We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (682)
Filter reviews
682 results
Traveller rating
496
134
31
13
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
496
134
31
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pass a grille beach chairs spa pool free bikes small pool laid back paradise grill within walking distance picnic tables wonderful week hot tub our home away from home pete beach full kitchen perfect beach relaxing vacation watch the sunset
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 682 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2018

Well, unlike the traveler who stayed in room 6, we stayed in a similar room (room 9A) and found it perfect for our needs. Yes, much of what he said was true, we also had a basement-feeling room (in fact it had windows and was on the first floor), the ceilings were low, so a tall man (or woman) would not have been comfortable...since we are neither, it was fine for us. Everything was new...linens and kitchen stuff..and the staff was exceptional, friendly and helpful...and our room was pristine. All in all, we will be back.
Oh, and they provide almost everything you need to enjoy one of the world's most amazing beaches. Yikes, what am I saying....no, no, don't go, it's not for you

Room Tip: If you are tall, don't pick rooms on the first floor.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Prismdsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie_Management, Owner at Sabal Palms Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Prismdsf - thank you so much for your sharing your review and for your positive attitude! The downstairs units are a great opportunity for our guests to stay in the same amazing location in a super clean room with the same great amenities and wonderful staff at a lower rate. We outline the details of the downstairs very clearly on our website and most people love the rooms in spite of the imperfections. Luckily we have three properties with lots of other options. We look forward to the opportunity to host you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2018

We just spent a week at the Sabal Palms, and it was the best vacation ever. We come to St. Pete every year. We usually stay at one of the larger hotels a little north, but we know the beach down south is less crowded, so we decided to just stay there. First, the staff. They're awesome! Judy the housekeeper is great. Super friendly and always there to help. Second: LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION!! Can you find cheaper hotels with more amenities? Of course. However, this place is right across from the beach with access right there. Short walk. Little traffic. Beach not crowded at all. The inn itself isn't like a normal hotel room. Like a mini apartment. We had an ocean front room...room 1, and part of the week we were the only ones there. As far as negative reviews: Each room is described accurately. If you book a basement room, it's clear what you are getting. The pool is more like a giant hot tub, but it was great to have. The beds are very comfortable. Full size fridge, stove. Just great. I really can't say enough good things about this place. Definitely worth the price! Just wish I would have started staying here earlier. We'll be back every year!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The-Dude-Abidez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie_Management, Owner at Sabal Palms Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

thank you so much for your review! We think Judy and the rest of the staff are awesome too and we are so happy that you finally experienced a stay with us. We definitely look forward to hosting you again next year. M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Sabal Palms Inn with our two children in August. First the positives, the owners/managers are friendly and accommodating. The bed was very comfortable with new linens. The location is steps away from the most gorgeous beach.
However, we stayed in room 6 which had very short ceilings (close to six foot ceilings) in a dark basement room. Because the ceilings were so low, we heard creaking of the floorboards above us all night long. We had a loud sound machine with us and it still did not drown out the noise. Only the bedroom not the bathroom or kitchen was air conditioned with a small wall unit. The miniature shower was absolutely filthy and the miniature toilet ran all constantly. Don’t even consider staying here if you are six foot tall or over 150 lbs. The bathroom is just too small and ceiling is too low. These accommodations were simply not in line with the price we paid to stay. We ended up leaving early and booking a place at a much nicer resort down the street for close to the same amount per night. Not a good value!!! Definitely avoid this place!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank vinsons78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie_Management, Owner at Sabal Palms Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2018

Stefan - thank you for your review and feedback regarding our excellent location just across from the beautiful Gulf of Mexico, the brand new upgraded mattress and high quality linens. We make it very clear on our website and on AirBnB (which is how you booked the unit at a deeply discounted rate) that the ground level "budget" units have lower ceilings and no view. The unit you were in has a ceiling height of 6'6. We were just awarded the Superior Small Lodging's White Glove Award for cleanliness after an extensive on site inspection by the organization. The rooms at our property are spotless and our staff work very hard to maintain that level of cleanliness every single day. The room happens to be vacant at the moment and so I did my own personal inspection. It is extremely clean and the air conditioner that is in the bedroom more than sufficiently cools the entire apartment including the bathroom. The toilet was not running at all and the shower was spotless. We realize you were a bit overwhelmed with your little ones during your visit. When you called me to say you were checking out early due to the fact that they weren't sleeping well I offered to move you to another unit at either of our properties (I offered you an upgraded upstairs unit at Coconut Inn just a block away at no additional charge) but you insisted you had to go home due to your daughter not feeling well so your last two nights were not refunded to you. We have many other units in our property that are all different shapes and sizes and were happy to accommodate you in a unit that would meet your expectations. I'm glad you were able to find that elsewhere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2018 via mobile

We chose to stay at the Sabal Palms Inn due to the great location, it was directly across the street from the beach, which was amazing. The room itself was small, and a little clustered, but it was big enough for our short stay. The apartment had nearly everything we needed, except a baking sheet, but that was no biggie at all. All of the staff was friendly and polite. Overall, we enjoyed our stay, but felt it was a bit overpriced for what it was.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Adrienne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2018

This is my 3rd year staying at the Sabal Palms. This time I stayed for 10 days and hated to leave. The Sabal Palms is friendly, clean, and so close to the beach you can almost jump there! Updates this year include new bicycles, new beach chairs, pool umbrellas, decking. The list goes on and on. Office staff is excellent as is housekeeping. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Auntfannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews