We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing spring break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Only initial glitch: When we checked in, we were assigned a room that was already occupied! Front desk quickly remedied situation. We had the "basic" parlor room for our family of 3, including 17yr old son, who was rarely in the room. It was roomy, very clean and comfortable and quiet. It served us well, as we were rarely in the room. Service is friendly, efficient. Beaches, cabana & towel services were great. Overall variety of activities was very good. We did not eat at the resort restaurants--bit pricey. But found many good local restaurants via internet, referral and concierge. Had a wonderful, first time stay, plan to return!

Room Tip: Breckinridge bldg--Inside parlor rooms not facing beach are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FentonTigress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,480)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,753 - 3,759 of 5,480 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2012

Wonderful time. Pleasant staff and very clean. Need more open places for pop and things open on Sunday nights.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

This was our 4th time back (in 20 years). We came first to a conference as a couple. We've been returning to that conference every few years as our kids grew. The Tradewinds has always been a great escape. The first pull is the fairly warm winter weather (it's never quite as warm as Hawaii or Mexico, though). The resort is a great spot with 4 pools, the beach and the gulf. We've graduated from the paddleboats to swimming pools to jetskis and parasailing. So there was always plenty for kids from 2 to 12, and perhaps a bit older.

The resort is large, generally well-maintained (a nice recent makeover). It is a guaranteed fun time for anyone with kids. They are bound to meet other kids to hang with. And the Tradewinds has always been a reasonable value. So I would definitely recommend the place.

We have been opting for the larger suites which give us a little kitchen for breakfast and we have a living room to spread out in. It is in a decent enough location (30 minutes from Tampa Airport). This last trip we did some off-site activities (several off-site restaurants, saw Winter at Clearwater Aquarium, and saw the Dali Museum). But we we always happy to return to the Tradewinds for their pools and beach.

Perhaps the only limitation is that dining here isn't high end, but it is reliably good. The Italian place on site is good. But there are a couple nicer places to eat within walking distance (Don Gaspar and Cafe Luna), as well as some great places in St. Pete.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leroi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Really impressed with this property! For the price, location and amenities...just right. Went for a girl's long weekend and we were pleased with the level of service, quality of resort and friendliness of staff. We constantly saw staff cleaning up and everyone greeted us as we went around resort - amazing what offering a smile does when greeting people too! Enjoyed the cabana chairs and the water was blue, clear and amazing...did not know it was basically to your waist for quite a distance out...so nice. If you cannot make it to the Caribbean - this resort and location will make you feel like you are...gorgeous sand, sun and sea! We ate at the resort and off the resort - all restaurants walking distance..enjoyed Salty's Beach Bar at the resort too - great bar staff! Favorites on resort would be the Awakenings Coffee for our morning Starbucks fix, Flying Bridge for lunch al fresco next to paddle boat lagoon, and Bermudas..off resort we especially enjoyed Agave's, Skidder's and Sea Critters (not walking but short drive from resort).

Already talking about getting another group together to come back - just a great escape!

Taxi driver taking me back to airport shared that the resort is very pro-active on managing insects - I told him we were never bitten by a mosquito, gnat, etc. while there...he said the noseeums were really bad that time of year, he lives right down the road from resort and could not sit outside...yet, we sat out in the early morning until after sunset without one bite...and that was a treat!

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room with doors out to the patio 'Breckenridge' by the adult pool...wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMC-NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Overall the property was great! We had plenty to do without leaving the property. The staff was great and always happy to help - even the maintenance folks! We felt at home and we did not want to leave. My son loved being able to roam around on the property without having mom always tagging along. You don't always get that feeling - when you stay at places.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We are back again this year and it seems to just get better and better. Everyone with the exception of one woman seemed genuinely eager to help make our stay a great one. Friendly, real smiles and greetings by all staff (except for one). We had a 10pm check in and the woman at the front desk was just plain mean and ornery. Fortunately we KNEW this was not the norm for Tradewinds and were able to overlook her attitude. However, if she was one of my employees I would NEVER have her at the front desk, especially where first impressions are made. There are no do overs for first impressions.
As I said before though, we KNEW this was not normal for TW.

We had a 2 bedroom so were able to get 2 cabanas every day. It is very relaxing to simply enjoy the beach. There is a cart that drives up and down the rows of cabanas selling drinks and snacks. This is a real nice addition to the property.

Our room was cleaned thoroughly every day.
We ate at mostly the touristy places since this is where my daughters wanted to go. There are many restaurants with in walking distance of the property.
This year we used the resorts transportation and this worked out wonderfully. No need to rent a car and worry about parking. The drivers were efficient and very friendly pointing out things to do in the area and hotel.

We did not use many of the amenities but the girls did para sail with the company right on the beach. They enjoyed the ride and I think it was $70 per person.

We ate lunch at the Flying Fish Cafe ( I think thats the name of it) most days. The salads and sandwiches were great if not a bit expensive. You pay a premium to enjoy lunch right on the beach. I guess we felt it was worth it since we did this almost every day.

We travel as a family to many places but this is our "Ahhhh"vacation where we just sit in our lounge on the beach and say; Ahhhh. We will be back next year for our bit of peace.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor in a Gulf Front room. Although it was low the view was still beautiful a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandm4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Don't forget a second mortgage when you visit the Tradewinds Resort. In addition to fees, taxes, and a hefty resort fee, all of the amenities are "Extra". The kids were enticed by the slides and water toys but none of that is included in the resort fee which basically only gets you two chairs to sit on the beach. Each time you go down the slide it costs 4.00 and to play on the water "blow up toys" you pay 16.00 per hour per child. Yikes!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
2.4 km away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,790 reviews
0.5 km away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#18 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
578 reviews
0.9 km away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,251 reviews
0.3 km away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
0.5 km away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TradeWinds Island Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TradeWinds Island Grand Resort

Address: 5500 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2323
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#13 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range: $344 - $574 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TradeWinds Island Grand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TradeWinds Island Grand spans 20 lush, tropical acres and boasts a heritage of award-winning service and certification as a Florida Green Lodge. Overlooking the tranquil waters of the Gulf of Mexico, Island Grand is located on the white sand beaches of St. Pete Beach, consistently ranked one of America's Top Beaches by TripAdvisor. Discover 201 things to do with a variety of recreation activities including JetLev flight center, The Floating Water Park, children's programs, paddleboats, tennis, stand-up paddleboards, a three story tall inflatable waterslide and more. Island Grand offers multiple dining and entertainment venues along with sand-in-your-toes beach bars. Pamper yourself with a beachfront massage at Body Works Salon & Spa. Relax on a beach cabana or lounge next to one of 5 heated pools and 2 whirlpools. Our on-site resort transportation and car rental agency makes getting to Island Grand easy and stress free. It's not just a vacation. At TradeWinds, it's a totally immersive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your TradeWinds Island Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Island Grand Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Island Saint Pete Beach
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing