We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss the Sunset oysters!”
Review of Sunset Grille

Sunset Grille
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: In business since 1990, we're located #SomewhereOnA1A across from the beach! We have several seating areas for laid back dining. Whether you're interested in dining indoors, outdoors in the beautiful open air on our first floor deck, first floor patio Or something even more laid back up on the second story deck, we can accommodate you! Also, our second story deck is wheelchair accessible! We're proud to be able to say that ours is an award winning menu with the best food on the beach!
Reviewed January 4, 2017

We came for the Minorcan chowder, but sadly, they were out. We almost left but figured we'd go ahead and try something else, and we were certainly glad we did. The fried calamari was just so-so, but their unique version of shrimp and grits was delightful, and the sunset oysters with spinach, artichoke hearts and cheese are worth the visit all by themselves!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank schindlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetGrilleA1A, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Grille, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2017

As we approached our annual renovation and cleaning (beginning on January 3; reopening Thursday, January 19th at 11am) we began running out of many of our menu items. At any other time it is extremely rare that we run out of any of our Award-Winning Chowders. We apologize for the inconvenience but we hope to have you back when we reopen so that we may have another chance to exceed your expectations. Thank you for visiting and posting a review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,600)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,701 - 1,705 of 5,601 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2017

We have been coming to Sunset Grille for years. Our meals are always delicious and drinks are great.We love the Minorcan and the New England Clam Chowder. The food is consistently good here and is a must if you are in the area

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank patriceh2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetGrilleA1A, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Grille, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2017

Thank you for returning year-after-year! We work hard to consistently serve our great food and its great to know that you enjoy what we do! We look forward to sharing great times Somewhere On A1A this upcoming year with you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2017

Here's a neat restaurant just across the street from St Augustine Beach - a good family restaurant or for anyone else, too. There is a wonderful menu with great variety. And if you love to eat out of doors, they've got a new roof deck from which you can watch the beach to the east or the sunsets to the west. What could possibly be better than that?

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Skye T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetGrilleA1A, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Grille, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2017

.......When you add our great food and amazing staff? Not much else! Thank you for visiting! We hope to see more of you in 2017 now that you've discovered A1ALIFE
Somewhere On A1A!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2017

We had fish, salad, & shrimp to eat. It was good not great. There is a great view from the top. We wanted dessert but they were out.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sharonladybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetGrilleA1A, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Grille, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2017

As we approached our annual renovation and cleaning (beginning on January 3; reopening Thursday, January 19th at 11am) we began running out of many of our menu items. We apologize for the inconvenience but we hope to have you back when we reopen so that we may have another chance to exceed your expectations. Thank you for visiting and posting a review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2017

We come to Saint Augustine several times a year and always have at least one meal at Sunset Grille. The food and service are always good. Any friends that we bring here enjoy it as well.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank LnD1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetGrilleA1A, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Grille, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2017

We are very appreciative that you bring your guests to dine with us. There are a lot of options in St. Augustine and we are proud that you know you can count on us to provide great food and a great atmosphere to enjoy. We look forward to seeing you in 2017!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sunset Grille also viewed

 
St. Augustine, FL
 

Been to Sunset Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing