We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uncomfortable and downright dangerous!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #64 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Uncomfortable and downright dangerous!”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We stayed here for one night on our way across the USA. We stay mostly in Comfort Inns, Quality Inns, Comfort Suites - and this one was BY FAR the WORST! The beds were old and SO uncomfortable. There was a board sticking out about 2 inches into the space between the beds. It came from under the box springs. It was DANGEROUS and I scraped my leg on it. Walls were paper thin. The person next door sneezes and you hear it all... The whole place is just worn out. For such a beautiful city, this was a huge disappointment.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gsteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    80
    62
    36
    96
See reviews for
120
139
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, KY
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I stayed at this hotel this past week with an online reservation since the TripAdvisor ratings were so high. At checkin I was rudely greeted by Carol (the night desk clerk) due to asking for my coupon to be redeemed that I had gotten on the way into FL. Not only would she not redeem the coupon, she argued with me about how it was impossible (not true). Since I have worked in the hotel industry before, I was overwhelmed to see how a bad situation can get worse. I requested a first floor room since they're all exterior entry, and although they were not all full, Carol wouldn't put me in one. So, once checked into a second floor room, I got to the room only to realize that she never gave me a key. So, back down I went. After getting the key, we checked the room for bugs && of course found 2 dead roaches behind the headboard ((while checking for bedbugs)) and out ptac didn't work. We called Carol and she didn't even know what a PTAC was (the heating/cooling element) but she did switch our room. After moving all of our things to the other side of the building, moving the car, and getting a different key we checked the second room only for it to be dirty (but cleaner than the last) only to realize that we were stuck with it. The following morning I went to check out while the owners were there. They were rude as well due to whatever it was Carol told them about and argued with me for one hour while checking me out due to my bank had two different transactions taken out. We were charged for two nights the first time, and another the second. We only stayed here ONE night. Needless to say, the customer service overall was horrible, the rooms were filthy, and the hotel itself is ran down. I was highly disappointed this was even called A "Comfort Inn". I expected the best and recieved the worst. :( The Island Inn across the street was very welcoming, clean, and convenient for the rest of our trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cudjoe Key
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

This hotel was a great value....very clean and comfortable room, great price, comfortable bed and right off highway. The attendant at front desk was extremely friendly and helpful in suggesting nearby restaurants, etc. The complimentary breakfast was typical, round scrambled egg patties, bagels, sausage links, waffles, cereal, juice, coffee, etc. All was fresh! I would stay here again. Nothing fancy but nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nmkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Beautiful property, staff is rude as heck!! Pool has such high chlorine levels your sinuses will burn for a week! Beds are like bricks, especially the pull out couch. Not enough food & only one poor sole to help the crowd. The female manager is heartless. No, I repeat, no wi if above the first floor despite what their false advertising says. This place is pretty, but you can dress up a pig. Don't waste your money. Stay closer to the fort and pay for parking. This place stinks!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justatouristlikeyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

It can be hard to find a reasonable price for dogs in this area. This hotel was one of them. The staff was helpful and welcomed my two dogs. There is a nice boardwalk to the dog friendly beach. I had a refreshing stop here. It was clean and everything was in working order.

Room Tip: Room 2 is on the end making it easy to step out to walk the dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ECEprof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Needed a rest as I had driven from Atlanta in the driving rain, and this hotel was just ideal. New and very clean, easy access, nice rooms terrific breakfast and helpful staff.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingsley e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagerstown, Maryland, United States
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2011

The midnight staff was curtious, friendly, and helpful! They went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. The room was large and clean. The pool was lovely and the towels fresh. Breakfast was hot and delicious. Will definately visit again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 km away
St Augustine Island Inn
St Augustine Island Inn
#47 of 78 in St. Augustine
459 reviews
0.6 km away
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
#9 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
1,099 reviews
2.7 km away
Super 8 St. Augustine Beach
Super 8 St. Augustine Beach
#10 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
875 reviews
1.9 km away
Best Western St. Augustine Beach Inn
Best Western St. Augustine Beach...
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
761 reviews
2.7 km away
Regency Inn & Suites
Regency Inn & Suites
#53 of 78 in St. Augustine
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Property: Quality Inn & Suites
Address: 901 A1a Beach Blvd, St. Augustine, FL 32080-6720
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is located Across from Beautiful St. Augustine Beach, Has nice Wooden Board walk to the beach from hotel, NO OCEAN VEIW FROM Room & HOTEL. Old town trolly tour pick up everyhour. Free full HOT Breakfast, Free HBO, free highspeed wifi thruout the hotel. 32" FLAT SCREEN HD TV, Hair Dryer, Iron and Board, In room Coffee Maker, full length mirror, night light, Out Door Pool & Hot Tub. Hotel is 100% non smoking, with designated smoke area. Pet Friendly rooms available with pet verified , $20.00 charge per pet per night. Historic Downtown 4 miles from hotel, Choice of nice restaurants within 1 mile area. Oldest Light House 1 mile from hotel. Daytona 45 miles, Orlando Theame Park 100 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn - St. Augustine Hotel Saint Augustine
Comfort Inn Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing