We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
9 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$148
View deal
PricelineUS$148
Hotels.comUS$148
Expedia.comUS$148
FindHotelUS$148
eDreamsUS$148
Orbitz.comUS$148
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,938)
Filter reviews
1,938 results
Traveller rating
1,357
436
99
28
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,357
436
99
28
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews double tree historic district warm cookies front desk great hotel fountain of youth shuttle service minute walk free shuttle old jail pool and hot tub convenient location downtown area augustine frances trolley attractions
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,938 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2021

Pros:
1. The location is close to the old town of St. Augustine (about a mile away). This is good if you like to walk. The Old Jail, Fountain of Youth, and Catholic Shrine are very close (less than a mile) to the hotel.
2. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
3. They are offering a full breakfast buffet right now. You serve yourself cold items but hot items are served for you on a plate. Breakfast is $16.00 per person plus tax and gratuity. Gold and Diamond members get it free.

Cons:
1. Rooms are small and the bathrooms are tiny. The HVAC unit seemed very loud during my stay and is in need of a renovtation. You really cannot fit more than two in a room.
2. Parking is tight. Arrive early if you want a good spot. Parking is $15 per night, which was good value for St. Augustine.
3. The restaurant was closed for dinner during my stay but the bar was open. I think they should open it up now every night!
4. Check-out time is 11am. I asked for late check-out (because the ARPP rate mentions it) and they gave until noon.

Room tip: Ask for a higher floor. It will be quieter.
Date of stay: April 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ChinaShrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan Stowe, Guest Services / Front Office at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear ChinaShrek,

Thank you for taking the time to write a TripAdvisor review for your stay at the DoubleTree Saint Augustine hotel. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our location, friendly staff, and our full breakfast buffet! I am sorry to hear we did not exceed your expectations with our room size, limited on-site parking, restaurant, and late checkout availability. I am happy to let you know that our breakfast buffet price has been reduced from $16 to $13.95 per person! :) We hope you will give us another try in the future and make your stay excellent instead of average. Please give us a call at 904-825-1923 anytime you plan to return to Saint Augustine and we will be happy to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 17, 2021

This hotel is great. We enjoyed our stay. I've given it five stars because of the location. I would stay here again if I went back. It is very centrally located. The staff were all very nice. Nothing wrong. I've only given it four starts because the parking is limited and very tight.

Date of stay: April 2021
1  Thank Clarissabj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan Stowe, Guest Services / Front Office at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Clarissabj,

Thank you for taking the time to share a review about your stay at the DoubleTree in St. Augustine, Florida. I am happy to hear our hotel was great due to the nice staff and location! I am sorry to hear the parking fee was the only thing preventing you from giving us 5 stars. Thank you staying with us and we would be happy to host you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 15, 2021

Staff was extremely friendly and very helpful. Every staff member treated us like family and always went the extra mile to ensure our stay was exceptional. We really enjoyed Barbara the bartender at the Oak Room. She was so personable and gave us great recommendations and service!

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank lorigrodecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan Stowe, Guest Services / Front Office at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2021

Dear lorigrodecky,

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review about your recent stay at the DoubleTree Saint Augustine hotel. I am happy to hear our staff was friendly and treated you like family! :) Barbara is one of our newest employees and I will be sure she gets recognition for your comment of how she was personable and gave great service, thank you! We appreciate you staying with us and giving us a 5 star review! :) Please call us at (904)-825-1923 or visit our website the next time you are in the St. Augustine area, we would love to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 11, 2021

There are multiple reasons for this rating. Note that I was a heavy user of Hilton properties around the world before COVID and we have stayed at this hotel before as well.
The multiple reasons.
1. Attitude of desk staff was terrible. "No one else is having that problem"- (on three occasions); and "I didn't do that". This was the staff's response instead of helping us to resolve problems. One problem was when our car was locked in the overflow parking lot and the key pad wasn't functional. "No-one else is having that problem". Really, no one else? Our car was the only car there! Turned out the key pad was dead.
2. All the signs claiming "safety" and "cleanliness" are just marketing. Our room door had continuous oily finger prints up and down the door and key pad. It's clear that it hadn't been cleaned for a long time. Elevator buttons and panel was filthy and never cleaned during our entire stay evidenced by the exact same smudges and beverage drip marks never changed. One hotel staff in the elevator with us was not wearing their mask until we insisted.
3. The very limited wine choice and the food at the bar was extremely over cooked and poor quality.
4. The extra $15 parking on a $440/night room is ridiculous when the Holiday Inn parking a few door down was free. As ridiculous as is the weekend markup of $200 extra.
5. We had about 6 tissues in the tissue box and no extra tissue box. It could be that the tissues that we had were just stuffed back into the box before we got there.

All that being said, the room itself was OK. We did find one enthusiastic employee who delivered housekeeping supplies. He was cheerful and grateful to have guests.
This does not relieve management of the attitude that guests were an inconvenience and for the cleanliness.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 30yrtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan Stowe, Guest Services / Front Office at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 30yrtraveler,

Thank you for taking the time to write a TripAdvisor review for your stay at the DoubleTree Saint Augustine hotel. Customer service and cleanliness are our main priority and focus. I am sorry to hear we fell short on both during your visit. We hope you will give us another try in the future and make your stay excellent instead of below average. We would love for you to give us the opportunity to turn that around. Please give us a call any time at 904-825-1923.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 10, 2021

Had an awesome spring break vacation at this great Hilton property last week. This place was super clean, very clean linens and super comfy beds! The breakfast was great and the bar at the lobby was spectacular.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Jose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan Stowe, Guest Services / Front Office at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2021

Dear Jose C,

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review about your recent stay at the DoubleTree Saint Augustine hotel. I am happy to hear you had an awesome Spring Break vacation at our hotel! Thank you for mentioning our rooms were super clean and the breakfast was great! We appreciate you staying with us and giving us a 5 star review! :) Please call us at (904)-825-1923 or visit our website the next time you are in the St. Augustine area, we would love to host you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews