causing some problems. Managed to fix the tv ourselves after 20 minutes. Hotel had the wrong tv channels listed in the hotel manual. Staff not rude but not proactively friendly. Breakfast manager not very friendly. Management needs to be attentive.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wakeupandgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard32258, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 6 September 2016
Thank you for staying with us at Comfort Suites.
We are currently changing our management team and we are making an effort to respond to all reviews.

We hope you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you stay with us in the future

Kind Regards

Comfort Suites Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Augustine hotels
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn
BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn
#26 of 79 in Saint Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. A...
#20 of 79 in Saint Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
0.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#25 of 79 in Saint Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
1.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#37 of 79 in Saint Augustine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.8 km away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Ba...
#13 of 79 in Saint Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Downtown

Property: Comfort Suites Downtown
Address: 42 San Marco Ave, Saint Augustine, FL 32084-3275
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 79 Hotels in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Priceline and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Downtown Hotel Saint Augustine
Downtown Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing