We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many problems with both WIFI and cable.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Many problems with both WIFI and cable.”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

This is a nice property with spacious rooms with nice amenities such as oversized shower and separate in room hot tub. However, it is very frustrating that there is consistent problems with internet access. At this very moment the cable tv is "out" with a message apologizing for the inconvenience and to call comcast if the problem continues. When I arrived at the hotel four days ago and reported the internet problem, the hotel staff acknowledged that they have known about the problem for "a month" and said they are trying to get it resolved. All evening the television has been out and I have to wonder if the same vendor is supplying the hotel with both internet and cable tv. If this is the case the hotel should show this room to their vendor and demand it be corrected. I really liked many things about this property and plan to visit this area again as it is a good "getaway" from where we live in Tampa (only a 3 hour drive away). However, I will not stay here again until I know that they have this problem solved. Many of us need to be able to check business email etc in order to take getaway trips like this. The restaurant on property is excellent as well as the Sunset Grill which is walking distance from the hotel. Its too bad as this property has so many things going for it but living in a wired world they need to get this corrected.

Room Tip: Many of the rooms have an in room two person hot tub and balcony so try to get one. Make sure they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmk957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDealaney, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
We are glad o hear that other than a few technical issues, that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do apologize for the cable and internet issues. We have recently upgraded from a very limited (20 channel) satallite lineup to Comcast Digital Cable. As I have heard from many souces since the switch; Comcast is not so reliable, but the only cable provider we have access to here in St. Augustine. We are still working with them to remedy these issues. We currently have fixed half of the internet issues and do have WiFi available in all commons areas, all of the time. We are still working with an internet trouble shooting company to figure out why the access is being limited inside the guest rooms. Please be assured that we are working diligently to fix these issues. We can't wait to see you again in the future, after we have these issues resolved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    261
    70
    27
    12
See reviews for
237
425
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Based on the reviews here, I was looking forward to a great stay at the Castillo Real last November. Rooms were nice enough, but the fact that our view was strictly onto the parking lot made it into an average hotel for me, not a great one.

But the true surprise was my very bad experience with customer service:
I had left a lightweight cotton jersey T-shirt behind, phoned them up twice about it, and the second time they had found it and volunteered to mail it to me. Great! Asking about reimbursement for their shipping costs, they said, "no problem, we have your credit card on file". I got the T-shirt a few days later, and there never was a charge on my card.

So I figured it was all part of customer service - like I ship things to my customers when they leave things behind in my store, and I just pay for the $ 6-8 priority mail shipping out of our business account without asking the customer for reimbursement - it sure makes the customer very happy - and they happily come back to shop with us :)

Not so with Castillo Real: 10 days ago, which was 3 months after my stay, I got a phone call from a Castillo representative, being rather irritated and urgent, saying that there is "something wrong" with my credit card, and that FedEx couldn't charge my card for the $36.19 shipment, and that i need to clear up that open account with them.
That was the first thing I ever heard about it... it took them 3 months?

I was speechless as to the amount and said that $36.19 is an outrageous charge for shipping a lightweight T-shirt from Florida to New Mexico and that i will not authiorize such a charge to my account. I got a snippy answer, "that's just how we do it", and that i should talk to the manager if I didn't like it. Then she hung up on me.

I let it go, but 3 days later, I see that Castillo Real charged $36.19 to my my card - against my clear direction not to do so! They must have played with my new expiration date and figured out how to use the card again after the old expiration date of 11/11.

There are 2 serious transgressions here:
1.) to share my credit card number with another company, FedEx. They were NOT authorized to do that.
2.) to then go ahead a few days ago, play around with my card, and just charge an amount I had specifically forbidden them from charging.

I found remedy by alerting my credit card company: they agreed that $8.00 is a reasonable fee for mailing a T-Shirt, and they refunded me the charges beyond that - and they will collect it back from Castillo Real.

I would have gladly paid a nice tip to an employee, and a reasonable shipping fee, but this totally unprofessional behavior and outrageous charge makes me speak up and let other customers know about it. Shame on Castillo Real! They missed the boat. I will not be back.

Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Annette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDealaney, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
I am sorry that you felt the customer service you received was not to your likings. Unfortunately, with the amount of items that guests leave behind on a daily basis, it is just not cost effective for us to cover the costs of shipping all of that back to the customer. We did immediately ship the item per your request. We did inform you that your card would be charged for this shipping. Since that time we were dealing with FEDEX, as they said that your card was not chargable. Only after many attempts of trying to get FEDEX to charge you, did we finally contact you, to inform you that we would need to charge you to cover the bill the hotel was incurring to ship your item back. We have no way of limiting what FEDEX is charging you for the shipment that you authorized us to return to you. I do apologize that you felt we were not helpful under these circumstances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melrose, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We spent Valentines night here, after finding an excellent rate on their web site. We have stayed here before, & will continue to do so. When we checked in, the clerk was on the phone & was doing her best to finish the call, finalizing a reservation for someone. She did a nice job with us.
Perhaps an inexpensive breakfast could be offered...
We were in room 201, & we really liked the floor plan. The layout of the rooms overall is nice as well, as they are not all lined up in a row as in some other properties. Some are tucked into out of the way spots.
Keep up the good work, Ascend!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redbird02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDealaney, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We truely do appreciate it. We are so happy that you were able to enjoy your Valentines Day with us. Thanking for recognizing that the Front Desk staff member was doing her best to multitask at a busy time. We are so glad that you chose to come back and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We checked in for a weekend stay near the beach. We were pleasantly surprised with the hotel. The room was large with a huge walk in shower. It was well kept with lovely furnishings and a sitting area. We didn't try the restaurant until the morning we left. My husband had an omelet and I had the blueberry crepes. It was delicious and beautifully presented. The service was top notch. We ordinarily skip the hotel restaurants. But, I am glad we didn't. This was the best breakfast we've had in quite some time. Even a power outage the night we checked in didn't mar our stay. We'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melliekelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDealaney, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
We are so glad to here that you were pleasantly surprised by our hotel. We absolutely LOVE to hear that. I do apologize for the power outage, but thank you for realizing that it was beyond our control and we were doing everything that we could to restore it as quickly as possible. We hope to see you again soon to help you make more wonderful memories of our beautiful area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorain, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We only stayed here for one night while we toured the St Augustine area, but it was worth driving out of town to be so close to the beach. The only problem we had was that we arrived just as the elevator repairman was fixing the one elevator in the place. Fortunately, we were only on the second floor, but it was not the best way to start our visit. The room itself was very large and clean and the hotel itself was very quiet. We had a roadside view, but the road was not terribly busy in late January. We especially liked the proximity for a beach walk in the morning. If we were in the area again, we would come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VEC24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDealaney, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, 12 February 2012
First I would like to apologize for the elevator issues. We were trying to get it repaired as quickly as possible. Also, we are glad that you enjoyed your room and our hotel's location to the beach and area attractions. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosse Ile, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

The hotel is well maintained, staff is friendly and helpful, area restaurants are close and location is great - only 50 yards from beach access. I recommend to all.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDealaney, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, 12 February 2012
We would like to thank you for your kind words regarding our staff and hotel and your recommendation to future guests. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

I have never been so pleasantly surprised when booking a hotel! This place was fantastic!!! The decor is beautiful, very clean, nice big rooms, big shower, nice vanity area, 2-3 minute walk to the beach, short distance from downtown...I could go on & on! Honestly, I adored this place! It just has so much character! Not like your usual, boring hotel chains. Plus, the rates are great! I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teresalew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDealaney, General Manager at Ascend Collection Castillo Real, responded to this review, 12 February 2012
We are so happy our property surprised you in a good way. We are always thrilled to hear when people find us and are happy about their discovery. We hope to see you again in the near future, so we may help you and your family make many more wonderful memories. Thank you again for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Augustine Beach hotels
0.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine ...
#4 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
795 reviews
1.2 km away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
875 reviews
0.1 km away
Best Western St. Augustine Beach Inn
Best Western St. Augustine Beach...
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
#9 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
1,099 reviews
0.3 km away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
#6 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
1,327 reviews
0.3 km away
Courtyard by Marriott St. Augustine Beach
Courtyard by Marriott St. August...
#5 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascend Collection Castillo Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascend Collection Castillo Real

Property: Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Address: 530 A1a Beach Blvd, Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine, FL 32080-7933
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine > Saint Augustine Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Augustine Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascend Collection Castillo Real 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ascend Collection Castillo Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascend Collection Castillo Real Hotel Saint Augustine Beach
Castillo Real Clarion Collection
Clarion Collection Saint Augustine Beach
Clarion Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Clarion
Ascend Collection Castillo Real Saint Augustine Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing