We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,959)
Filter reviews
2,959 results
Traveller rating
1,413
888
344
180
134
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,413
888
344
180
134
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spinners restaurant revolving restaurant bongos beach bar palm room breakfast buffet penthouse suite pete beach partial beach view tile floors live music wedding coordinator beach wedding private balcony king bed ocean front watch the sunset crabby bills
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 2,959 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2018

We travel to St. Pete Beach a few times a year and enjoy staying at new places to see what the area has to offer. This was our first visit to the Grand Plaza. We arrived at the hotel with the understanding we would have a beach view. The first room we checked in had a partial view, however, it really wasn't much better than if you had been looking from the souvenir shop across the street. Upon the request for a better room, we were informed it would be an additional $50 per night. That was a bit of a surprise given the lack of tourists in the area due to the off season beginning, and the impact of the red tide. We were celebrating my son's birthday so we went ahead and upgraded in order to fully enjoy the surroundings during our stay. The room did have a full beach view, but was on a lower floor, and exactly the same in size, set-up and poor quality as that of the first room (beaten up furniture, etc.). Quite disappointed the hotel wasn't more accommodating, especially given there are other hotels in the area we've stayed that are glad to upgrade you for free if available. Little considerations go a long way, and had we received any during our stay, Grand Plaza would have a return customer.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LisaMK74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2018

The Grand Plaza is in a great location right on the beach. This is an older property that can definitely benefit from a bit of updating. The rooms are pretty small, and the bathroom is tiny. We had an issue with flooding from the air conditioner while we were there. They came up to clean the flooding, but it was still an inconvenience since some of our belongings got wet. Rooms didn't give you the option of getting one king bed.
Bongos restaurant that is on the property is a great place to go for a casual on the beach lunch or dinner.
The rooftop bar was very nice, just a bit expensive.

Date of stay: October 2017
1  Thank nycsunnyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 22, 2018 via mobile

We booked a long weekend in September for my wife’s birthday - daughter and s-i-l are nearby in Brandon. Hotel reception was pleasant and since our room wasn’t ready at noon, they held our bags while we went for lunch on the beach at Bongos. Service was slow, but food was excellent and they had live music.

When we checked in, it was clear the hotel was older and fading. The door to our room was sticky and hard to open, the bathroom had rusty hinges and bathrobe hook was falling off. The sink couldn’t produce hot water even though the shower had ample hot water.

The beach is suffering from the red tide - you can’t swim and the smell of dead fish is overpowering. We cut our stay short - they wouldn’t refund the first night so we stayed there and moved second day. I also felt they should have done something about the resort fee. We were charged $32/day for beach amenities that were no use to us.

We had the $16 buffet breakfast - it was good but you couldn’t get any made to order food. We moved to Embassy Suites and it was much better for $100 less. Their free breakfast was better than the $16 one.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 22, 2018

1000's x 1000's of dead fish on the West Coast of Florida on the Gulf Coast. This includes all inlets. You cannot even tip-toe around them on the beach. You cannot get in the water.

The hotel is pleasant itself but dated. Beds are comfortable. Hall carpet need to be tile not carpet due to wet and sandy beach people.

Condo's and hotels are both completely over priced for rentals and buying. The beach is unusable all the way up the peninsula.

It's a naturally occurring algae bloom which is also called "Red Tide". The water is toxic. The fisherman can't do their jobs now. Fish cannot be eaten. They are now using their nets to catch dead fish. They have removed 390 Tons of dead fish so far in 2018. You cannot walk in the water due to the dead fish bones can be stepped on.

You can take a 30 min. ride to downtown. Nice restaurants, museums, Yacht marina's.

Room tip: Beach View with balcony
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SL L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 18, 2018 via mobile

We had a great time at this resort even though the area experienced red tide. I found the resort very clean, great location and the staff very friendly I would definitely recommend this hotel. The hotel and three restaurants which were very good and reasonably priced I would definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank vacationer91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews