We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$367
US$154
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 22/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$159
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$132/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sirata Beach Resort(St. Pete Beach)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$342
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel(St. Pete Beach)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort(St. Pete Beach)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$239
US$234
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Don CeSar(St. Pete Beach)
US$289
US$246
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$429
US$319
Beach House Suites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,033)
Filter reviews
2,033 results
Traveller rating
899
726
231
92
85
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
899
726
231
92
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscabana barfood truckhot tubtennis courtspete beachbeach frontcovered parkingshuffle boardpool viewfirst floorcorn holefull kitchenliving areapull out sofasmall kitchenetterooms were very cleanspring break
Filter
Updating list...
1,625 - 1,630 of 2,033 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We stayed for 7 days starting on March 17th. We have stayed in different places each year and I have never written a review. The resort was great from the moment we checked in until the moment we left. The room was very clean and ready as soon as we arrived from the airport. The front desk was helpful with different things to do and places to eat. Even more so was the nice lady and guy that worked in the grab and go. He was VERY helpful providing different places to eat and menus of great local places. The hotel location is about 40 steps from the beach. The photos do not do justice to how uncrowded and clean this beach is! Amazing sunsets and great atmosphere at night. The pools are both open until 11pm which I found a great plus. We came for spring training baseball but enjoyed catching the sunset, walking to dinner, and swimming at the hotel just as much. Be sure to check out Agave if you like Mexican it is amazing and nothing like the chain version. A couple nights we did arrive back late and most cases we wouldn't have a parking spot. Not the case the Alden parking lot always had a couple spots close each night. I would suggest this resort for anyone looking for a beach front hotel with access to all the attractions. The BEST we have stayed at and we hope to be back soon! THANK YOU!

Room Tip: The upper rooms are a great view but for the price the Junior Suite is more than enough for 2 people. Save alittle and walk to the beach. Check out the Grab and Go for discounts and menus.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 24, 2012

This is your classic Florida beach hotel. Its not sexy/new, but for a family of 4, we really enjoyed it. Actually stayed at a higher rated one down the street for 2 more nights and like the Alden better for our family. Two teen boys, the beach is wide white sand, really nice, hotel has a basketball court, tennis courts, shuffle board, corn hole pit, and our kids kit them all. Room was older, not fancy, but clean, front room and waterfront room with terrace, decent size bathroom in middle with efficiency kitchen. Can walk to restaurants (Skidders had a great breakfast).
St. Pete beach is one of the widest and best in Florida, really liked it. We upgraded for waterfront 4th floor and it was worth it if you like to read the paper on terrace, etc. Just depends on your taste, we sometimes stay 5 star, sometimes just want a casual spot in a good location and don't mind an older hotel in that mode.

Room Tip: Go for the waterfront and upper floors
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chewync
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We stayed here 3/20 and had a beach front suite. It was large and as advertised, but years of people coming and going have left it run down. The property outside was great, plenty of chairs and areas to sit. Beach was only steps away and enjoyed our stay. On site store was fair priced for needed items.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NHbeachgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 19, 2012

From Feb 6 to Feb 10, 2012, we stayed in a Cayman Suite in Building 1 on Floor 5 and it was wonderful - spacious and clean. We loved it. Our maid cleaned our room each day round 11 or noon and we had no complaints. We liked having the kitchen/living room/dining room and balcony separate from the sleeping room. The views from this suite were gorgeous - perfect sunsets. We enjoyed walking the beach. There are many restaurants to choose from in this area. Walgreen's is close by - we went there 3 times for various items. McDonald's is also not too far away and they have free wifi there. We enjoyed having flat screen TVs in both the bedroom and living room. The refrigerator, stove, sink, microwave were all up-to-date as were all of the furnishings.

We also had a great time at Fort DeSoto State park and beach. We called ahead to a Segway guy (advertises in the local coupon booklet available at the hotel) and he met us out at the park and taught us to use the Segway then took us on trip around the park for an hour. It was fantastic. Best $45 (per person) we ever spent. Anyone can operate the Segway -- please try this at Fort DeSoto. There is a terrific beach and fishing pier at the Fort, also.

The best place to view manatees from Dec to March is the TECO electric plant south of Tampa at Apollo Beach. We were stunned at how close we were to the wild manatees (and snook and tarpon).

The Dali Museum in downtown St. Petersburg (on the water) is a gorgeous art museum with lots of Dali works. You will be stunned by its architectural design and bowled over by all of the Dali works of art from periods throughout his life.

We really enjoyed our first trip to St. Pete Beach and hope to return there next year and stay at Alden Beach Resort. It is worth the extra money per day to get the Gulf Front Suite in Building 1. You will not be wasting your money - it was well worth it. We ended paying $50 extra per day. We are not rich people either - just average midwesterners who want to enjoy a nice vacation.

Room Tip: If you get a gulf front suite, check right away to see if it is on the north corner of Building 1. Make sure you are in the middle of the floor or the south end.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WisconsinHazelnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

This reviewer could work for the Tampa Bay Beaches Chamber of Commerce! You really got around to some of our best local attractions, like Ft. DeSoto, the Dali Museum, Manatee Heaven, to name a few. However, the pristine, white powder sand directly behind the Alden, coupled with the blue-green waters of the Gulf of Mexico is by far our number one attraction (voted # 1 beach in the USA, by Trip Advisor).

The comments about our hotel are flattering, to say the least...we try hard to make sure all guests have a burning desire to visit us again and again. We LOVE Mid Westerners!

Sincerely

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Stayed in the lower beachfront building for five nights in Feb 2012 - top floor, with a wonderful view over the Gulf. Front desk staff was very accommodating in arranging for our friends to have the suite next door.

The whole property is kept very clean and any staff we encountered were friendly and efficient. Our housekeeper did a great job and there were always plenty of clean bath and pool towels available.

Bedroom area is entered through the exterior hallway door and as you walk in, approaching the living area, you're greeted by the sight of the blue waters and white sands of the Gulf...aaaah! Plus, a balcony with table and chairs to take advantage of it.......

In the passageway between the bedroom and the living room, there's an adequately kitted-out galley style kitchen (full stove with oven) and bathroom with plenty of under-the-counter storage space for toiletries etc. There's also a large closet with a safe. For more storage, there's also a large dresser in the bedroom.

Our living area had a sofa and table and chairs (with the requisite tv, of course!, as did the bedroom).

As mentioned in other reports, there's plenty of communal areas for recreation, the beach Tiki bar being our particular favourite:):)

It's not the Ritz-Carlton, but a friendly, comfortable, clean and pleasant place for a beach holiday.

Happy travels!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bridgenut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

Wow! I couldn't have said it any better...Thanks VERY much for the kind comments...hope to see you again soon!

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews