We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, basic, good value hotel near beach” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 St. Augustine Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Super 8 St. Augustine Beach
Gainesville, FL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Clean, basic, good value hotel near beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

We stayed here one night, December 10, 2011 with our dog while visiting friends in St. Augustine. Since we had our dog, the price was an additional $15.00 on top of the $49.99 we paid with a roomsaver dot com coupon. The front desk staff was courteous to us both at checkin and checkout and we encountered no problems. We were given a "pet room", room 123, which is the far end of the main building on the first floor with 2 queen beds. I inquired what the difference was for the pet rooms from the others and was told that the only difference is that there is tile floors instead of carpeting. We were able to park (free parking) directly in front of the room which was convenient for loading and unloading. Upon entering the room we did smell a slight antiseptic smell, probably due to cleaning, but it wasn't anything bad. The room was spotless and had a microwave, fridge,coffee maker, regular standard definition tv, and free wireless. There is a very small patch of grass just outside the room beside it to walk dogs (it was kept clean), but you really need to go all the way to the front of the hotel along the sidewalk for longer walks. The parking lot was well lit. Our stay was a quiet one even with a family of 4 and a large dog in the room next to us. The only complaint I had about the room was that I found the hairdryer did not work this morning. I let management know when I checked out and she apologized and said she would check on it and get that fixed. The limited continental breakfast has decent coffee, tea bags, oatmeal packs,cereal, toast, prepackaged muffins and pastries, milk, juice, margarine, jelly and peanut butter packs. There is a toaster and microwave to use. As a previous poster mentioned, it would be nice to see from fresh fruit, but we were really fine with what was offered.
We went on a little stroll this morning with the dog across the highway. (There is a crosswalk just to the south which is to your right as you exit the hotel) to the St. John's County public access area of the beach. There is a beautiful pier there and a bait shop. (Next time we'll bring our fishing rods). It was too windy and high waves to access the beach, but it was still very beautiful. They even have a doggie pickup bag dispenser in the parking lot, so are pet friendly (no dogs on the pier, however). There is also a splash play area for kids for nicer days.
I would come back here again and stay as it is clean and does afford basic amenities at a decent price and is close to the beach. Just don't have 5 star expectations for a 2 to 3 star property and you'll be fine.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dottie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMStAugustinebeach, Manager at Super 8 St. Augustine Beach, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
Thank you for staying with us, we look forward to seeing you and your dog again soon.Be sure to check with us directly, so we can be sure your "special room" is available again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    188
    154
    82
    61
See reviews for
255
220
31
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Caledon, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

We checked into the hotel and a nice man served us and gave us a nice room. He didnt give us our Wyndam rewards as he said he couldnt enter our points card in an that we would have to call it in.We went in the AM to get breakfast around 8:50AM. Breakfast was served until 9:30. When we went to get coffee she said it was all out. I said then we need to make another pot, her response was "only if you plan on drinking it all". Which I thought was rude. She was an east indian woman with long black hair. After she made the coffee, I said to her that when breakfast is to be served with coffee until a certain time, it should be kept and told her that her sarcasim was not accepted by me. I am also writing a formal letter of complaint to the Super 8 chain & wyndam rewards. The same woman also had an argument with 2 females room housekeepers in front of us which I thought was very unprofessinal. She discussed the fact that the 2 girls were living there for reduced rent in liue of cleaning the rooms & that her husband wanted them kicked out & she was defending them to him as they were behind in paying their portion of the rent. Could this not have waited until we were not there? Super 8, you have let us down once again. very dissapointing in the people that you are choosing to represent your hotel chain. It seem to be taken over by a group of east indian people - the men are nice & the woman they have there are very rude. I also experienced another couple being talked to very unprofessionly as they were checking out.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before checking in
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMStAugustinebeach, Manager at Super 8 St. Augustine Beach, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
We apologise that you experienced this less than positive time at our Super 8. After we received your review, we took steps to ensure this never happens again.
Please think of us again when coming to St. Augustine Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
200 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

We recently stayed at the Super 8 in St. Augustine Beach. We were looking for a nice, safe, clean place to spend one night while sightseeing St. Augustine. The hotel is about 15 mins. from the historic downtown and also minutes from the beach. It was clean and the beds were comfortable. The rooms face the parking lot, so there's frequent noise when people walk by, or when alarm cars go off. I would recommend it if you're looking for a no frills place that's conveniently located to St. Augustine attractions... The lighthouse is aboout 7 mins away by car.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ViajamosAMenudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mendocino
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

I was somewhat apprehensive after reading some of the reviews on this site, but decided to spend my short time in the St. Augustine area here at the beach. I was very glad I did. The room was comfortable and clean. I stayed two nights with nary a bedbug bite. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The location is excellent for taking in both the beach, lighthouse and old town areas of St. Augustine. I'd stay here again if I return to the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank historienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

This is a super value near the beach. We were told pet friendly, arrived and cats not allowed - they accommodated us in a pet-friendly room just the same. Microwave and refrigerator a plus. My only complaint is the floor was very dirty - shouldn't it be washed between visitors especially in a pet room.

Thanks - Judy P

Room Tip: If booking through Wyndham or on-line, and see "pet friendly", be sure to call to confirm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palatka, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

It was Labor Day weekend. We went down to spend a few days at the beach. It was a wonderful experience and the hotel was comfortable. It was across the street from the beach.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMStAugustinebeach, Manager at Super 8 St. Augustine Beach, responded to this review, 12 October 2011
Thank you for staying with us here at the beach, and thank you for the review.
We hope to see you again next time you are in the area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

ROOM 208:We booked for two nights on the first night we woke up to see that we were the dinner to the BEDBUGS all night. IT WAS HORRIBLE. They had protectors on the Matterest but that does not stop the bedbugs YOU CAN NOT SEE THEM WHEN YOU CHECK IN SO GOOD LUCK ON YOUR CHECKIN INSPECTION ! The manager was very sorry and said they would refund our money, we had to throw away everything that could not be washed, lugguge, shoes..ETC

Room Tip: Place presented nice and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank HUGJACK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMStAugustinebeach, Manager at Super 8 St. Augustine Beach, responded to this review, 12 October 2011
We aplogise for your experience at our hotel. We take the bedbug issue very seriously.

After you checked out, our pest control Company came and the room was treated. We have not had another instance of pests in the rooms. We have regular pest control service .
Additionally, our staff is trained to inspect the rooms carefully and report any problems.

We hope you give us another chance, and visit when you are in St Augustine again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint Augustine Beach hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Augustine Beach
2.0 km away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
2.4 km away
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
#9 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
0.9 km away
BEST WESTERN St. Augustine Beach Inn
BEST WESTERN St. Augustine Beach...
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Regency Inn & Suites
Regency Inn & Suites
#49 of 79 in St. Augustine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.8 km away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
2.7 km away
St Augustine Island Inn
St Augustine Island Inn
#48 of 79 in St. Augustine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 St. Augustine Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 St. Augustine Beach

Property: Super 8 St. Augustine Beach
Address: 311 A1a Beach Blvd, Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine, FL 32080-5901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine > Saint Augustine Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Saint Augustine Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 St. Augustine Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Super 8 St. Augustine Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 St. Augustine Beach Hotel Saint Augustine Beach
Super 8 Saint Augustine
Super Eight Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Super 8
Saint Augustine Super Eight
Super 8 St. Augustine Beach Saint Augustine Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing