We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what I needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Super 8 St. Augustine Beach
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Just what I needed”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed one late Thursday night, wonderful beach motel, the location is perfect near the historic district and a quaintly vibrant A1A area. We stayed here on a visit to the historic downtown area, but thought about going to the beach, too. When we woke up, we weren't in a beach mood, so we skipped checking out the access to the beach. I inquired about staying Friday night too, but being and same-day notice, they advised me they had no vacancies. The lady at the front desk apologized, and I couldn't blame this small perfect motel for being booked solid on a Friday night. Two phone calls and three interactions with office staff were all fast, smooth, friendly, professional. Room was very big and clean. WiFI, mini fridge and microwave HUGE pluses! Since we were there less than 12 hours, we didn't spend any time in the pool area, which looked small but inviting. And even though we paid them a very short visit, I am confident that a visit there for several days would be at least satisfactory. Only negative things to say about our experience: The powdered coffee creamer seemed out of date or had gotten wet, making it hard, chunky and unusable. The toilet was loose on the floor, so if you sat on the toilet, it wobbled, and was a little startling. Our king bed was very comfortable but really needed a 4th pillow (Rock-Paper-Scissors for the 3rd pillow - I lost). If you're looking for a place to stay 1 or 2 nights, I highly highly recommend this hotel, because I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missjenna522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    204
    177
    95
    75
See reviews for
278
251
39
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2012 via mobile

The sheets had blood stains and the room smelled musty!! The pool and jacuzzi where dirty looking and for 104.00 per night I expected better!!....another guest asked to borrow a iron and had to give a deposit plus copy of license I was shocked!!.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Yvette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

This was out second time at the Super 8 This time we had the room with the window looking out to the beach. It was wonderful waking up in the morning and watching the ocean. The room was fine , the bathroom was okay could have been alittle cleaner but overal a good time.They could use a new picnic table near the pool and some more pool chairs. The regular beach acces was closed due to adding more sand to the beach but there are lot's of beach acces close by either by car of walking

Room Tip: ask for the special rooms above the office or the one with the beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kreeft13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We had a great time last year and now we heading down to florida for a vacation . I was little scared after reading some of the reviews. But super 8 was super , nice rooms , great beach and nice people . I hope it will be as good as last year!

Room Tip: we booked one of the 2 rooms overlooking the beach , i will write a review on how they were
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kreeft68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobleskill, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

It was the best place to be if you want to be near the beach! That being said if you want anything else this is not the place to go! The rooms were ok i guess, still felt like i needed to "check " for bugs every night before i went to bed. We ( my family and I ) had a large issue with the hot tub. it was never on, and when we asked about it they told us it was only operated during the hours of 6:30-9:30 p.m.. this would have been useful information when we checked in seeing as how the sign on the pool says spa hours 9:00 am- 10:00 p.m.... also they hot tub was never turned on on time. night after night we had to ask for them to turn the hot tub on and only once out of the whole week we were there got to use it and that was only after waiting till 8 p.m. for it to get up to temperature. The "maintenance man" that the front desk woman had to get to "fix" the hot tub seemed to be her son who was about 15 years old. The price is what you pay for, like other reviews have said the breakfast is minimal, don't expect a 4 course meal. all in all we spent almost no time in the room because it was frustrating.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluemeat24601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMStAugustinebeach, General Manager at Super 8 St. Augustine Beach, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
we are sorry that your experience at the super 8 did not meet your expecttations. we make it a practice to share all our guest's comments with our staff and management team . and about the hot tub is always on only the time you were here we had one of sencer on the heater was bad and we order and when it come it was wrong so send back so at that time we have to manualy turn on and off once again we are sorry. we hope you give us chance and visit when you are in st augustine again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean City, New Jersey, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Nice basic hotel, clean and affordable. Not far from downtown St. Augustine attractions. Nice staff except for a female working breakfast grumbled when I asked for her to refill the milk!!! Sorry but isn't it your job until breakfast is over?? However, I highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penguin1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMStAugustinebeach, General Manager at Super 8 St. Augustine Beach, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
thankyou for staying with us here at super 8 and thankyou for the review and the female working at breakfast is gone. it is through comments such as yours we work to help mprove guests' experience. we hope to see you again next time you are in the st augustine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, FL
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

We stayed here one night, December 10, 2011 with our dog while visiting friends in St. Augustine. Since we had our dog, the price was an additional $15.00 on top of the $49.99 we paid with a roomsaver dot com coupon. The front desk staff was courteous to us both at checkin and checkout and we encountered no problems. We were given a "pet room", room 123, which is the far end of the main building on the first floor with 2 queen beds. I inquired what the difference was for the pet rooms from the others and was told that the only difference is that there is tile floors instead of carpeting. We were able to park (free parking) directly in front of the room which was convenient for loading and unloading. Upon entering the room we did smell a slight antiseptic smell, probably due to cleaning, but it wasn't anything bad. The room was spotless and had a microwave, fridge,coffee maker, regular standard definition tv, and free wireless. There is a very small patch of grass just outside the room beside it to walk dogs (it was kept clean), but you really need to go all the way to the front of the hotel along the sidewalk for longer walks. The parking lot was well lit. Our stay was a quiet one even with a family of 4 and a large dog in the room next to us. The only complaint I had about the room was that I found the hairdryer did not work this morning. I let management know when I checked out and she apologized and said she would check on it and get that fixed. The limited continental breakfast has decent coffee, tea bags, oatmeal packs,cereal, toast, prepackaged muffins and pastries, milk, juice, margarine, jelly and peanut butter packs. There is a toaster and microwave to use. As a previous poster mentioned, it would be nice to see from fresh fruit, but we were really fine with what was offered.
We went on a little stroll this morning with the dog across the highway. (There is a crosswalk just to the south which is to your right as you exit the hotel) to the St. John's County public access area of the beach. There is a beautiful pier there and a bait shop. (Next time we'll bring our fishing rods). It was too windy and high waves to access the beach, but it was still very beautiful. They even have a doggie pickup bag dispenser in the parking lot, so are pet friendly (no dogs on the pier, however). There is also a splash play area for kids for nicer days.
I would come back here again and stay as it is clean and does afford basic amenities at a decent price and is close to the beach. Just don't have 5 star expectations for a 2 to 3 star property and you'll be fine.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dottie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMStAugustinebeach, Manager at Super 8 St. Augustine Beach, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
Thank you for staying with us, we look forward to seeing you and your dog again soon.Be sure to check with us directly, so we can be sure your "special room" is available again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Augustine Beach
2.4 km away
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
#9 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
1,099 reviews
0.8 km away
Best Western St. Augustine Beach Inn
Best Western St. Augustine Beach...
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
760 reviews
1.9 km away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
St Augustine Island Inn
St Augustine Island Inn
#48 of 78 in St. Augustine
458 reviews
0.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine ...
#4 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
795 reviews
0.1 km away
Regency Inn & Suites
Regency Inn & Suites
#52 of 78 in St. Augustine
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 St. Augustine Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 St. Augustine Beach

Property: Super 8 St. Augustine Beach
Address: 311 A1a Beach Blvd, Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine, FL 32080-5901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine > Saint Augustine Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Saint Augustine Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 St. Augustine Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Super 8 St. Augustine Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 St. Augustine Beach Hotel Saint Augustine Beach
Super 8 Saint Augustine
Super Eight Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Super Eight
Saint Augustine Super 8
Super 8 St. Augustine Beach Saint Augustine Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing