We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, old, but clean and comfortable”
Review of Buccaneer Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. George Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Buccaneer Inn
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Convenient location, old, but clean and comfortable”
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We like to stay at the Buccaneer when on St. George Island, not so much because it's a great place but really because it's the only place. The staff are somewhat no-nonsense and in our several stays there, we've only encountered one really friendly staff member (the cleaning staff are great and very friendly). You are given a price list and that's what you pay, there are no discounts, period. That's OK, the prices are fairly reasonable in the off season. Although the motel is old, the rooms are always clean, the beds are comfortable, and the AC works well. It's just fine for what you need when you go to the beach, a place to sleep. We've never heard any noise and always sleep well. The location is great, right on the beach, and there is a pool and a small deck area overlooking the beach. You're in walking distance to a good raw bar (Eddy Teach's), but we didn't find any good coffee on the island yet. We'll go back, and we know what to expect, nothing fancy but a beautiful beach.

Room Tip: I see no reason to choose anything other than a "park" view room, which means a view of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank nmhoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    66
    48
    29
    43
See reviews for
76
83
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Griffin, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Stayed here for one night while doing some work in the area. Didn't care for it. It was clean but it has been a long time since I stayed in a hotel with cinder block walls and real keys to the room. The couple next door to fought all night and the bed was not comfortable. The staff was friendly but I just expect more when you crack the $90 per night barrier.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jojo2182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South GA
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We always stay at the Buccaneer Inn when we visit St. George Island and have never had a problem. The room was cleaned and fresh towels were supplied like clockwork every day. It's an older "Florida-style" motel in an absolute perfect location on the beach. We usually get a parking lot room, which is convenient for coming and going and have never had a problem with noise or anything else. We love the deck on the back for relaxing, reading, or just enjoying the view of one of the most beautiful beaches ever! Not being "pool people", we've never tried out the pool, but it's always full of kids and others that seem to be enjoying it. The folks at the desk are always great....and we have no complaints at all! We'll be back the next time we have a few days off and suggest that you give it a chance....it's a great getaway without paying a small fortune!

Room Tip: We always get a parking lot side room for convenience and have never had any problems with noise, et...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank debmul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

My wife and I spent a relaxing Friday and Saturday night. The room looked and smelled clean. Everything looked nice except a large worn spot on the carpet. The mini-fridge was nice. The bed was comfortable. The only thing I would change is the guests that hung outside their room smoking.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jose R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort White, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The bed is very hard. It is an old beach motel and smells like it. Buy your ice before you cross the bridge as the motel does not give ice. The pool courtyard is in need of crub appeal. I can say the location is good and that is the best thing going for this motel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dorothy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. George Island hotels

Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We had a very nice stay at The Buccaneer Inn! Our room was facing the ocean with a large balcony. Our room was spacious and updated. The bathroom was very nice with its own heater and a wonderful jacuzzi tub. We will be coming back.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank farleym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moultrie
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

There are alot of better places to stay on the island. I have been coming to the island for 20 plus years. The Buccaner is not that bad. See St. George Island started out as a nothing island with a few old block houses that people stayed in for hog hunting. Then the park came so the Motel was built. Really it was just built for a one stay for people just coming to stay on the island. St. George Island is beautiful and I have watched it become trashed and commericialized from other people. Quit complaining and enjoy it.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. George Island
0.4 km away
St George Inn
St George Inn
#1 of 2 in St. George Island
189 reviews
13.6 km away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
378 reviews
14.3 km away
Best Western Apalach Inn
Best Western Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 km away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
389 reviews
14.1 km away
Rancho Inn
Rancho Inn
#4 of 5 in Apalachicola
141 reviews
13.8 km away
Coombs House Inn
Coombs House Inn
#1 of 3 in Apalachicola
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buccaneer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buccaneer Inn

Property: Buccaneer Inn
Address: 160 W Gorrie Dr, St. George Island, FL 32328-2728
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > St. George Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in St. George Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently updated, queen and king beds, non-smoking, outdoor swimming pool, grills, conference room, kitchenettes and regular rooms. Family environment. No pets please. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buccaneer Hotel St. George Island
Buccaneer Hotel Saint George Island
Buccaneer Motel Saint George Island
Buccaneer St George Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing