We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
FLHarlock
Tavares, Florida

The Old Senator

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Apr 13, 2024
Enjoyed a long weekend here with my wife. This motel is older but that just makes it more charming. The room was clean, comfortable, and recently renovated. Reasonably priced. The location is perfect. Walking distance to St George Street and so close to The Fountain of Youth that you can hear the peacocks calling. This is also one of the stops on the Trolley Tour for easy access. Continental breakfast was just okay but the coffee was amazing. The crown jewel of Villa 1565 is The Old Senator, a 600 year old live oak. I will definitely come back.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$104
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.4 km from Villa 1565 Hotel
Free parking
Pool
C$163
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Villa 1565 Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
C$169
C$164
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.2 km from Villa 1565 Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
The Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
C$303
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.7 km from Villa 1565 Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
C$454
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$454
2.9 km from Villa 1565 Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$393
C$199
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
3.7 km from Villa 1565 Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$198
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
7.7 km from Villa 1565 Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$222
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
9.3 km from Villa 1565 Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$206
  • Priceline
2.7 km from Villa 1565 Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in St. Augustine
Reviews (355)
Filter reviews
355 results
Traveller rating
134
105
59
17
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
134
105
59
17
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fountain of youth great location trolley stop walking distance old town trolley yogurt old jail room was clean hot breakfast room door free breakfast enjoyed our stay walk in shower close to downtown nice stay anniversary trip historic district
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 355 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2024 via mobile

We planned a family trip to St Augustine, we booked and prepaid for two rooms nearly a month prior to arrival dates.

On the day of our anticipated arrival we had an emergency and unable to check in. I understand the short notice but we called as soon as we could to notify them of our problem. Time in which the hotel could resell the rooms (which they may have - this double collection on the room). The hotel staff said refunds would be up to management , however they will not contact us to discuss our prepayment. I would not recommend .

Room tip: Avoid if possible if you have future plans
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 338larryj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 15, 2024 via mobile

Older motel. Our room had received some upgrades to thr bathroom. Door didn't close well. Lumpy pillows. Good coffee and eggs. Spent two nights. Room wasn't serviced, no clean towels. Parking was cramped. Walking distance to the main drag and the 'hop on hop off' tour.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 177katherinem
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 13, 2024

Used to be great...certainly has gone way down hill. Landscaping has been neglected, staff were rude and unwelcoming, room still wasn't ready and after 4p we were told again to wait in the parking lot. We had a bad vibe...stayed here several times a year over the last 4 years..never again..too bad!!

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Carla T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 13, 2024 via mobile

The room was absolutely disgusting. The floor was gritty. The furniture was falling apart. The bathroom was filthy.
The check-in process was less than professional. There was a screaming child held by the front desk clerk the whole time I was trying to check in.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank wtapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 9, 2024

Great location! The hop off off/on trollley stops right there. Room was nice, clean and very large. Easy to park and free. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Across the street there is a great Japanese restaurant as well.

i would stay here again!

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stacey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews