We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Flafolk” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buccaneer Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. George Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Buccaneer Inn
Newberry, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Flafolk”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

We stayed 2 nights here - no reduction for Veterans or AAA during Winter. Had Gulf Front room so we paid a little extra, but found that we should have been upstairs if we really wanted Gulf Front views and sounds. Wish we had known that at check in. Front office staff were o.k. but not seemingly happy to see us or real helpful. Small fridge in room, no microwave, no clothes hangers in the room. Room service did good job and left clean towels. A small microwave would have been nice. No help with morning breakfast, and as the island does not have many places to eat, you may have to go to mainland to get breakfast. Even cereal would be nice. Coffee was minimal and would barely get warm in the pot. No place close by to get a good morning cuppa so we had to go to local station to get hot fresh coffee. Thought they might have some in office but that was a no also.

Room Tip: Suggest upstairs gulf front. Those rooms may be a little better. I don't know if any of the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelersNewberr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    61
    44
    26
    42
See reviews for
70
80
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

Buccaneer Inn is a perfectly nice road side motel right on the beach. We stayed for two nights and found the staff to be extremely friendly and the rooms clean. There is also a nice wooden deck overlooking the beach which we took advantage of several times.

There are many great restaurants nearby and at least one of them, the Beach Pit, serves breakfast. I would certainly stay here again, but it's important to keep in mind that this is a motel, and not a resort. There's no continental breakfast, or internet access, but the value and the location are exceptional.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warner Robins, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

We have been staying at the Buccaneer Inn once a year for many years. Our motorcycle group takes a ride to St. George Island in September every year to spend a couple of days eating great seafood and relaxing on the beach. This trip along with staying at the Buccaneer Inn is one of our highlights of the year. This year was no exception. The Buccaneer Inn has always been very clean and everything updated as needed to make our stays comfortable. The location on the beach is nothing short of awesome. We especially like the fact that this area is NOT so commercialized to the point you can't enjoy a little solitude. We like the fact we can park our motorcycles and walk to everything we need. The Blue Parrott seafood restaurant is right next door and is also right on the beach. The food and atmosphere are excellent. For breakfast there are at least two restaurants within two short blocks of the hotel.
When we booked our rooms we requested pool side and a special rate with military discounts. When we arrived our reservation was as quoted and check-in was speedy. We will continue our annual trek to the Buccaneer for years to come. FYI, if you venture over to Apalachicola to eat our, stay away from Papa Joe's. The service is terrible and the food is not the best.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spsmitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

This was a great spot to stay for one night, but I wouldn't do much longer than that. Perfect location right on the beach. Wish they had a breakfast place nearby, reccomend bringing your own snacks. There is a bike rental shop and liquer store right across the street, which was really conveniant. The rooms are okay, pretty outdated and the customer service was not excellent.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trishagurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobe Sound
Level Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

St. George Island and Apalachicola is a great area to visit for some true R & R and great seafood and southern style cooking at really reasonable prices. The good thing about the Buccaneer Inn is it's located right on the beach and near the bridge to the mainland. That's it! Don't ruin your stay in this paradise by booking a room at the Buccaneer. My nightmare started with booking 2 adjoining rooms in my name and credit card. I was cut off, had to call back and then was quoted a price which when our relatives checked out (before us) was not honored. When questioned, we were told they would get back to us about it, but never did. They then made us move from one of the adjoining rooms to the other because the room we were staying in was only booked for 2 nights by us and the other was for 4. I could understand having to move if this place was crowded, but there was only 1 or 2 other occupants there. After moving, we were told in order to get the rate we were quoted we had to move yet again across the complex. So we had experience in 3 rooms and all were filthy. The first two stunk of bug spray. Their solution was to spray Fabreeze. The sheets were stained (my pillow case had blood on it), the remote for the TV didn't work. It is an old, run down motel. When we went to check out, they gave us someone else's bill and insisted it was mine. It wasn't the room we stayed in and they insisted it was even though I gave them keys back for another room and I do know my own name! When I got the right bill in my name, it still had the incorrect rates for all nights - even though we moved 2 times to get to the right room. When I questioned once again, all I got were excuses and then the desk person says there's a credit but I need your card to process it. They would have let me walk out of there without the credit if I hadn't first noticed the wrong bill and second that the rate was still wrong. Bottom line, they only gave me credit differential for 1 of the 3 nights. At this point, I'd had it and was just trying to salvage as much of a good time as possible. So do yourself a favor and contact one of the local rental agency's. You may pay a little more, but you get what you pay for and this place's customer service and room quality isn't worth their "economical" rates - if you even get the rate they quote you!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DeniseHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. George Island hotels

Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

We have been coming here 1-2 times a year, and have been coming here for years. The ladies in the office have been working there forever it seems and are always nice and very helpful. The motel has some age but has been kept up pretty well. It is directly on the beach and has a nice pool area.It can be a little noisy depending what time of year that you go or the events that might be going on. It is in a area where you can walk to a great resturant (The blue parrot) has great seafood and sandwiches, also beach shops,ice cream store and you can visit the lighthouse. We will be back soon.

Room Tip: Beachside is best for views,but you won't stay in the room much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nater007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

We came here in their off season and really had no plan of where we were going to stay for the night when we arrived on st. george. We were warmly greeted by a gentleman at the front desk who escorted us to our very spacious room on the second or third floor. We fell asleep to the sounds of waves lapping against the shore. Our room had a spectacular view of the gulf and the next morning we spent on the beach just steps from the hotel. All on all a great hidden value on st.george island!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mrshare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. George Island
0.4 km away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#2 of 2 in St. George Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
14.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Apalach Inn
BEST WESTERN Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
13.5 km away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 km away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
14.1 km away
Rancho Inn
Rancho Inn
#4 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
13.8 km away
Coombs House Inn
Coombs House Inn
#1 of 3 in Apalachicola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buccaneer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buccaneer Inn

Property: Buccaneer Inn
Address: 160 W Gorrie Dr, St. George Island, FL 32328-2728
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > St. George Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in St. George Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently updated, queen and king beds, non-smoking, outdoor swimming pool, grills, conference room, kitchenettes and regular rooms. Family environment. No pets please. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buccaneer Hotel St. George Island
Buccaneer Hotel Saint George Island
Buccaneer Motel Saint George Island
Buccaneer St George Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing