We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castillo Real An Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Nearby Hotels
Americas Best Value Inn St. Augustine Beach(Saint Augustine Beach)(Great Value!)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort(Saint Augustine Beach)
US$238
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western St. Augustine Beach Inn(Saint Augustine Beach)(Great Value!)
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$218
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach(Saint Augustine Beach)(Great Value!)
US$149
GardenInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard by Marriott St. Augustine Beach(Saint Augustine Beach)(Great Value!)
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Econo Lodge(Saint Augustine Beach)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites(Saint Augustine Beach)
US$147
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachfront Bed & Breakfast(Saint Augustine Beach)
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (898)
Filter reviews
898 results
Traveller rating
505
275
75
28
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
505
275
75
28
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful hotelvanity areabreakfast vouchersour room was spaciouscocina restaurantdvd playeron site restaurantocean viewshort walkhot tubst augustineaugustine beachgreat restaurantbooked this hoteltwo queen bedsthird floordefinitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 898 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2016

We just returned from our fourth and LAST stay at this luxury hotel. It's really too bad, because the hotel has some nice amenities. It is close to the beach, most of the staff is very nice, and the beds are comfortable. But while there, my husband bled on one of the chairs due to a medical condition. Rather than leave it and say nothing, he was up front about the situation and reported it to the front desk, offering to pay any cleaning charge. The manager consulted the owners, and without even coming to the room to look at the chair, the owners charged us $100! It wasn't even that nice of a chair!! I'm sure that in the four years we have stayed at this hotel, they have made enough money on us to pay the cleaning cost of one lousy chair. Really left a bad taste in our mouths. We have already begun searching for where we will stay when we return to the area next year. Actually, the nicest part of this hotel is the restaurant La Cocina which is located on the property; but fortunately it is not a part of the hotel itself. So wherever we stay next year, we will certainly return to this wonderful restaurant, where we have always been treated with fairness and respect.

Room Tip: Do NOT go through a third party. You will have no control over anything once you arrive.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rose D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tanblas, Corporate Revenue Manager at Castillo Real An Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to post your review! I am so sorry to hear of the troubles that you had during your visit! Our property has just switched to new ownership and I am hoping that you will give us another chance to take care of your family the way that you deserve! We appreciate you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 24, 2016 via mobile

Dirty shower sink and toilet. Tiles are moldy. Horribly uncomfortable bed. Pillows were the size of throw pillows and there were only three. Hallways and elevator were hot. Coffee pot was rusty. If this were an $80 hotel I could deal with it but I paid 140 through Hotwire, complete ripoff and very disappointing.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tanblas, Corporate Revenue Manager at Castillo Real An Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2016

Thank you for taking time to share your review. I am so sorry to hear of your experience. This is obviously not the way that we would like you to remember your stay! My company has just purchased this property and we will be working hard to address all of these issues so that no one has to go through any of these things again! We hope that you will reconsider and visit us again and that next time, we will give you the outstanding visit that you deserve!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 24, 2016

Arrived here at 1pm but couldn't check in until 4pm. We were given room 103. When we opened the door we could smell bleach and assumed that the room must have only just been cleaned. However we think it was to disguise the foul smell that seemed to emanate from the shower drain. We tried covering it with a rubber shower mat which helped but we could still smell it. With hindsight we should have asked to be moved but we had unpacked and the thought of moving everything when we were only there for 4 nights was daunting. The sheets and pillow slips smelt of cooking, the reason for this is that the laundry is next to the kitchens. There was a hole in the bottom sheet on the edge of the mattress and the maid failed to notice and left it on the bed for the next two nights. If you want breakfast in the hotel you are advised to book it the night before at reception, it was good but could have been better. The restaurant has a good reputation and had high hopes for breakfast. The following days we had better breakfasts outside the hotel at a cheaper price. The plus point for this hotel is its location, literally steps to the beach. The pool is located at the back of the hotel and loses the sun in the afternoon due to its position meaning people tend to chase the sun around the pool therefore the beach is a much better option. If returning to this area would look at other hotels close to the beach..

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cjkj3246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tanblas, Corporate Revenue Manager at Castillo Real An Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2016

Thank you for sharing your experience! I apologize for the multiple issues that occurred during your stay! Needless to say, this is not how we want you to remember us! The property is under new ownership and we hope that you will give us another chance to wow you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 22, 2016

OK, we have stayed at this hotel multiple times over the last four years. My extended family lives at the beach, and my parents are in St Augustine. I'm thinking with Mother's Day, Father's Day, Thanksgiving, and Christmas, new babies, birthday parties and reunions of my fathers many sisters, I have stayed here more than 99% of the population.

I have written multiple glowing reviews. BUT this time I used a 3rd party booking since the hotel only had king size rooms, and we needed 2 queens for the three of us. I called, and was told to use a site that had blocked out a queen room. We arrived to find out that only one King room was left. Sorry. We could put a roll away in the room. Not good, no chance of any relief, regardless of the facts, this is what you get.

Room 107 had an air conditioner that made three loud noises, and then blew air like a jet engine. Great night as you could imagine.

No hope of recovering the slightest compensation, because the $$ was paid to the booking company, not the hotel. It's still good property, and the manager was courteous, but by using a 3rd party, I am screwed. Beware

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
1  Thank Paperman87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tanblas, Corporate Revenue Manager at Castillo Real An Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2016

Thank you for your post! I am so sorry that the room type that you needed was not available when you arrived to the hotel! I understand how frustrating that is! I also apologize for the AC noise and we will have our maintenance team look into that. We hope that you will give us another chance in the future and we will do our best to make your next visit an outstanding one!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 19, 2016

We stayed for one night as a romantic getaway. When you walk in, the decor has a very old, Spanish feel. We thought it was lovely. Our room was a partial-ocean view located on the third floor. Our king bed suite included a whirlpool tub, shower, lighted vanity area, wardrobe cabinet, desk, bench and balcony. Our room was very clean except we noticed hair on the top of the drain in the shower and a couple of single hairs on the rear wall of the shower. Our room had a binder with local restaurants and things to do - some establishments offered discounts for mentioning the ads. Our stay was pretty quiet, except for hearing patrons in the hallway in the morning.

Check-in was very prompt. Our reservation was prepaid but they did add a $50 hold on our credit card for incidentals. We were not charged for parking. You can request a vouchers for the breakfast menu. The breakfast entrees range approximately from $8.50-11. If you purchase a voucher, any meal is $8.50 including a drink. We opted out since there are several food options in the local area.

We liked that just behind the hotel, there is a walkway directly to the beach. This area did not have a large number of visitors, so it seemed semi-private.

The gym located on the 4th floor was less to be desired, unless you casually work out. It has 2 treadmills, hand weights, steam room and sauna. There is a nice indoor seating area and access to stand on a balcony with a nice view of the beach and surrounding area.

The hotel is about 6 miles from downtown Saint Augustine!

Room Tip: Great beach access, choose king size room
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ajalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tanblas, Corporate Revenue Manager at Castillo Real An Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2016

Thank you so much for your review! I am so happy to hear that you had a positive experience with us! Thank you for sharing your insights with other guests to help them plan their future visits! We hope you come back to see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews